Germany has a total of 98 holidays in 2020. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year's Day
Wednesday, January 1, 2020 New Year's Day, which is on January 1, or the first day of the year in the Gregorian Calendar, is a public holiday in Germany.
Epiphany
Monday, January 6, 2020 Epiphany on January 6 is a public holiday in 3 German states and commemorates the Bible story of the Magi's visit to baby Jesus.
Franco-German Day
Wednesday, January 22, 2020 Franco-German Day is a observance in Germany
Remembrance Day for the Victims of National Socialism
Monday, January 27, 2020 Remembrance Day for the Victims of National Socialism is a observance in Germany
Valentine's Day
Friday, February 14, 2020 February 14 is Valentine's Day or Saint Valentine's Feast. The day of love owes its origins to ancient Roman and European Christian traditions.
Hizir Fast
Sunday, February 16, 2020 Hizir Fast is a observance in Germany
Shrove Monday
Monday, February 24, 2020 Carnival Monday is two days before Ash Wednesday and parades are held in many Catholic areas of Germany.
Carnival Tuesday
Tuesday, February 25, 2020 Carnival has several long-standing traditions in Germany.
Carnival / Ash Wednesday
Wednesday, February 26, 2020 Ash Wednesday marks the first day of Lent in western Christian churches.
International Women's Day
Sunday, March 8, 2020 International Women's Day is a observance in Germany
St. Patrick's Day
Tuesday, March 17, 2020 St Patrick’s Day celebrates Irish culture and commemorates one of Ireland’s patron saints, St Patrick, on or around March 17.
Anniversary of the March Revolution
Wednesday, March 18, 2020 Anniversary of the March Revolution is a observance in Germany
March Equinox
Friday, March 20, 2020 March Equinox in Germany (Berlin)
Alevitic New Year
Saturday, March 21, 2020 Alevitic New Year is a observance in Germany
Girls' Day / Boys' Day
Thursday, March 26, 2020 Girls' Day / Boys' Day is a observance in Germany
Daylight Saving Time starts
Sunday, March 29, 2020 Daylight Saving Time starts in Germany
Palm Sunday
Sunday, April 5, 2020 Palm Sunday is a Christian feast that commemorates Jesus Christ’s entry into Jerusalem. It is also the start of Holy Week.
Maundy Thursday
Thursday, April 9, 2020 Maundy Thursday is a Christian observance on the Thursday during Holy Week. It is the day before Good Friday.
First Day of Passover
Thursday, April 9, 2020 During Passover, the Jewish people remember the liberation of the Israelites from slavery, their exodus from Egypt, and that their first-born children were spared during the 10th plague, as told in the Haggadah.
Good Friday
Friday, April 10, 2020 Many Christians in Germany observe the Good Friday public holiday to mark the crucifixion of Jesus Christ.
Second Day of Passover
Friday, April 10, 2020 Second Day of Passover is a observance, Jewish holiday, and Jewish holiday in Germany
Holy Saturday
Saturday, April 11, 2020 Holy Saturday is the day before Easter Sunday.
Easter Sunday
Sunday, April 12, 2020 Easter Sunday is a holiday in Germany to celebrate the Jesus Christ's resurrection, according to the Christian Bible.
Easter Monday
Monday, April 13, 2020 Many people in Germany annually observe Easter Monday on the day after Easter Sunday. It is a public holiday in all states.
Sixth Day of Passover
Tuesday, April 14, 2020 Sixth Day of Passover is a observance, Jewish holiday, and Jewish holiday in Germany
Seventh Day of Passover
Wednesday, April 15, 2020 Seventh Day of Passover is a observance, Jewish holiday, and Jewish holiday in Germany
German Beer Day
Thursday, April 23, 2020 German Beer Day is a observance in Germany
Walpurgis Night
Thursday, April 30, 2020 Walpurgis Night is a observance in Germany
May Day
Friday, May 1, 2020 May Day in Germany is a holiday to celebrate the start of spring and to campaign for workers' rights. It is always on May 1.
German Food Bank Day
Saturday, May 2, 2020 German Food Bank Day is a observance in Germany
Europe Day (Council of Europe)
Tuesday, May 5, 2020 Europe Day (Council of Europe) is a observance in Germany
Anniversary of the End of World War II
Friday, May 8, 2020
Europe Day (European Union)
Saturday, May 9, 2020 Europe Day (European Union) is a observance in Germany
Mother's Day
Sunday, May 10, 2020 Mother’s Day celebrates the achievements and efforts of mothers and mother figures.
Father's Day
Thursday, May 21, 2020 Father’s Day celebrates fatherhood and male parenting on different dates worldwide.
Ascension Day
Thursday, May 21, 2020 Ascension Day in Germany is on a Thursday 39 days after Easter Sunday.
Constitution Day
Saturday, May 23, 2020 Constitution Day is a observance in Germany
Eid ul Fitr
Sunday, May 24, 2020 Eid al-Fitr is a holiday to mark the end of the Islamic month of Ramadan, during which Muslims fast during the hours of daylight.
First Day of Shavuot
Friday, May 29, 2020 Shavuot, sometimes known as the Festival of the Weeks, is a Jewish holiday to mark the end of the Counting of the Omer and the anniversary of the day when Jewish people received the Torah.
Second Day of Shavuot
Saturday, May 30, 2020 Second Day of Shavuot is a observance, Jewish holiday, and Jewish holiday in Germany
Whit Sunday
Sunday, May 31, 2020 Pentecost is a Christian holiday to remember the Holy Spirit's descent onto Jesus' followers.
Whit Monday
Monday, June 1, 2020 The Second Day of Pentecost is, which is on the Monday after Pentecost (or Whitsunday), is a public holiday in Germany.
International Childrens' Day
Monday, June 1, 2020 International Childrens' Day is a observance in Germany
European Bicycle Day
Wednesday, June 3, 2020 European Bicycle Day is a observance in Germany
Corpus Christi
Thursday, June 11, 2020 Corpus Christi celebrates the Eucharist and is public holiday in some parts of Germany.
Remembrance of the Victims of SED Injustice
Wednesday, June 17, 2020 Remembrance of the Victims of SED Injustice is a observance in Germany
Anniversary of the Popular Uprising in the GDR
Wednesday, June 17, 2020 Anniversary of the Popular Uprising in the GDR is a observance in Germany
June Solstice
Saturday, June 20, 2020 June Solstice in Germany (Berlin)
Car-free Sunday
Sunday, June 21, 2020 Car-free Sunday is a observance in Germany
St. John
Wednesday, June 24, 2020 St. John is a observance and Christian holiday in Germany
Architecture Day
Saturday, June 27, 2020 Architecture Day is a observance in Germany
St Peter and Paul
Monday, June 29, 2020 St Peter and Paul is a observance and Christian holiday in Germany
Eid al-Adha
Friday, July 31, 2020 Eid al-Adha (Id ul-Adha) is an Islamic festival falling on the 10th day of the month of Dhul Hijja (Thou al-Hijja) to commemorate the willingness of Ibrahim (Abraham) to sacrifice his son.
Peace Festival in Augsburg
Saturday, August 8, 2020 The Augsburg Peace Festival in Germany celebrates the implementation of the Peace of Westphalia in 1648 CE. It is on August 8 each year.
Assumption of Mary
Saturday, August 15, 2020 The Feast of the Assumption of Mary is an occasion for Catholics to honor the belief that God assumed the Virgin Mary to heaven. It is a public holiday in some parts of Germany on August 15 each year.
Ashura
Saturday, August 29, 2020 Ashura is a observance and Muslim holiday in Germany
Anti War Day
Tuesday, September 1, 2020 Anti War Day is a observance in Germany
German Language Day
Saturday, September 12, 2020 German Language Day is a observance in Germany
European Heritage Days
Sunday, September 13, 2020 European Heritage Days is a observance in Germany
Rosh Hashana
Saturday, September 19, 2020 Rosh Hashana, commonly known as the Jewish New Year, is the first day of Tishrei, the seventh month in the Hebrew calendar.
German World Children's Day
Sunday, September 20, 2020 German World Children's Day is a common local holiday in Germany
Second Day of Rosh Hashana
Sunday, September 20, 2020 Second Day of Rosh Hashana is a observance, Jewish holiday, and Jewish holiday in Germany
September Equinox
Tuesday, September 22, 2020 September Equinox in Germany (Berlin)
Yom Kippur
Monday, September 28, 2020 Yom Kippur (Day of Atonement) is an important Jewish holiday that centers on the themes of atonement and repentance.
Day of German Unity
Saturday, October 3, 2020 German Unity Day celebrates Germany's unification in 1990. It is on October 3 each year.
First day of Sukkot
Saturday, October 3, 2020 The first day of Sukkot marks the start of the Sukkot festival, celebrated among Jewish communities worldwide.
Harvest Festival
Sunday, October 4, 2020 Harvest Festival is a observance in Germany
Second Day of Sukkot
Sunday, October 4, 2020 Second Day of Sukkot is a observance, Jewish holiday, and Jewish holiday in Germany
Sixth Day of Sukkot
Thursday, October 8, 2020 Sixth Day of Sukkot is a observance, Jewish holiday, and Jewish holiday in Germany
Seventh Day of Sukkot
Friday, October 9, 2020 Seventh Day of Sukkot is a observance, Jewish holiday, and Jewish holiday in Germany
Shemini Atzeret
Saturday, October 10, 2020 Shemini Atzeret (or Shmini Atzeret) is a Jewish holiday dedicated to the love of God, while Simchat Torah (Simchas Torah or Simhat Torah) and celebrates the completion of the annual reading of the Torah.
Simchat Torah
Sunday, October 11, 2020 Simchat Torah is a Jewish holiday on which the yearly cycle of readings from the Torah ends and a new reading cycle begins.
Grandparents' Day
Sunday, October 11, 2020 Grandparents' Day is a observance in Germany
Daylight Saving Time ends
Sunday, October 25, 2020 Daylight Saving Time ends in Germany
World Thrift Day
Friday, October 30, 2020 World Thrift Day is a observance in Germany
Reformation Day
Saturday, October 31, 2020 Reformation Day in Germany is annually observed on October 31 to remember the Reformation, a time of big religious change between 1517 CE and 1648 CE.
Halloween
Saturday, October 31, 2020 Halloween is a festive occasion that is celebrated in many countries on October 31 each year.
All Saints' Day
Sunday, November 1, 2020 All Saints' Day is an annual public holiday in five German states to remember all Christian saints on November 1.
All Souls' Day
Monday, November 2, 2020 All Souls’ Day falls on November 2 each year. It is a day of alms giving and prayers for the dead.
Night of Broken Glass Remembrance Day
Monday, November 9, 2020 Night of Broken Glass Remembrance Day is a observance in Germany
9th of November
Monday, November 9, 2020 9th of November is a observance in Germany
Fall of the Berlin Wall
Monday, November 9, 2020 Fall of the Berlin Wall is a observance in Germany
St. Martin's Day
Wednesday, November 11, 2020 St. Martin's Day is celebrated in Germany every year on November 11.
National Day of Mourning
Sunday, November 15, 2020 On the National Day of Mourning (Volkstrauertag) many Germans commemorate all victims of war and tyranny.
Repentance Day
Wednesday, November 18, 2020 The Day of Prayer and Repentance is a Protestant holiday and a public holiday in the state of Saxony (Sachsen) on the last Wednesday before November 23.
Sunday of the Dead
Sunday, November 22, 2020 The Sunday of the Dead in Germany is an occasion to remember those who have passed away.
First Advent Sunday
Sunday, November 29, 2020 The first Sunday of Advent marks the beginning of the Christian year.
Second Advent Sunday
Sunday, December 6, 2020 Second Advent Sunday is a observance and Christian holiday in Germany
Saint Nicholas Day
Sunday, December 6, 2020 St. Nicholas Day is celebrated on December 6 in many European countries, as well as areas across the world that boast a strong European influence.
Feast of the Immaculate Conception
Tuesday, December 8, 2020 The Feast of the Immaculate Conception is a Christian observance on December 8 each year.
Third Advent Sunday
Sunday, December 13, 2020 Third Advent Sunday is a observance and Christian holiday in Germany
Remembrance Day for Roma and Sinti killed by Genocide
Saturday, December 19, 2020 Remembrance Day for Roma and Sinti killed by Genocide is a observance in Germany
Fourth Advent Sunday
Sunday, December 20, 2020 Fourth Advent Sunday is a observance and Christian holiday in Germany
December Solstice
Monday, December 21, 2020 December Solstice in Germany (Berlin)
Christmas Eve
Thursday, December 24, 2020 Christmas Eve is the day before Christmas Day and the start of the Christmas celebration. It always falls on December 24 in Germany.
Christmas Day
Friday, December 25, 2020 Christmas Day marks the birth of Jesus Christ and is a public holiday in Germany. It is on December 25 each year.
Boxing Day
Saturday, December 26, 2020 The Second Day of Christmas is a public holiday in Germany. It always falls on December 26.
New Year's Eve
Thursday, December 31, 2020 New Year's Eve in Germany is annually celebrated on December 31. It is the last day of the year in the Gregorian calendar.