Germany has a total of 101 holidays in 2022. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year's Day
Saturday, January 1, 2022 New Year's Day, which is on January 1, or the first day of the year in the Gregorian Calendar, is a public holiday in Germany.
Epiphany
Thursday, January 6, 2022 Epiphany on January 6 is a public holiday in 3 German states and commemorates the Bible story of the Magi's visit to baby Jesus.
Franco-German Day
Saturday, January 22, 2022 Franco-German Day is a observance in Germany
Remembrance Day for the Victims of National Socialism
Thursday, January 27, 2022 Remembrance Day for the Victims of National Socialism is a observance in Germany
European Privacy Day
Friday, January 28, 2022 European Privacy Day is a observance in Germany
Children's Hospice Day
Thursday, February 10, 2022 Children's Hospice Day is a observance in Germany
Valentine's Day
Monday, February 14, 2022 Valentine’s Day is a special time to celebrate love, romance and friendship.
Hizir Fast
Wednesday, February 16, 2022 Hizir Fast is a observance in Germany
Shrove Monday
Monday, February 28, 2022 Carnival Monday is two days before Ash Wednesday and parades are held in many Catholic areas of Germany.
Carnival / Shrove Tuesday
Tuesday, March 1, 2022 Shrove Tuesday is a religious holiday that is on the day before Ash Wednesday. It is also known as the Tuesday of Carnival, which is a festive occasion among many cultures.
Carnival / Ash Wednesday
Wednesday, March 2, 2022 Ash Wednesday marks the first day of Lent in western Christian churches.
International Women's Day
Tuesday, March 8, 2022 International Women's Day is a observance in Germany
St. Patrick's Day
Thursday, March 17, 2022 St Patrick’s Day celebrates Irish culture and commemorates one of Ireland’s patron saints, St Patrick, on or around March 17.
Anniversary of the March Revolution
Friday, March 18, 2022 Anniversary of the March Revolution is a observance in Germany
March Equinox
Sunday, March 20, 2022 March Equinox in Germany (Berlin)
Alevitic New Year
Monday, March 21, 2022 Alevitic New Year is a observance in Germany
Daylight Saving Time starts
Sunday, March 27, 2022 Daylight Saving Time starts in Germany
Palm Sunday
Sunday, April 10, 2022 Palm Sunday is a Christian feast that commemorates Jesus Christ’s entry into Jerusalem. It is also the start of Holy Week.
Maundy Thursday
Thursday, April 14, 2022 Maundy Thursday is a Christian observance on the Thursday during Holy Week. It is the day before Good Friday.
Good Friday
Friday, April 15, 2022 Many Christians in Germany observe the Good Friday public holiday to mark the crucifixion of Jesus Christ.
Holy Saturday
Saturday, April 16, 2022 Holy Saturday is the day before Easter Sunday.
First Day of Passover
Saturday, April 16, 2022 During Passover, the Jewish people remember the liberation of the Israelites from slavery, their exodus from Egypt, and that their first-born children were spared during the 10th plague, as told in the Haggadah.
Easter Sunday
Sunday, April 17, 2022 Easter Sunday is a holiday in Germany to celebrate the Jesus Christ's resurrection, according to the Christian Bible.
Second Day of Passover
Sunday, April 17, 2022 Second Day of Passover is a observance, Jewish holiday, and Jewish holiday in Germany
Easter Monday
Monday, April 18, 2022 Many people in Germany annually observe Easter Monday on the day after Easter Sunday. It is a public holiday in all states.
Sixth Day of Passover
Thursday, April 21, 2022 Sixth Day of Passover is a observance, Jewish holiday, and Jewish holiday in Germany
Seventh Day of Passover
Friday, April 22, 2022 Seventh Day of Passover is a observance, Jewish holiday, and Jewish holiday in Germany
German Beer Day
Saturday, April 23, 2022 German Beer Day is a observance in Germany
Girls' Day / Boys' Day
Thursday, April 28, 2022 Girls' Day / Boys' Day is a observance in Germany
Walpurgis Night
Saturday, April 30, 2022 Walpurgis Night is a observance in Germany
May Day
Sunday, May 1, 2022 May Day in Germany is a holiday to celebrate the start of spring and to campaign for workers' rights. It is always on May 1.
Eid ul Fitr
Tuesday, May 3, 2022 Eid-al-Fitr is a holiday to mark the end of the Islamic month of Ramadan, during which Muslims fast during the hours of daylight.
Europe Day (Council of Europe)
Thursday, May 5, 2022 Europe Day (Council of Europe) is a observance in Germany
Mother's Day
Sunday, May 8, 2022 Mother’s Day celebrates the achievements and efforts of mothers and mother figures.
Anniversary of the End of World War II
Sunday, May 8, 2022
Europe Day (European Union)
Monday, May 9, 2022 Europe Day (European Union) is a observance in Germany
Constitution Day
Monday, May 23, 2022 Constitution Day is a observance in Germany
Father's Day
Thursday, May 26, 2022 Father’s Day celebrates fatherhood and male parenting on different dates worldwide.
Ascension Day
Thursday, May 26, 2022 Ascension Day in Germany is on a Thursday 39 days after Easter Sunday.
International Childrens' Day
Wednesday, June 1, 2022 International Childrens' Day is a observance in Germany
European Bicycle Day
Friday, June 3, 2022 European Bicycle Day is a observance in Germany
Whit Sunday
Sunday, June 5, 2022 Pentecost is a Christian holiday to remember the Holy Spirit's descent onto Jesus' followers.
First Day of Shavuot
Sunday, June 5, 2022 Shavuot, sometimes known as the Festival of the Weeks, is a Jewish holiday to mark the end of the Counting of the Omer and the anniversary of the day when Jewish people received the Torah.
Whit Monday
Monday, June 6, 2022 The Second Day of Pentecost is, which is on the Monday after Pentecost (or Whitsunday), is a public holiday in Germany.
Visually Impaired People Day
Monday, June 6, 2022 Visually Impaired People Day is a observance in Germany
Second Day of Shavuot
Monday, June 6, 2022 Second Day of Shavuot is a observance, Jewish holiday, and Jewish holiday in Germany
Corpus Christi
Thursday, June 16, 2022 Corpus Christi celebrates the Eucharist and is public holiday in some parts of Germany.
Remembrance of the Victims of SED Injustice
Friday, June 17, 2022 Remembrance of the Victims of SED Injustice is a observance in Germany
Anniversary of the Popular Uprising in the GDR
Friday, June 17, 2022 Anniversary of the Popular Uprising in the GDR is a observance in Germany
Car-free Sunday
Sunday, June 19, 2022 Car-free Sunday is a observance in Germany
June Solstice
Tuesday, June 21, 2022 June Solstice in Germany (Berlin)
St. John
Friday, June 24, 2022 St. John is a observance and Christian holiday in Germany
Architecture Day
Saturday, June 25, 2022 Architecture Day is a observance in Germany
St Peter and Paul
Wednesday, June 29, 2022 St Peter and Paul is a observance and Christian holiday in Germany
Eid ul Adha
Sunday, July 10, 2022 Eid al-Adha (Id ul-Adha) is an Islamic festival falling on the 10th day of the month of Dhul Hijja (Thou al-Hijja) to commemorate the willingness of Ibrahim (Abraham) to sacrifice his son.
Peace Festival in Augsburg
Monday, August 8, 2022 The Augsburg Peace Festival in Germany celebrates the implementation of the Peace of Westphalia in 1648 CE. It is on August 8 each year.
Ashura
Monday, August 8, 2022 Ashura is a observance and Muslim holiday in Germany
Assumption of Mary
Monday, August 15, 2022 The Feast of the Assumption of Mary is an occasion for Catholics to honor the belief that God assumed the Virgin Mary to heaven. It is a public holiday in some parts of Germany on August 15 each year.
Anti War Day
Thursday, September 1, 2022 Anti War Day is a observance in Germany
German Language Day
Saturday, September 10, 2022 German Language Day is a observance in Germany
European Heritage Days
Sunday, September 11, 2022 European Heritage Days is a observance in Germany
German World Children's Day
Tuesday, September 20, 2022 German World Children's Day is a observance in Germany
September Equinox
Friday, September 23, 2022 September Equinox in Germany (Berlin)
Rosh Hashana
Monday, September 26, 2022 Rosh Hashana, commonly known as the Jewish New Year, is the first day of Tishrei, the seventh month in the Hebrew calendar.
Second Day of Rosh Hashana
Tuesday, September 27, 2022 Second Day of Rosh Hashana is a observance, Jewish holiday, and Jewish holiday in Germany
Harvest Festival
Sunday, October 2, 2022 Harvest Festival is a observance in Germany
Day of German Unity
Monday, October 3, 2022 German Unity Day celebrates Germany's unification in 1990. It is on October 3 each year.
Yom Kippur
Wednesday, October 5, 2022 Yom Kippur (Day of Atonement) is an important Jewish holiday that centers on the themes of atonement and repentance.
Grandparents' Day
Sunday, October 9, 2022 Grandparents' Day is a observance in Germany
First day of Sukkot
Monday, October 10, 2022 The first day of Sukkot marks the start of the Sukkot festival, celebrated among Jewish communities worldwide.
Second Day of Sukkot
Tuesday, October 11, 2022 Second Day of Sukkot is a observance, Jewish holiday, and Jewish holiday in Germany
Sixth Day of Sukkot
Saturday, October 15, 2022 Sixth Day of Sukkot is a observance, Jewish holiday, and Jewish holiday in Germany
Seventh Day of Sukkot
Sunday, October 16, 2022 Seventh Day of Sukkot is a observance, Jewish holiday, and Jewish holiday in Germany
Shemini Atzeret
Monday, October 17, 2022 Shemini Atzeret (or Shmini Atzeret) is a Jewish holiday dedicated to the love of God, while Simchat Torah (Simchas Torah or Simhat Torah) and celebrates the completion of the annual reading of the Torah.
Simchat Torah
Tuesday, October 18, 2022 Simchat Torah is a Jewish holiday on which the yearly cycle of readings from the Torah ends and a new reading cycle begins.
Day of the Libraries
Monday, October 24, 2022 Day of the Libraries is a observance in Germany
World Thrift Day
Friday, October 28, 2022 World Thrift Day is a observance in Germany
Daylight Saving Time ends
Sunday, October 30, 2022 Daylight Saving Time ends in Germany
Reformation Day
Monday, October 31, 2022 Reformation Day in Germany is annually observed on October 31 to remember the Reformation, a time of big religious change between 1517 CE and 1648 CE.
Halloween
Monday, October 31, 2022 Halloween is a festive occasion that is celebrated in many countries on October 31 each year.
All Saints' Day
Tuesday, November 1, 2022 All Saints' Day is an annual public holiday in five German states to remember all Christian saints on November 1.
All Souls' Day
Wednesday, November 2, 2022 All Souls’ Day falls on November 2 each year. It is a day of alms giving and prayers for the dead.
Night of Broken Glass Remembrance Day
Wednesday, November 9, 2022 Night of Broken Glass Remembrance Day is a observance in Germany
9th of November
Wednesday, November 9, 2022 9th of November is a observance in Germany
Fall of the Berlin Wall
Wednesday, November 9, 2022 Fall of the Berlin Wall is a observance in Germany
St. Martin's Day
Friday, November 11, 2022 St. Martin's Day is celebrated in Germany every year on November 11.
National Day of Mourning
Sunday, November 13, 2022 On the National Day of Mourning (Volkstrauertag) many Germans commemorate all victims of war and tyranny.
Repentance Day
Wednesday, November 16, 2022 The Day of Prayer and Repentance is a Protestant holiday and a public holiday in the state of Saxony (Sachsen) on the last Wednesday before November 23.
Sunday of the Dead
Sunday, November 20, 2022 The Sunday of the Dead in Germany is an occasion to remember those who have passed away.
First Advent Sunday
Sunday, November 27, 2022 The first Sunday of Advent marks the beginning of the Christian year.
Second Advent Sunday
Sunday, December 4, 2022 Second Advent Sunday is a observance and Christian holiday in Germany
Saint Nicholas Day
Tuesday, December 6, 2022 St. Nicholas Day is celebrated on December 6 in many European countries, as well as areas across the world that boast a strong European influence.
Feast of the Immaculate Conception
Thursday, December 8, 2022 The Feast of the Immaculate Conception is a Christian observance on December 8 each year.
Third Advent Sunday
Sunday, December 11, 2022 Third Advent Sunday is a observance and Christian holiday in Germany
Fourth Advent Sunday
Sunday, December 18, 2022 Fourth Advent Sunday is a observance and Christian holiday in Germany
Remembrance Day for Roma and Sinti killed by Genocide
Monday, December 19, 2022 Remembrance Day for Roma and Sinti killed by Genocide is a observance in Germany
December Solstice
Wednesday, December 21, 2022 December Solstice in Germany (Berlin)
Christmas Eve
Saturday, December 24, 2022 Christmas Eve is the day before Christmas Day and the start of the Christmas celebration. It always falls on December 24 in Germany.
Christmas Day
Sunday, December 25, 2022 Christmas Day marks the birth of Jesus Christ and is a public holiday in Germany. It is on December 25 each year.
Boxing Day
Monday, December 26, 2022 The Second Day of Christmas is a public holiday in Germany. It always falls on December 26.
New Year's Eve
Saturday, December 31, 2022 New Year's Eve in Germany is annually celebrated on December 31. It is the last day of the year in the Gregorian calendar.