Germany has a total of 97 holidays in 2023. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year's Day
Sunday, January 1, 2023 New Year's Day, which is on January 1, or the first day of the year in the Gregorian Calendar, is a public holiday in Germany.
Epiphany
Friday, January 6, 2023 Epiphany on January 6 is a public holiday in 3 German states and commemorates the Bible story of the Magi's visit to baby Jesus.
Franco-German Day
Sunday, January 22, 2023 Franco-German Day is a observance in Germany
Remembrance Day for the Victims of National Socialism
Friday, January 27, 2023 Remembrance Day for the Victims of National Socialism is a observance in Germany
Valentine's Day
Tuesday, February 14, 2023 February 14 is Valentine's Day or Saint Valentine's Feast. The day of love owes its origins to ancient Roman and European Christian traditions.
Hizir Fast
Thursday, February 16, 2023 Hizir Fast is a observance in Germany
Shrove Monday
Monday, February 20, 2023 Carnival Monday is two days before Ash Wednesday and parades are held in many Catholic areas of Germany.
Carnival Tuesday
Tuesday, February 21, 2023 Carnival has several long-standing traditions in Germany.
Carnival / Ash Wednesday
Wednesday, February 22, 2023 Ash Wednesday marks the first day of Lent in western Christian churches.
International Women's Day
Wednesday, March 8, 2023 International Women's Day is a observance in Germany
St. Patrick's Day
Friday, March 17, 2023 St Patrick’s Day celebrates Irish culture and commemorates one of Ireland’s patron saints, St Patrick, on or around March 17.
Anniversary of the March Revolution
Saturday, March 18, 2023 Anniversary of the March Revolution is a observance in Germany
March Equinox
Monday, March 20, 2023 March Equinox in Germany (Berlin)
Alevitic New Year
Tuesday, March 21, 2023 Alevitic New Year is a observance in Germany
Daylight Saving Time starts
Sunday, March 26, 2023 Daylight Saving Time starts in Germany
Palm Sunday
Sunday, April 2, 2023 Palm Sunday is a Christian feast that commemorates Jesus Christ’s entry into Jerusalem. It is also the start of Holy Week.
Maundy Thursday
Thursday, April 6, 2023 Maundy Thursday is a Christian observance on the Thursday during Holy Week. It is the day before Good Friday.
First Day of Passover
Thursday, April 6, 2023 During Passover, the Jewish people remember the liberation of the Israelites from slavery, their exodus from Egypt, and that their first-born children were spared during the 10th plague, as told in the Haggadah.
Good Friday
Friday, April 7, 2023 Many Christians in Germany observe the Good Friday public holiday to mark the crucifixion of Jesus Christ.
Second Day of Passover
Friday, April 7, 2023 Second Day of Passover is a observance, Jewish holiday, and Jewish holiday in Germany
Holy Saturday
Saturday, April 8, 2023 Holy Saturday is the day before Easter Sunday.
Easter Sunday
Sunday, April 9, 2023 Easter Sunday is a holiday in Germany to celebrate the Jesus Christ's resurrection, according to the Christian Bible.
Easter Monday
Monday, April 10, 2023 Many people in Germany annually observe Easter Monday on the day after Easter Sunday. It is a public holiday in all states.
Sixth Day of Passover
Tuesday, April 11, 2023 Sixth Day of Passover is a observance, Jewish holiday, and Jewish holiday in Germany
Seventh Day of Passover
Wednesday, April 12, 2023 Seventh Day of Passover is a observance, Jewish holiday, and Jewish holiday in Germany
Eid ul Fitr
Saturday, April 22, 2023 Eid al-Fitr is a holiday to mark the end of the Islamic month of Ramadan, during which Muslims fast during the hours of daylight.
German Beer Day
Sunday, April 23, 2023 German Beer Day is a observance in Germany
Girls' Day / Boys' Day
Thursday, April 27, 2023 Girls' Day / Boys' Day is a observance in Germany
Walpurgis Night
Sunday, April 30, 2023 Walpurgis Night is a observance in Germany
May Day
Monday, May 1, 2023 May Day in Germany is a holiday to celebrate the start of spring and to campaign for workers' rights. It is always on May 1.
Europe Day (Council of Europe)
Friday, May 5, 2023 Europe Day (Council of Europe) is a observance in Germany
Anniversary of the End of World War II
Monday, May 8, 2023
Europe Day (European Union)
Tuesday, May 9, 2023 Europe Day (European Union) is a observance in Germany
Mother's Day
Sunday, May 14, 2023 Mother’s Day celebrates the achievements and efforts of mothers and mother figures.
Father's Day
Thursday, May 18, 2023 Father’s Day celebrates fatherhood and male parenting on different dates worldwide.
Ascension Day
Thursday, May 18, 2023 Ascension Day in Germany is on a Thursday 39 days after Easter Sunday.
Constitution Day
Tuesday, May 23, 2023 Constitution Day is a observance in Germany
First Day of Shavuot
Friday, May 26, 2023 Shavuot, sometimes known as the Festival of the Weeks, is a Jewish holiday to mark the end of the Counting of the Omer and the anniversary of the day when Jewish people received the Torah.
Second Day of Shavuot
Saturday, May 27, 2023 Second Day of Shavuot is a observance, Jewish holiday, and Jewish holiday in Germany
Whit Sunday
Sunday, May 28, 2023 Pentecost is a Christian holiday to remember the Holy Spirit's descent onto Jesus' followers.
Whit Monday
Monday, May 29, 2023 The Second Day of Pentecost is, which is on the Monday after Pentecost (or Whitsunday), is a public holiday in Germany.
International Childrens' Day
Thursday, June 1, 2023 International Childrens' Day is a observance in Germany
European Bicycle Day
Saturday, June 3, 2023 European Bicycle Day is a observance in Germany
Corpus Christi
Thursday, June 8, 2023 Corpus Christi celebrates the Eucharist and is public holiday in some parts of Germany.
Remembrance of the Victims of SED Injustice
Saturday, June 17, 2023 Remembrance of the Victims of SED Injustice is a observance in Germany
Anniversary of the Popular Uprising in the GDR
Saturday, June 17, 2023 Anniversary of the Popular Uprising in the GDR is a observance in Germany
Car-free Sunday
Sunday, June 18, 2023 Car-free Sunday is a observance in Germany
June Solstice
Wednesday, June 21, 2023 June Solstice in Germany (Berlin)
St. John
Saturday, June 24, 2023 St. John is a observance and Christian holiday in Germany
Architecture Day
Saturday, June 24, 2023 Architecture Day is a observance in Germany
St Peter and Paul
Thursday, June 29, 2023 St Peter and Paul is a observance and Christian holiday in Germany
Eid al-Adha
Thursday, June 29, 2023 Eid al-Adha (Id ul-Adha) is an Islamic festival falling on the 10th day of the month of Dhul Hijja (Thou al-Hijja) to commemorate the willingness of Ibrahim (Abraham) to sacrifice his son.
Ashura
Friday, July 28, 2023 Ashura is a observance and Muslim holiday in Germany
Peace Festival in Augsburg
Tuesday, August 8, 2023 The Augsburg Peace Festival in Germany celebrates the implementation of the Peace of Westphalia in 1648 CE. It is on August 8 each year.
Assumption of Mary
Tuesday, August 15, 2023 The Feast of the Assumption of Mary is an occasion for Catholics to honor the belief that God assumed the Virgin Mary to heaven. It is a public holiday in some parts of Germany on August 15 each year.
Anti War Day
Friday, September 1, 2023 Anti War Day is a observance in Germany
German Language Day
Saturday, September 9, 2023 German Language Day is a observance in Germany
European Heritage Days
Sunday, September 10, 2023 European Heritage Days is a observance in Germany
Rosh Hashana
Saturday, September 16, 2023 Rosh Hashana, commonly known as the Jewish New Year, is the first day of Tishrei, the seventh month in the Hebrew calendar.
Second Day of Rosh Hashana
Sunday, September 17, 2023 Second Day of Rosh Hashana is a observance, Jewish holiday, and Jewish holiday in Germany
German World Children's Day
Wednesday, September 20, 2023 German World Children's Day is a common local holiday in Germany
September Equinox
Saturday, September 23, 2023 September Equinox in Germany (Berlin)
Yom Kippur
Monday, September 25, 2023 Yom Kippur (Day of Atonement) is an important Jewish holiday that centers on the themes of atonement and repentance.
First day of Sukkot
Saturday, September 30, 2023 The first day of Sukkot marks the start of the Sukkot festival, celebrated among Jewish communities worldwide.
Harvest Festival
Sunday, October 1, 2023 Harvest Festival is a observance in Germany
Second Day of Sukkot
Sunday, October 1, 2023 Second Day of Sukkot is a observance, Jewish holiday, and Jewish holiday in Germany
Day of German Unity
Tuesday, October 3, 2023 German Unity Day celebrates Germany's unification in 1990. It is on October 3 each year.
Sixth Day of Sukkot
Thursday, October 5, 2023 Sixth Day of Sukkot is a observance, Jewish holiday, and Jewish holiday in Germany
Seventh Day of Sukkot
Friday, October 6, 2023 Seventh Day of Sukkot is a observance, Jewish holiday, and Jewish holiday in Germany
Shemini Atzeret
Saturday, October 7, 2023 Shemini Atzeret (or Shmini Atzeret) is a Jewish holiday dedicated to the love of God, while Simchat Torah (Simchas Torah or Simhat Torah) and celebrates the completion of the annual reading of the Torah.
Simchat Torah
Sunday, October 8, 2023 Simchat Torah is a Jewish holiday on which the yearly cycle of readings from the Torah ends and a new reading cycle begins.
Grandparents' Day
Sunday, October 8, 2023 Grandparents' Day is a observance in Germany
Daylight Saving Time ends
Sunday, October 29, 2023 Daylight Saving Time ends in Germany
World Thrift Day
Monday, October 30, 2023 World Thrift Day is a observance in Germany
Reformation Day
Tuesday, October 31, 2023 Reformation Day in Germany is annually observed on October 31 to remember the Reformation, a time of big religious change between 1517 CE and 1648 CE.
Halloween
Tuesday, October 31, 2023 Halloween is a festive occasion that is celebrated in many countries on October 31 each year.
All Saints' Day
Wednesday, November 1, 2023 All Saints' Day is an annual public holiday in five German states to remember all Christian saints on November 1.
All Souls' Day
Thursday, November 2, 2023 All Souls’ Day falls on November 2 each year. It is a day of alms giving and prayers for the dead.
Night of Broken Glass Remembrance Day
Thursday, November 9, 2023 Night of Broken Glass Remembrance Day is a observance in Germany
9th of November
Thursday, November 9, 2023 9th of November is a observance in Germany
Fall of the Berlin Wall
Thursday, November 9, 2023 Fall of the Berlin Wall is a observance in Germany
St. Martin's Day
Saturday, November 11, 2023 St. Martin's Day is celebrated in Germany every year on November 11.
National Day of Mourning
Sunday, November 19, 2023 On the National Day of Mourning (Volkstrauertag) many Germans commemorate all victims of war and tyranny.
Repentance Day
Wednesday, November 22, 2023 The Day of Prayer and Repentance is a Protestant holiday and a public holiday in the state of Saxony (Sachsen) on the last Wednesday before November 23.
Sunday of the Dead
Sunday, November 26, 2023 The Sunday of the Dead in Germany is an occasion to remember those who have passed away.
First Advent Sunday
Sunday, December 3, 2023 The first Sunday of Advent marks the beginning of the Christian year.
Saint Nicholas Day
Wednesday, December 6, 2023 St. Nicholas Day is celebrated on December 6 in many European countries, as well as areas across the world that boast a strong European influence.
Feast of the Immaculate Conception
Friday, December 8, 2023 The Feast of the Immaculate Conception is a Christian observance on December 8 each year.
Second Advent Sunday
Sunday, December 10, 2023 Second Advent Sunday is a observance and Christian holiday in Germany
Third Advent Sunday
Sunday, December 17, 2023 Third Advent Sunday is a observance and Christian holiday in Germany
Remembrance Day for Roma and Sinti killed by Genocide
Tuesday, December 19, 2023 Remembrance Day for Roma and Sinti killed by Genocide is a observance in Germany
December Solstice
Friday, December 22, 2023 December Solstice in Germany (Berlin)
Fourth Advent Sunday
Sunday, December 24, 2023 Fourth Advent Sunday is a observance and Christian holiday in Germany
Christmas Eve
Sunday, December 24, 2023 Christmas Eve is the day before Christmas Day and the start of the Christmas celebration. It always falls on December 24 in Germany.
Christmas Day
Monday, December 25, 2023 Christmas Day marks the birth of Jesus Christ and is a public holiday in Germany. It is on December 25 each year.
Boxing Day
Tuesday, December 26, 2023 The Second Day of Christmas is a public holiday in Germany. It always falls on December 26.
New Year's Eve
Sunday, December 31, 2023 New Year's Eve in Germany is annually celebrated on December 31. It is the last day of the year in the Gregorian calendar.