United Kingdom has a total of 94 holidays in 2019. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year's Day
Tuesday, January 1, 2019 New Year's Day marks the start of a new year in the Gregorian calendar, the official calendar used in the United Kingdom.
2nd January
Wednesday, January 2, 2019 January 2 is an annual bank holiday and the last day of the Hogmanay (New Year) celebrations in Scotland.
Epiphany
Sunday, January 6, 2019 Epiphany marks the visit of the Magi to Jesus and celebrates the revelation of God incarnate as Jesus Christ.
Orthodox Christmas Day
Monday, January 7, 2019 Orthodox Christians in the United Kingdom celebrate the Nativity of Christ (Jesus' birth) on the Orthodox Christmas Day.
Orthodox New Year
Monday, January 14, 2019 Orthodox Christians in the United Kingdom mark the start of a new calendar year on either January 1 or 14 in the Gregorian calendar.
Tu B'Shevat (Arbor Day)
Monday, January 21, 2019 Tu B’Shevat is known as the “New Year for Trees”, is one of the four Jewish New Years.
Burns Night
Friday, January 25, 2019 Burns Night celebrates the life and work of Robert Burns and Scottish culture in general. It is on or around January 25 each year.
Chinese New Year
Tuesday, February 5, 2019 Chinese New Year in the United Kingdom (UK) marks the start of the New Year in the Chinese calendar.
Valentine's Day
Thursday, February 14, 2019 Valentine’s Day is celebrated in the UK as a day of love and falls on February 14 every year.
St. David's Day
Friday, March 1, 2019 People in Wales and Welsh communities around the world celebrate the life of their patron saint, St David, and the culture of their country on St David’s Day.
Maha Shivaratri
Monday, March 4, 2019 Maha Shivaratri is a Hindu holiday in the United Kingdom
Carnival / Shrove Tuesday
Tuesday, March 5, 2019 Shrove Tuesday is also known as Pancake Tuesday in the United Kingdom.
Carnival / Ash Wednesday
Wednesday, March 6, 2019 Ash Wednesday is a Christian observance in the United Kingdom. It is the first day of Lent.
St Patrick's Day
Sunday, March 17, 2019 St Patrick's Day remembers the life and deeds of St Patrick, one of Ireland's patron saints. It also celebrates Irish culture.
Day off for St Patrick's Day
Monday, March 18, 2019 St Patrick's Day remembers the life and deeds of St Patrick, one of Ireland's patron saints. It also celebrates Irish culture.
March Equinox
Wednesday, March 20, 2019 March Equinox in the United Kingdom (London)
Holi
Thursday, March 21, 2019 Holi is a spring festival of colors celebrated by Hindus, Sikhs and others. It celebrates the triumph of good over evil and the upcoming season of spring. The festival can last up to sixteen days.
Purim
Thursday, March 21, 2019 Purim commemorates a time when Jewish people were saved from death around the fourth century BCE, according to the Book of Esther.
Daylight Saving Time starts
Sunday, March 31, 2019 Daylight Saving Time starts in the United Kingdom
Mothering Sunday
Sunday, March 31, 2019 Mothering Sunday, or Mother's Day, is traditionally a day to visit your mother church. It is now an occasion to bring gifts to your own mother.
Isra and Mi'raj
Wednesday, April 3, 2019 Isra and Mi'raj marks the night when the Prophet Mohammad traveled from Mecca to Jerusalem, ascended to heaven, and returned.
Palm Sunday
Sunday, April 14, 2019 Palm Sunday in the United Kingdom celebrates Jesus Christ’s entry into Jerusalem. It is also the Sunday before Easter Sunday.
Maundy Thursday
Thursday, April 18, 2019 Many Christians in the United Kingdom celebrate Maundy Thursday on the Thursday before Good Friday.
Good Friday
Friday, April 19, 2019 Good Friday is just before Easter Sunday and is a public holiday in the United Kingdom.
Holy Saturday
Saturday, April 20, 2019 Holy Saturday is the day before Easter Sunday in the United Kingdom.
First day of Passover
Saturday, April 20, 2019 Passover marks the Israelites' liberation from slavery and their exodus from Egypt around 3000 years ago.
Easter Sunday
Sunday, April 21, 2019 Easter Sunday commemorates Jesus Christ's resurrection. The Easter egg hunt is one of the most popular Easter traditions
Easter Monday
Monday, April 22, 2019 Easter Monday is the day after Easter Sunday. It is a bank holiday in England, Wales and Northern Ireland but not in Scotland.
Stephen Lawrence Day
Monday, April 22, 2019 Stephen Lawrence Day is an annual observance in the UK commemorating the racially motivated murder of Stephen Lawrence.
Shakespeare Day
Tuesday, April 23, 2019 National Shakespeare Day, also known as Shakespeare Day, is annually held on April 23.
Orthodox Good Friday
Friday, April 26, 2019 Many Orthodox Christians in the United Kingdom remember the events leading up to Jesus Christ's crucifixion on Great Friday, also known as Holy Friday.
Last day of Passover
Saturday, April 27, 2019 On the 8th and last day of Passover, Jews in the UK commemorate the Parting of the Red Sea and the Israelites' escape from Egypt.
Orthodox Holy Saturday
Saturday, April 27, 2019 Many Orthodox Christians in the United Kingdom remember Jesus Christ’s burial and his descent into Hades on Holy Saturday.
Orthodox Easter
Sunday, April 28, 2019 Many Orthodox Christians in the United Kingdom commemorate Jesus Christ’s resurrection on Easter Day, also known as Pascha.
Orthodox Easter Monday
Monday, April 29, 2019 Many Orthodox churches in the United Kingdom observe Easter Monday on the day after the Orthodox Easter Sunday date.
St. George's Day
Monday, April 29, 2019 St George's Day in England is a celebration of Saint George, a Christian martyr and soldier in the Roman army.
Yom HaShoah
Thursday, May 2, 2019 Yom Hashoah, held on the 27th day of the month of Nisan, remembers the Holocaust victims who died during World War II.
Ramadan Start
Monday, May 6, 2019 Muslims in the United Kingdom welcome Ramadan as a period of fasting, self-evaluation, and spiritual growth.
Early May Bank Holiday
Monday, May 6, 2019 May Day, or the Early May Bank holiday, is on the first Monday of May each year.
Yom HaAtzmaut
Thursday, May 9, 2019 Celebrated on the fifth day of the Jewish month of Iyar, Yom Ha’Atzmaut is Israel’s Independence Day.
Lag B'Omer
Thursday, May 23, 2019 Jewish people observe Lag BaOmer on the 18th day of the month of Iyar in the Jewish calendar.
Spring Bank Holiday
Monday, May 27, 2019 The spring bank holiday in the United Kingdom is on the last Monday of May each year.
Ascension Day
Thursday, May 30, 2019 Ascension Day is the 40th day of Easter and commemorates Jesus Christ’s ascension into heaven, according to Christian belief.
Laylatul Qadr (Night of Power)
Friday, May 31, 2019 Laylatul Qadr, the Night of Power, is the holiest day of the Islamic calendar year.
Eid ul Fitr
Tuesday, June 4, 2019 Eid ul-Fitr is a Muslim celebration that marks the end of the month-long fast of Ramadan.
Queen's Birthday
Saturday, June 8, 2019 The Queen's birthday, also known as the Queen's Official Birthday, is celebrated in many Commonwealth countries around the world. It is a public holiday in countries such as Australia, New Zealand, and Gibraltar, although on different dates.
Pentecost
Sunday, June 9, 2019 Many Christians in the United Kingdom observe Pentecost, also known as Whitsunday or Whit Sunday.
Shavuot
Sunday, June 9, 2019 Shavuot, also known as the Festival of Weeks, is one of three major Jewish festivals celebrated among Jewish people in the UK.
Whit Monday
Monday, June 10, 2019 Whit Monday is a Christian observance also known as Pentecost Monday. It is the day after Pentecost, or Whitsunday.
Trinity Sunday
Sunday, June 16, 2019 Trinity Sunday, which is the first Sunday after Pentecost, is a Christian feast that is observed in many churches in the United Kingdom.
Father's Day
Sunday, June 16, 2019 Father's Day in the United Kingdom honors fathers and celebrates fatherhood.
Corpus Christi
Thursday, June 20, 2019 Corpus Christi is a Christian observance that honors the Holy Eucharist.
June Solstice
Friday, June 21, 2019 June Solstice in the United Kingdom (London)
Windrush Day
Saturday, June 22, 2019 Windrush Day is an annual observance in the UK honoring the British Caribbean community.
Battle of the Boyne
Friday, July 12, 2019 Orangemen's Day is a bank holiday in Northern Ireland to commemorate the Battle of the Boyne.
Summer Bank Holiday
Monday, August 5, 2019 The summer bank holiday is on the first Monday of August in Scotland and the last Monday of August in England, Wales and Northern Ireland.
Tisha B'Av
Sunday, August 11, 2019 Tisha B’Av is a Jewish day of mourning, which falls on the ninth day of the month of Av in the Jewish calendar.
Eid ul Adha
Monday, August 12, 2019 Eid ul-Adha is an Islamic festival to remember Ibrahim's willingness to sacrifice his son to God.
Assumption of Mary
Thursday, August 15, 2019 The feast of the Dormition or Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary is celebrated by some Christian denominations in the United Kingdom on August 15.
Raksha Bandhan
Thursday, August 15, 2019 Raksha Bandhan is a Hindu holiday in the United Kingdom
Janmashtami
Friday, August 23, 2019 Janmashtami is a Hindu holiday in the United Kingdom
Summer Bank Holiday
Monday, August 26, 2019 The summer bank holiday is on the first Monday of August in Scotland and the last Monday of August in England, Wales and Northern Ireland.
Muharram/Islamic New Year
Sunday, September 1, 2019 The first day of Muharram, which is the first month in the Islamic calendar, marks the Islamic New Year.
Ganesh Chaturthi
Monday, September 2, 2019 Ganesh Chaturthi is a Hindu holiday in the United Kingdom
Ashura
Tuesday, September 10, 2019 On Ashura, many Muslims commemorate the martyrdom of Imam Husayn ibn Ali.
September Equinox
Monday, September 23, 2019 September Equinox in the United Kingdom (London)
Navaratri
Sunday, September 29, 2019 Navaratri is a Hindu holiday in the United Kingdom
Rosh Hashana
Monday, September 30, 2019 Rosh Hashanah, also spelled Rosh Hashana, is commonly known as the Jewish New Year.
Feast of St Francis of Assisi
Friday, October 4, 2019 Many churches in the United Kingdom celebrate the Feast of St Francis of Assisi to honor St Francis, the patron saint of animals and the environment, on October 4 each year.
Dussehra
Monday, October 7, 2019 Dussehra is a Hindu holiday in the United Kingdom
Yom Kippur
Wednesday, October 9, 2019 Yom Kippur is arguably the holiest of the Jewish holidays. It is celebrated in October or November.
First day of Sukkot
Monday, October 14, 2019 Sukkot is a Jewish holiday lasting 7 days. It begins on the 15th of Tishrei, which falls into September or October.
Hoshana Rabbah
Sunday, October 20, 2019 Jewish people in the UK celebrate Hoshana Rabbah, also spelled Hoshana Raba, on the last day of the Sukkot festival.
Shemini Atzeret
Monday, October 21, 2019 Shemini Atzeret, also spelled Shmini Atzeret, is a joyous Jewish holiday that immediately follows the Sukkot festival.
Simchat Torah
Tuesday, October 22, 2019 Simchat Torah (Simchas Torah or Simhat Torah) is a Jewish holiday that celebrates the completion of the annual reading of the Torah.
Diwali/Deepavali
Sunday, October 27, 2019 Diwali, also known as the Festival of Lights, marks the beginning of the Hindu New Year.
Daylight Saving Time ends
Sunday, October 27, 2019 Daylight Saving Time ends in the United Kingdom
Halloween
Thursday, October 31, 2019 Halloween is an observance celebrated at the end of October by holding parties, dressing up and going 'trick-or-treating'.
All Saints' Day
Friday, November 1, 2019 Many Christians in the United Kingdom observe All Saints' Day, also known as All Hallows' Day, each year.
All Souls' Day
Saturday, November 2, 2019 All Souls’ Day is observed among some Christian communities in the United Kingdom on November 2 each year.
Guy Fawkes Day
Tuesday, November 5, 2019 Guy Fawkes' Night, or Bonfire Night, commemorates the prevention of a plot to blow up the Houses of Parliament in London in 1605.
Milad un Nabi (Mawlid)
Sunday, November 10, 2019 Milad un Nabi, also called Mawlid, marks the birthday of prophet Muhammad.
Remembrance Sunday
Sunday, November 10, 2019 The United Kingdom observes Remembrance Day to remember those who sacrificed their lives during wars and conflicts, including World War I.
St Andrew's Day
Saturday, November 30, 2019 St Andrew is the patron saint of Scotland and St Andrew's Day is a bank holiday in Scotland.
First Sunday of Advent
Sunday, December 1, 2019 The first Sunday in Advent is the start of the liturgical or church year for many Christians as well as the Christmas season for people in the United Kingdom (UK).
St Andrew's Day observed
Monday, December 2, 2019 St Andrew is the patron saint of Scotland and St Andrew's Day is a bank holiday in Scotland.
Feast of the Immaculate Conception
Sunday, December 8, 2019 The Feast of the Immaculate Conception celebrates the conception of Mary, mother of Jesus Christ, on December 8 each year.
December Solstice
Sunday, December 22, 2019 December Solstice in the United Kingdom (London)
First Day of Hanukkah
Monday, December 23, 2019 Jewish people around the world celebrate Hanukkah to commemorate an event traditionally termed the miracle of the cruse of oil.
Christmas Eve
Tuesday, December 24, 2019 Christmas Eve is the day before Christmas Day. It is not a public holiday in England, Scotland, Wales or Northern Ireland.
Christmas Day
Wednesday, December 25, 2019 Christmas Day is a holiday that traditionally celebrates Jesus Christ's birth. It is on December 25 in the United Kingdom.
Boxing Day
Thursday, December 26, 2019 Boxing Day is a holiday in the United Kingdom that falls on December 26 each year.
Last day of Hanukkah
Monday, December 30, 2019 The eighth and last day of Hanukkah marks the end of a period in which Jews commemorate the miracle of the cruse of oil.
New Year's Eve
Tuesday, December 31, 2019 New Year's Eve, or Hogmanay in Scotland, is the last day of the year in the Gregorian calendar.