Germany has a total of 97 holidays in 2024. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year's Day
Monday, January 1, 2024 New Year's Day, which is on January 1, or the first day of the year in the Gregorian Calendar, is a public holiday in Germany.
Epiphany
Saturday, January 6, 2024 Epiphany on January 6 is a public holiday in 3 German states and commemorates the Bible story of the Magi's visit to baby Jesus.
Franco-German Day
Monday, January 22, 2024 Franco-German Day is a observance in Germany
Remembrance Day for the Victims of National Socialism
Saturday, January 27, 2024 Remembrance Day for the Victims of National Socialism is a observance in Germany
Shrove Monday
Monday, February 12, 2024 Carnival Monday is two days before Ash Wednesday and parades are held in many Catholic areas of Germany.
Carnival Tuesday
Tuesday, February 13, 2024 Carnival has several long-standing traditions in Germany.
Carnival / Ash Wednesday
Wednesday, February 14, 2024 Ash Wednesday marks the first day of Lent in western Christian churches.
Valentine's Day
Wednesday, February 14, 2024 February 14 is Valentine's Day or Saint Valentine's Feast. The day of love owes its origins to ancient Roman and European Christian traditions.
Hizir Fast
Friday, February 16, 2024 Hizir Fast is a observance in Germany
International Women's Day
Friday, March 8, 2024 International Women's Day is a observance in Germany
St. Patrick's Day
Sunday, March 17, 2024 St Patrick’s Day celebrates Irish culture and commemorates one of Ireland’s patron saints, St Patrick, on or around March 17.
Anniversary of the March Revolution
Monday, March 18, 2024 Anniversary of the March Revolution is a observance in Germany
March Equinox
Wednesday, March 20, 2024 March Equinox in Germany (Berlin)
Alevitic New Year
Thursday, March 21, 2024 Alevitic New Year is a observance in Germany
Palm Sunday
Sunday, March 24, 2024 Palm Sunday is a Christian feast that commemorates Jesus Christ’s entry into Jerusalem. It is also the start of Holy Week.
Maundy Thursday
Thursday, March 28, 2024 Maundy Thursday is a Christian observance on the Thursday during Holy Week. It is the day before Good Friday.
Good Friday
Friday, March 29, 2024 Many Christians in Germany observe the Good Friday public holiday to mark the crucifixion of Jesus Christ.
Holy Saturday
Saturday, March 30, 2024 Holy Saturday is the day before Easter Sunday.
Easter Sunday
Sunday, March 31, 2024 Easter Sunday is a holiday in Germany to celebrate the Jesus Christ's resurrection, according to the Christian Bible.
Daylight Saving Time starts
Sunday, March 31, 2024 Daylight Saving Time starts in Germany
Easter Monday
Monday, April 1, 2024 Many people in Germany annually observe Easter Monday on the day after Easter Sunday. It is a public holiday in all states.
Eid ul Fitr
Wednesday, April 10, 2024 Eid al-Fitr is a holiday to mark the end of the Islamic month of Ramadan, during which Muslims fast during the hours of daylight.
German Beer Day
Tuesday, April 23, 2024 German Beer Day is a observance in Germany
First Day of Passover
Tuesday, April 23, 2024 During Passover, the Jewish people remember the liberation of the Israelites from slavery, their exodus from Egypt, and that their first-born children were spared during the 10th plague, as told in the Haggadah.
Second Day of Passover
Wednesday, April 24, 2024 Second Day of Passover is a observance, Jewish holiday, and Jewish holiday in Germany
Girls' Day / Boys' Day
Thursday, April 25, 2024 Girls' Day / Boys' Day is a observance in Germany
Sixth Day of Passover
Sunday, April 28, 2024 Sixth Day of Passover is a observance, Jewish holiday, and Jewish holiday in Germany
Seventh Day of Passover
Monday, April 29, 2024 Seventh Day of Passover is a observance, Jewish holiday, and Jewish holiday in Germany
Walpurgis Night
Tuesday, April 30, 2024 Walpurgis Night is a observance in Germany
May Day
Wednesday, May 1, 2024 May Day in Germany is a holiday to celebrate the start of spring and to campaign for workers' rights. It is always on May 1.
Europe Day (Council of Europe)
Sunday, May 5, 2024 Europe Day (Council of Europe) is a observance in Germany
Anniversary of the End of World War II
Wednesday, May 8, 2024
Fathers' Day
Thursday, May 9, 2024 Father’s Day celebrates fatherhood and male parenting on different dates worldwide.
Ascension Day
Thursday, May 9, 2024 Ascension Day in Germany is on a Thursday 39 days after Easter Sunday.
Europe Day (European Union)
Thursday, May 9, 2024 Europe Day (European Union) is a observance in Germany
Mothers' Day
Sunday, May 12, 2024 Mother’s Day celebrates the achievements and efforts of mothers and mother figures.
Whit Sunday
Sunday, May 19, 2024 Pentecost is a Christian holiday to remember the Holy Spirit's descent onto Jesus' followers.
Whit Monday
Monday, May 20, 2024 The Second Day of Pentecost is, which is on the Monday after Pentecost (or Whitsunday), is a public holiday in Germany.
Constitution Day
Thursday, May 23, 2024 Constitution Day is a observance in Germany
Corpus Christi
Thursday, May 30, 2024 Corpus Christi celebrates the Eucharist and is public holiday in some parts of Germany.
International Childrens' Day
Saturday, June 1, 2024 International Childrens' Day is a observance in Germany
European Bicycle Day
Monday, June 3, 2024 European Bicycle Day is a observance in Germany
First Day of Shavuot
Wednesday, June 12, 2024 Shavuot, sometimes known as the Festival of the Weeks, is a Jewish holiday to mark the end of the Counting of the Omer and the anniversary of the day when Jewish people received the Torah.
Second Day of Shavuot
Thursday, June 13, 2024 Second Day of Shavuot is a observance, Jewish holiday, and Jewish holiday in Germany
Car-free Sunday
Sunday, June 16, 2024 Car-free Sunday is a observance in Germany
Remembrance of the Victims of SED Injustice
Monday, June 17, 2024 Remembrance of the Victims of SED Injustice is a observance in Germany
Anniversary of the Popular Uprising in the GDR
Monday, June 17, 2024 Anniversary of the Popular Uprising in the GDR is a observance in Germany
Eid al-Adha
Monday, June 17, 2024 Eid al-Adha (Id ul-Adha) is an Islamic festival falling on the 10th day of the month of Dhul Hijja (Thou al-Hijja) to commemorate the willingness of Ibrahim (Abraham) to sacrifice his son.
June Solstice
Thursday, June 20, 2024 June Solstice in Germany (Berlin)
St. John
Monday, June 24, 2024 St. John is a observance and Christian holiday in Germany
Architecture Day
Saturday, June 29, 2024 Architecture Day is a observance in Germany
St Peter and Paul
Saturday, June 29, 2024 St Peter and Paul is a observance and Christian holiday in Germany
Ashura
Wednesday, July 17, 2024 Ashura is a observance and Muslim holiday in Germany
Peace Festival in Augsburg
Thursday, August 8, 2024 The Augsburg Peace Festival in Germany celebrates the implementation of the Peace of Westphalia in 1648 CE. It is on August 8 each year.
Assumption of Mary
Thursday, August 15, 2024 The Feast of the Assumption of Mary is an occasion for Catholics to honor the belief that God assumed the Virgin Mary to heaven. It is a public holiday in some parts of Germany on August 15 each year.
Anti War Day
Sunday, September 1, 2024 Anti War Day is a observance in Germany
European Heritage Days
Sunday, September 8, 2024 European Heritage Days is a observance in Germany
German Language Day
Saturday, September 14, 2024 German Language Day is a observance in Germany
German World Children's Day
Friday, September 20, 2024 German World Children's Day is a common local holiday in Germany
September Equinox
Sunday, September 22, 2024 September Equinox in Germany (Berlin)
Rosh Hashana
Thursday, October 3, 2024 Rosh Hashana, commonly known as the Jewish New Year, is the first day of Tishrei, the seventh month in the Hebrew calendar.
Day of German Unity
Thursday, October 3, 2024 German Unity Day celebrates Germany's unification in 1990. It is on October 3 each year.
Second Day of Rosh Hashana
Friday, October 4, 2024 Second Day of Rosh Hashana is a observance, Jewish holiday, and Jewish holiday in Germany
Harvest Festival
Sunday, October 6, 2024 Harvest Festival is a observance in Germany
Yom Kippur
Saturday, October 12, 2024 Yom Kippur (Day of Atonement) is an important Jewish holiday that centers on the themes of atonement and repentance.
Grandparents' Day
Sunday, October 13, 2024 Grandparents' Day is a observance in Germany
First day of Sukkot
Thursday, October 17, 2024 The first day of Sukkot marks the start of the Sukkot festival, celebrated among Jewish communities worldwide.
Second Day of Sukkot
Friday, October 18, 2024 Second Day of Sukkot is a observance, Jewish holiday, and Jewish holiday in Germany
Sixth Day of Sukkot
Tuesday, October 22, 2024 Sixth Day of Sukkot is a observance, Jewish holiday, and Jewish holiday in Germany
Seventh Day of Sukkot
Wednesday, October 23, 2024 Seventh Day of Sukkot is a observance, Jewish holiday, and Jewish holiday in Germany
Shemini Atzeret
Thursday, October 24, 2024 Shemini Atzeret (or Shmini Atzeret) is a Jewish holiday dedicated to the love of God, while Simchat Torah (Simchas Torah or Simhat Torah) and celebrates the completion of the annual reading of the Torah.
Simchat Torah
Friday, October 25, 2024 Simchat Torah is a Jewish holiday on which the yearly cycle of readings from the Torah ends and a new reading cycle begins.
Daylight Saving Time ends
Sunday, October 27, 2024 Daylight Saving Time ends in Germany
World Thrift Day
Wednesday, October 30, 2024 World Thrift Day is a observance in Germany
Reformation Day
Thursday, October 31, 2024 Reformation Day in Germany is annually observed on October 31 to remember the Reformation, a time of big religious change between 1517 CE and 1648 CE.
Halloween
Thursday, October 31, 2024 Halloween is a festive occasion that is celebrated in many countries on October 31 each year.
All Saints' Day
Friday, November 1, 2024 All Saints' Day is an annual public holiday in five German states to remember all Christian saints on November 1.
All Souls' Day
Saturday, November 2, 2024 All Souls’ Day falls on November 2 each year. It is a day of alms giving and prayers for the dead.
Night of Broken Glass Remembrance Day
Saturday, November 9, 2024 Night of Broken Glass Remembrance Day is a observance in Germany
9th of November
Saturday, November 9, 2024 9th of November is a observance in Germany
Fall of the Berlin Wall
Saturday, November 9, 2024 Fall of the Berlin Wall is a observance in Germany
St. Martin's Day
Monday, November 11, 2024 St. Martin's Day is celebrated in Germany every year on November 11.
National Day of Mourning
Sunday, November 17, 2024 On the National Day of Mourning (Volkstrauertag) many Germans commemorate all victims of war and tyranny.
Repentance Day
Wednesday, November 20, 2024 The Day of Prayer and Repentance is a Protestant holiday and a public holiday in the state of Saxony (Sachsen) on the last Wednesday before November 23.
Sunday of the Dead
Sunday, November 24, 2024 The Sunday of the Dead in Germany is an occasion to remember those who have passed away.
First Advent Sunday
Sunday, December 1, 2024 The first Sunday of Advent marks the beginning of the Christian year.
Saint Nicholas Day
Friday, December 6, 2024 St. Nicholas Day is celebrated on December 6 in many European countries, as well as areas across the world that boast a strong European influence.
Second Advent Sunday
Sunday, December 8, 2024 Second Advent Sunday is a observance and Christian holiday in Germany
Feast of the Immaculate Conception
Sunday, December 8, 2024 The Feast of the Immaculate Conception is a Christian observance on December 8 each year.
Third Advent Sunday
Sunday, December 15, 2024 Third Advent Sunday is a observance and Christian holiday in Germany
Remembrance Day for Roma and Sinti killed by Genocide
Thursday, December 19, 2024 Remembrance Day for Roma and Sinti killed by Genocide is a observance in Germany
December Solstice
Saturday, December 21, 2024 December Solstice in Germany (Berlin)
Fourth Advent Sunday
Sunday, December 22, 2024 Fourth Advent Sunday is a observance and Christian holiday in Germany
Christmas Eve
Tuesday, December 24, 2024 Christmas Eve is the day before Christmas Day and the start of the Christmas celebration. It always falls on December 24 in Germany.
Christmas Day
Wednesday, December 25, 2024 Christmas Day marks the birth of Jesus Christ and is a public holiday in Germany. It is on December 25 each year.
Boxing Day
Thursday, December 26, 2024 The Second Day of Christmas is a public holiday in Germany. It always falls on December 26.
New Year's Eve
Tuesday, December 31, 2024 New Year's Eve in Germany is annually celebrated on December 31. It is the last day of the year in the Gregorian calendar.
API icon

Start using our Holiday API

Use our Holiday data in your applications programmatically. No credit card is required to start.

Worldwide 2024 Holidays By Months
January 2024
February 2024
March 2024
April 2024
May 2024
June 2024
July 2024
August 2024
September 2024
October 2024
November 2024
December 2024