Germany has a total of 73 holidays in 2019. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year's Day
Tuesday, January 1, 2019 New Year's Day, which is on January 1, or the first day of the year in the Gregorian Calendar, is a public holiday in Germany.
Epiphany
Sunday, January 6, 2019 Epiphany on January 6 is a public holiday in 3 German states and commemorates the Bible story of the Magi's visit to baby Jesus.
Franco-German Day
Tuesday, January 22, 2019 Franco-German Day is a observance in Germany
Remembrance Day for the Victims of National Socialism
Sunday, January 27, 2019 Remembrance Day for the Victims of National Socialism is a observance in Germany
European Privacy Day
Monday, January 28, 2019 European Privacy Day is a observance in Germany
Children's Hospice Day
Sunday, February 10, 2019 Children's Hospice Day is a observance in Germany
Valentine's Day
Thursday, February 14, 2019 Valentine’s Day is a special time to celebrate love, romance and friendship.
Shrove Monday
Monday, March 4, 2019 Carnival Monday is two days before Ash Wednesday and parades are held in many Catholic areas of Germany.
Carnival / Shrove Tuesday
Tuesday, March 5, 2019 Shrove Tuesday is a religious holiday that is on the day before Ash Wednesday. It is also known as the Tuesday of Carnival, which is a festive occasion among many cultures.
Carnival / Ash Wednesday
Wednesday, March 6, 2019 Ash Wednesday marks the first day of Lent in western Christian churches.
International Women's Day
Friday, March 8, 2019 International Women's Day is a observance in Germany
St. Patrick's Day
Sunday, March 17, 2019 St Patrick’s Day celebrates Irish culture and commemorates one of Ireland’s patron saints, St Patrick, on or around March 17.
March Equinox
Wednesday, March 20, 2019 March Equinox in Germany (Berlin)
Girls' Day - Career Information Day
Thursday, March 28, 2019 Girls' Day - Career Information Day is a observance in Germany
Daylight Saving Time starts
Sunday, March 31, 2019 Daylight Saving Time starts in Germany
Palm Sunday
Sunday, April 14, 2019 Palm Sunday is a Christian feast that commemorates Jesus Christ’s entry into Jerusalem. It is also the start of Holy Week.
Maundy Thursday
Thursday, April 18, 2019 Maundy Thursday is a Christian observance on the Thursday during Holy Week. It is the day before Good Friday.
Good Friday
Friday, April 19, 2019 Many Christians in Germany observe the Good Friday public holiday to mark the crucifixion of Jesus Christ.
Easter Sunday
Sunday, April 21, 2019 Easter Sunday is a holiday in Germany to celebrate the Jesus Christ's resurrection, according to the Christian Bible.
Easter Monday
Monday, April 22, 2019 Many people in Germany annually observe Easter Monday on the day after Easter Sunday. It is a public holiday in all states.
German Beer Day
Tuesday, April 23, 2019 German Beer Day is a observance in Germany
Walpurgis Night
Tuesday, April 30, 2019 Walpurgis Night is a observance in Germany
May Day
Wednesday, May 1, 2019 May Day in Germany is a holiday to celebrate the start of spring and to campaign for workers' rights. It is always on May 1.
Europe Day (Council of Europe)
Sunday, May 5, 2019 Europe Day (Council of Europe) is a observance in Germany
Anniversary of the End of World War II
Wednesday, May 8, 2019 Anniversary of the End of World War II is a observance in Germany
Europe Day (European Union)
Thursday, May 9, 2019 Europe Day (European Union) is a observance in Germany
Mother's Day
Sunday, May 12, 2019 Mother’s Day celebrates the achievements and efforts of mothers and mother figures.
Constitution Day
Thursday, May 23, 2019 Constitution Day is a observance in Germany
Father's Day
Thursday, May 30, 2019 Father’s Day celebrates fatherhood and male parenting on different dates worldwide.
Ascension Day
Thursday, May 30, 2019 Ascension Day in Germany is on a Thursday 39 days after Easter Sunday.
International Childrens' Day
Saturday, June 1, 2019 International Childrens' Day is a observance in Germany
European Bicycle Day
Monday, June 3, 2019 European Bicycle Day is a observance in Germany
Visually Impaired People Day
Thursday, June 6, 2019 Visually Impaired People Day is a observance in Germany
Whit Sunday
Sunday, June 9, 2019 Pentecost is a Christian holiday to remember the Holy Spirit's descent onto Jesus' followers.
Whit Monday
Monday, June 10, 2019 The Second Day of Pentecost is, which is on the Monday after Pentecost (or Whitsunday), is a public holiday in Germany.
Car-free Sunday
Sunday, June 16, 2019 Car-free Sunday is a observance in Germany
Corpus Christi
Thursday, June 20, 2019 Corpus Christi celebrates the Eucharist and is public holiday in some parts of Germany.
June Solstice
Friday, June 21, 2019 June Solstice in Germany (Berlin)
Architecture Day
Saturday, June 29, 2019 Architecture Day is a observance in Germany
Peace Festival in Augsburg
Thursday, August 8, 2019 The Augsburg Peace Festival in Germany celebrates the implementation of the Peace of Westphalia in 1648 CE. It is on August 8 each year.
Assumption of Mary
Thursday, August 15, 2019 The Feast of the Assumption of Mary is an occasion for Catholics to honor the belief that God assumed the Virgin Mary to heaven. It is a public holiday in some parts of Germany on August 15 each year.
World Peace Day
Sunday, September 1, 2019 World Peace Day is a observance in Germany
European Heritage Days
Sunday, September 8, 2019 European Heritage Days is a observance in Germany
German Language Day
Saturday, September 14, 2019 German Language Day is a observance in Germany
German World Children's Day
Friday, September 20, 2019 German World Children's Day is a common local holiday in Germany
September Equinox
Monday, September 23, 2019 September Equinox in Germany (Berlin)
German Food Bank Day
Saturday, September 28, 2019 German Food Bank Day is a observance in Germany
Day of German Unity
Thursday, October 3, 2019 German Unity Day celebrates Germany's unification in 1990. It is on October 3 each year.
Harvest Festival
Sunday, October 6, 2019 Harvest Festival is a observance in Germany
Grandparents' Day
Sunday, October 13, 2019 Grandparents' Day is a observance in Germany
Day of the Libraries
Thursday, October 24, 2019 Day of the Libraries is a observance in Germany
Daylight Saving Time ends
Sunday, October 27, 2019 Daylight Saving Time ends in Germany
World Thrift Day
Wednesday, October 30, 2019 World Thrift Day is a observance in Germany
Reformation Day
Thursday, October 31, 2019 Reformation Day in Germany is annually observed on October 31 to remember the Reformation, a time of big religious change between 1517 CE and 1648 CE.
Halloween
Thursday, October 31, 2019 Halloween is a festive occasion that is celebrated in many countries on October 31 each year.
All Saints' Day
Friday, November 1, 2019 All Saints' Day is an annual public holiday in five German states to remember all Christian saints on November 1.
Night of Broken Glass Remembrance Day
Saturday, November 9, 2019 Night of Broken Glass Remembrance Day is a observance in Germany
Fall of the Berlin Wall
Saturday, November 9, 2019 Fall of the Berlin Wall is a observance in Germany
St. Martin's Day
Monday, November 11, 2019 St. Martin's Day is celebrated in Germany every year on November 11.
National Day of Mourning
Sunday, November 17, 2019 On the National Day of Mourning (Volkstrauertag) many Germans commemorate all victims of war and tyranny.
Repentance Day
Wednesday, November 20, 2019 The Day of Prayer and Repentance is a Protestant holiday and a public holiday in the state of Saxony (Sachsen) on the last Wednesday before November 23.
Sunday of the Dead
Sunday, November 24, 2019 The Sunday of the Dead in Germany is an occasion to remember those who have passed away.
First Advent Sunday
Sunday, December 1, 2019 The first Sunday of Advent marks the beginning of the Christian year.
Saint Nicholas Day
Friday, December 6, 2019 St. Nicholas Day is celebrated on December 6 in many European countries, as well as areas across the world that boast a strong European influence.
Second Advent Sunday
Sunday, December 8, 2019 Second Advent Sunday is a observance and Christian holiday in Germany
Third Advent Sunday
Sunday, December 15, 2019 Third Advent Sunday is a observance and Christian holiday in Germany
Remembrance Day for Roma and Sinti killed by Genocide
Thursday, December 19, 2019 Remembrance Day for Roma and Sinti killed by Genocide is a observance in Germany
Fourth Advent Sunday
Sunday, December 22, 2019 Fourth Advent Sunday is a observance and Christian holiday in Germany
December Solstice
Sunday, December 22, 2019 December Solstice in Germany (Berlin)
Christmas Eve
Tuesday, December 24, 2019 Christmas Eve is the day before Christmas Day and the start of the Christmas celebration. It always falls on December 24 in Germany.
Christmas Day
Wednesday, December 25, 2019 Christmas Day marks the birth of Jesus Christ and is a public holiday in Germany. It is on December 25 each year.
Boxing Day
Thursday, December 26, 2019 The Second Day of Christmas is a public holiday in Germany. It always falls on December 26.
New Year's Eve
Tuesday, December 31, 2019 New Year's Eve in Germany is annually celebrated on December 31. It is the last day of the year in the Gregorian calendar.