India has a total of 76 holidays in 2022. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year's Day
Saturday, January 1, 2022 New Year’s Day is celebrated many countries such as in India on the January 1 in the Gregorian calendar.
Guru Govind Singh Jayanti
Sunday, January 9, 2022 Guru Gobind Singh Jayanti is the Sikh annual celebration that occurs in countries such as India around December or January in the Gregorian calendar.
Lohri
Thursday, January 13, 2022 Lohri is a restricted holiday in India
Pongal
Friday, January 14, 2022 Many southern states in India, particularly Tamil Nadu, celebrate Pongal as a thanksgiving for the good harvest season in mid-January every year.
Makar Sankranti
Friday, January 14, 2022 Makar Sankranti is a restricted holiday in India
Republic Day
Wednesday, January 26, 2022 India's Republic Day marks the anniversary of the adoption of the Indian constitution. It is an annual gazetted holiday in India on January 26.
Chinese New Year
Tuesday, February 1, 2022 Chinese New year is an annual global celebration in many countries including India.
Vasant Panchami
Saturday, February 5, 2022 Vasant Panchami, or India’s spring festival, is a Hindu event that includes special rituals and highlights the start of spring.
Valentine's Day
Monday, February 14, 2022 Valentine’s Day is celebrated in many places worldwide, including in India, on February 14 each year.
Hazarat Ali's Birthday
Tuesday, February 15, 2022 Hazarat Ali's Birthday is a restricted holiday in India
Guru Ravidas Jayanti
Wednesday, February 16, 2022 Guru Ravidas Jayanti is a restricted holiday in India
Shivaji Jayanti
Saturday, February 19, 2022 Shivaji Jayanti is a restricted holiday in India
Maharishi Dayanand Saraswati Jayanti
Saturday, February 26, 2022 Maharishi Dayanand Saraswati Jayanti is a restricted holiday in India
Maha Shivaratri/Shivaratri
Tuesday, March 1, 2022 Maha Shivaratri is an annual Hindu festival that is dedicated to Lord Shiva on the 13th or 14th day of the Hindu month of Maagha or Phalguna.
Holika Dahana
Thursday, March 17, 2022 Holika Dahana is a restricted holiday in India
Holi
Friday, March 18, 2022 Holi is a spring festival of colors celebrated by Hindus, Sikhs and others. It celebrates the triumph of good over evil and the upcoming season of spring. The festival can last up to sixteen days.
Dolyatra
Friday, March 18, 2022 Dolyatra is a restricted holiday in India
March Equinox
Sunday, March 20, 2022 March Equinox in India (New Delhi)
Chaitra Sukhladi
Saturday, April 2, 2022 Chaitra Sukhladi is a restricted holiday in India
Ugadi
Saturday, April 2, 2022 Ugadi is a restricted holiday in India
Gudi Padwa
Saturday, April 2, 2022 Gudi Padwa is a restricted holiday in India
Rama Navami
Sunday, April 10, 2022 Rama Navami is a Hindu festival that celebrates the birth of Rama, the first son of King Dasaratha of Ayodhya.
Maundy Thursday
Thursday, April 14, 2022 Maundy Thursday is a Christian observance on the Thursday during Holy Week. It is the day before Good Friday.
Mahavir Jayanti
Thursday, April 14, 2022 Mahavir Jayanti is a gazetted holiday in India
Vaisakhi
Thursday, April 14, 2022 Vaisakhi, also known as Baisakhi, is a harvest celebration on either April 13 or April 14 in the Gregorian calendar. It is one of India’s most notable celebrations.
Mesadi / Vaisakhadi
Thursday, April 14, 2022 Mesadi / Vaisakhadi is a restricted holiday in India
Ambedkar Jayanti
Thursday, April 14, 2022 Ambedkar Jayanti is a observance in India
Good Friday
Friday, April 15, 2022 Many Christians commemorate Jesus Christ’s crucifixion and death on Good Friday. It is a gazetted holiday in India.
First day of Passover
Saturday, April 16, 2022 During Passover, the Jewish people remember the liberation of the Israelites from slavery, their exodus from Egypt, and that their first-born children were spared during the 10th plague, as told in the Haggadah.
Easter Day
Sunday, April 17, 2022 Easter Sunday commemorates Jesus Christ’s resurrection, according to Christian belief.
Jamat Ul-Vida
Friday, April 29, 2022 Jamat Ul-Vida is a restricted holiday in India
May Day
Sunday, May 1, 2022 Labor Day, or May Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Ramzan Id/Eid-ul-Fitar
Tuesday, May 3, 2022 Eid-al-Fitr is a holiday to mark the end of the Islamic month of Ramadan, during which Muslims fast during the hours of daylight.
Mother's Day
Sunday, May 8, 2022 Mother’s Day celebrates the achievements and efforts of mothers and mother figures.
Birthday of Ravindranath
Monday, May 9, 2022 Birthday of Ravindranath is a restricted holiday in India
Buddha Purnima/Vesak
Monday, May 16, 2022 Vesak, also known as Buddha Purnima, celebrates of Gautama Buddha's birth, enlightenment and death.
Father's Day
Sunday, June 19, 2022 Father’s Day celebrates fatherhood and male parenting on different dates worldwide.
June Solstice
Tuesday, June 21, 2022 June Solstice in India (New Delhi)
Rath Yatra
Friday, July 1, 2022 Rath Yatra is a restricted holiday in India
Bakr Id/Eid ul-Adha
Sunday, July 10, 2022 Many Muslims in India celebrate Eid al-Adha (Id-ul-Zuha or Bakr-Id), which is on the 10th to 13th days of the Islamic month of Dhul Hijja.
Guru Purnima
Wednesday, July 13, 2022 Guru Purnima is a festival that honors spiritual Gurus by remembering their life and teachings. It is observed on the full moon day, Purnima, in the Hindu month of Ashadh, which is usually June or July.
Friendship Day
Sunday, August 7, 2022 Friendship Day is a observance in India
Muharram/Ashura
Monday, August 8, 2022 Muharram, or the Islamic New Year, is a public holiday in India.
Raksha Bandhan (Rakhi)
Thursday, August 11, 2022 Raksha Bandhan is a Hindu festival that is celebrated on the full moon of the Hindu month of Shravana (Shravan Poornima). The day is also sometimes referred to as Brother and Sister Day because it honors the relationship between brother and sister.
Independence Day
Monday, August 15, 2022 India's Independence Day is an annual gazetted holiday on August 15 to commemorate the day India became an independent nation.
Parsi New Year
Tuesday, August 16, 2022 Parsi New Year is a restricted holiday in India
Janmashtami (Smarta)
Thursday, August 18, 2022 Janmashtami (Smarta) is a restricted holiday in India
Janmashtami
Friday, August 19, 2022 Krishna Janmashtami is a Hindu festival that celebrates the birth of Krishna, the eighth incarnation of the god Vishnu. It is celebrated on the eighth day of the Hindu month of Bhadrava (Bhadrapada), which is usually in August or September.
Ganesh Chaturthi/Vinayaka Chaturthi
Wednesday, August 31, 2022 Ganesh Chaturthi is the great Ganesha festival that celebrates the birthday of Lord Ganesha during the Hindu Month of Bhadra, which usually falls between mid-August and mid-September. It is also known as Vinayaka Chaturthi and can last up to 10 days.
Onam
Thursday, September 8, 2022 Onam is a restricted holiday in India
September Equinox
Friday, September 23, 2022 September Equinox in India (New Delhi)
First Day of Sharad Navratri
Monday, September 26, 2022 First Day of Sharad Navratri is a observance and Hindu holiday in India
First Day of Durga Puja Festivities
Saturday, October 1, 2022 First Day of Durga Puja Festivities is a observance and Hindu holiday in India
Mahatma Gandhi Jayanti
Sunday, October 2, 2022 Mahatma Gandhi's birthday is an annual gazetted holiday in India on October 2.
Maha Saptami
Sunday, October 2, 2022 Maha Saptami is a restricted holiday in India
Maha Ashtami
Monday, October 3, 2022 Maha Ashtami is a restricted holiday in India
Maha Navami
Tuesday, October 4, 2022 Maha Navami is a restricted holiday in India
Dussehra
Wednesday, October 5, 2022 Dussehra, also known as Vijaya Dashami, is an Indian festival that celebrates good forces over evil forces. It spans for 10 days and is celebrated in varied traditions across India.
Maharishi Valmiki Jayanti
Sunday, October 9, 2022 Maharishi Valmiki Jayanti is a restricted holiday in India
Milad un-Nabi/Id-e-Milad
Sunday, October 9, 2022 Milad un-Nabi is a gazetted holiday in India and marks the Prophet Muhammad's birthday.
Karaka Chaturthi (Karva Chauth)
Thursday, October 13, 2022 Karwa Chauth is an annual one-day festival that honors the Hindu god Shiva and goddess Parvati. It is celebrated by all married Hindu women on the fourth day after the full moon in the Hindu month of Kartik, which is usually in October.
Naraka Chaturdasi
Monday, October 24, 2022 Naraka Chaturdasi is a restricted holiday in India
Diwali/Deepavali
Monday, October 24, 2022 Diwali is a festival of physical and spiritual light celebrated in October or November each year.
Govardhan Puja
Tuesday, October 25, 2022 Govardhan Puja is a restricted holiday in India
Bhai Duj
Wednesday, October 26, 2022 Bhai Duj is a Hindu festival that celebrates the relationship between a brother and a sister on the second day after the new moon in the Hindu month of Kartika.
Chhat Puja (Pratihar Sashthi/Surya Sashthi)
Sunday, October 30, 2022 Chhat Puja (Pratihar Sashthi/Surya Sashthi) is a restricted holiday in India
Halloween
Monday, October 31, 2022 Halloween is a festive occasion that is celebrated in many countries on October 31 each year.
Guru Nanak Jayanti
Tuesday, November 8, 2022 Guru Nanak Jayanti is a gazetted holiday in India
Guru Tegh Bahadur's Martyrdom Day
Thursday, November 24, 2022 Guru Tegh Bahadur's Martyrdom Day is a restricted holiday in India
First Day of Hanukkah
Monday, December 19, 2022 Hanukkah, also known as Chanukah or the Festival of Lights, is celebrated for 8 days between the 25th day of the month of Kislev to the second day of Tevet in the Hebrew calendar.
December Solstice
Wednesday, December 21, 2022 December Solstice in India (New Delhi)
Christmas Eve
Saturday, December 24, 2022 Christmas Eve is the day before Christmas Day and falls on December 24 in the Gregorian calendar.
Christmas
Sunday, December 25, 2022 Many Christians celebrate Christmas Day, which is a gazetted holiday in India, on December 25 each year.
Last day of Hanukkah
Monday, December 26, 2022 Hanukkah, also known as Chanukah or the Festival of Lights, is celebrated for eight days between the 25th day of the month of Kislev to the second day of Tevet in the Hebrew calendar.
Guru Govind Singh Jayanti
Thursday, December 29, 2022 Guru Gobind Singh Jayanti is the Sikh annual celebration that occurs in countries such as India around December or January in the Gregorian calendar.
New Year's Eve
Saturday, December 31, 2022 New Year’s Eve is the last day of the year, December 31, in the Gregorian calendar.