Germany has a total of 72 holidays in 2019. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downaloadble as a csv or json file. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date
New Year's Day
New Year's Day, which is on January 1, or the first day of the year in the Gregorian Calendar, is a public holiday in Germany.
Tuesday, January 1, 2019
Epiphany
Epiphany on January 6 is a public holiday in 3 German states and commemorates the Bible story of the Magi's visit to baby Jesus.
Sunday, January 6, 2019
Franco-German Day
Tuesday, January 22, 2019
Remembrance Day for the Victims of National Socialism
Sunday, January 27, 2019
European Privacy Day
Monday, January 28, 2019
Children's Hospice Day
Sunday, February 10, 2019
Valentine's Day
Valentine’s Day is a special time to celebrate love, romance and friendship.
Thursday, February 14, 2019
Shrove Monday
Carnival Monday is two days before Ash Wednesday and parades are held in many Catholic areas of Germany.
Monday, March 4, 2019
Carnival / Shrove Tuesday
Shrove Tuesday is a religious holiday that is on the day before Ash Wednesday. It is also known as the Tuesday of Carnival, which is a festive occasion among many cultures.
Tuesday, March 5, 2019
Carnival / Ash Wednesday
Ash Wednesday marks the first day of Lent in western Christian churches.
Wednesday, March 6, 2019
International Women's Day
Friday, March 8, 2019
St. Patrick's Day
St Patrick’s Day celebrates Irish culture and commemorates one of Ireland’s patron saints, St Patrick, on or around March 17.
Sunday, March 17, 2019
March Equinox
Wednesday, March 20, 2019
Girls' Day - Career Information Day
Thursday, March 28, 2019
Daylight Saving Time starts
Sunday, March 31, 2019
Palm Sunday
Palm Sunday is a Christian feast that commemorates Jesus Christ’s entry into Jerusalem. It is also the start of Holy Week.
Sunday, April 14, 2019
Maundy Thursday
Maundy Thursday is a Christian observance on the Thursday during Holy Week. It is the day before Good Friday.
Thursday, April 18, 2019
Good Friday
Many Christians in Germany observe the Good Friday public holiday to mark the crucifixion of Jesus Christ.
Friday, April 19, 2019
Easter Sunday
Easter Sunday is a holiday in Germany to celebrate the Jesus Christ's resurrection, according to the Christian Bible.
Sunday, April 21, 2019
Easter Monday
Many people in Germany annually observe Easter Monday on the day after Easter Sunday. It is a public holiday in all states.
Monday, April 22, 2019
German Beer Day
Tuesday, April 23, 2019
Walpurgis Night
Tuesday, April 30, 2019
May Day
May Day in Germany is a holiday to celebrate the start of spring and to campaign for workers' rights. It is always on May 1.
Wednesday, May 1, 2019
Europe Day
Sunday, May 5, 2019
Mother's Day
Mother’s Day celebrates the achievements and efforts of mothers and mother figures.
Sunday, May 12, 2019
Constitution Day
Thursday, May 23, 2019
Father's Day
Father’s Day celebrates fatherhood and male parenting on different dates worldwide.
Thursday, May 30, 2019
Ascension Day
Ascension Day in Germany is on a Thursday 39 days after Easter Sunday.
Thursday, May 30, 2019
International Childrens' Day
Saturday, June 1, 2019
European Bicycle Day
Monday, June 3, 2019
Visually Impaired People Day
Thursday, June 6, 2019
Whit Sunday
Pentecost is a Christian holiday to remember the Holy Spirit's descent onto Jesus' followers.
Sunday, June 9, 2019
Whit Monday
The Second Day of Pentecost is, which is on the Monday after Pentecost (or Whitsunday), is a public holiday in Germany.
Monday, June 10, 2019
Day of Music (first day)
Friday, June 14, 2019
Car-free Sunday
Sunday, June 16, 2019
Corpus Christi
Corpus Christi celebrates the Eucharist and is public holiday in some parts of Germany.
Thursday, June 20, 2019
June Solstice
Friday, June 21, 2019
Architecture Day
Saturday, June 29, 2019
Peace Festival in Augsburg
The Augsburg Peace Festival in Germany celebrates the implementation of the Peace of Westphalia in 1648 CE. It is on August 8 each year.
Thursday, August 8, 2019
Assumption of Mary
The Feast of the Assumption of Mary is an occasion for Catholics to honor the belief that God assumed the Virgin Mary to heaven. It is a public holiday in some parts of Germany on August 15 each year.
Thursday, August 15, 2019
World Peace Day
Sunday, September 1, 2019
European Heritage Days (Day of the Open Monument)
Sunday, September 8, 2019
Day of the Homeland
Sunday, September 8, 2019
German Language Day
Saturday, September 14, 2019
German World Childrens' Day
Friday, September 20, 2019
September Equinox
Monday, September 23, 2019
German Food Bank Day
Saturday, September 28, 2019
Day of German Unity
German Unity Day celebrates Germany's unification in 1990. It is on October 3 each year.
Thursday, October 3, 2019
Harvest Festival
Sunday, October 6, 2019
Day of the Libraries
Thursday, October 24, 2019
Daylight Saving Time ends
Sunday, October 27, 2019
World Thrift Day
Wednesday, October 30, 2019
Reformation Day
Reformation Day in Germany is annually observed on October 31 to remember the Reformation, a time of big religious change between 1517 CE and 1648 CE.
Thursday, October 31, 2019
Halloween
Halloween is a festive occasion that is celebrated in many countries on October 31 each year.
Thursday, October 31, 2019
All Saints' Day
All Saints' Day is an annual public holiday in five German states to remember all Christian saints on November 1.
Friday, November 1, 2019
Night of Broken Glass Remembrance Day
Saturday, November 9, 2019
Fall of the Berlin Wall
Saturday, November 9, 2019
St. Martin's Day
St. Martin's Day is celebrated in Germany every year on November 11.
Monday, November 11, 2019
National Day of Mourning
On the National Day of Mourning (Volkstrauertag) many Germans commemorate all victims of war and tyranny.
Sunday, November 17, 2019
Repentance Day
The Day of Prayer and Repentance is a Protestant holiday and a public holiday in the state of Saxony (Sachsen) on the last Wednesday before November 23.
Wednesday, November 20, 2019
Sunday of the Dead
The Sunday of the Dead in Germany is an occasion to remember those who have passed away.
Sunday, November 24, 2019
First Advent Sunday
The first Sunday of Advent marks the beginning of the Christian year.
Sunday, December 1, 2019
Saint Nicholas Day
St. Nicholas Day is celebrated on December 6 in many European countries, as well as areas across the world that boast a strong European influence.
Friday, December 6, 2019
Second Advent Sunday
Sunday, December 8, 2019
Third Advent Sunday
Sunday, December 15, 2019
Remembrance Day for Roma and Sinti killed by Genocide
Thursday, December 19, 2019
Fourth Advent Sunday
Sunday, December 22, 2019
December Solstice
Sunday, December 22, 2019
Christmas Eve
Christmas Eve is the day before Christmas Day and the start of the Christmas celebration. It always falls on December 24 in Germany.
Tuesday, December 24, 2019
Christmas Day
Christmas Day marks the birth of Jesus Christ and is a public holiday in Germany. It is on December 25 each year.
Wednesday, December 25, 2019
Boxing Day
The Second Day of Christmas is a public holiday in Germany. It always falls on December 26.
Thursday, December 26, 2019
New Year's Eve
New Year's Eve in Germany is annually celebrated on December 31. It is the last day of the year in the Gregorian calendar.
Tuesday, December 31, 2019