United Kingdom has a total of 93 holidays in 2019. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downaloadble as a csv or json file. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Weekday Date Type
New Year's Day
New Year's Day marks the start of a new year in the Gregorian calendar, the official calendar used in the United Kingdom.
Tuesday January 1 National holiday
2nd January
January 2 is an annual bank holiday and the last day of the Hogmanay (New Year) celebrations in Scotland.
Wednesday January 2 Local holiday
Epiphany
Epiphany, or Twelfth Night, marks the visit of the three wise men, or Magi, to Jesus and Jesus' baptism, which was performed by John the Baptist. This event is observed in the United Kingdom on January 6 each year.
Sunday January 6 Christian
Orthodox Christmas Day
Orthodox Christians in the United Kingdom celebrate the Nativity of Christ (Jesus' birth) on the Orthodox Christmas Day.
Monday January 7 Orthodox
Orthodox New Year
Orthodox Christians in the United Kingdom mark the start of a new calendar year on either January 1 or 14 in the Gregorian calendar.
Monday January 14 Orthodox
Tu B'Shevat (Arbor Day)
Tu B’Shevat is known as the “New Year for Trees”, is one of the four Jewish New Years.
Monday January 21 Hebrew
Burns Night
Burns Night celebrates the life and work of Robert Burns and Scottish culture in general. It is on or around January 25 each year.
Friday January 25 Local observance
Chinese New Year
Chinese New Year in the United Kingdom (UK) marks the start of the New Year in the Chinese calendar.
Tuesday February 5 Observance
Valentine's Day
Valentine’s Day is celebrated in the UK as a day of love and falls on February 14 every year.
Thursday February 14 Observance
St. David's Day
People in Wales and Welsh communities around the world celebrate the life of their patron saint, St David, and the culture of their country on St David’s Day.
Friday March 1 Observance
Maha Shivaratri
Monday March 4 Hinduism
Carnival/Shrove Tuesday
Shrove Tuesday is also known as Pancake Tuesday in the United Kingdom.
Tuesday March 5 Christian
Carnival/Ash Wednesday
Ash Wednesday is a Christian observance in the United Kingdom. It is the first day of Lent.
Wednesday March 6 Christian
St Patrick's Day
St Patrick's Day remembers the life and deeds of St Patrick, one of Ireland's patron saints. It also celebrates Irish culture.
Sunday March 17 Local holiday
Day off for St Patrick's Day
St Patrick's Day remembers the life and deeds of St Patrick, one of Ireland's patron saints. It also celebrates Irish culture.
Monday March 18 Local holiday
March Equinox
Wednesday March 20 Season
Holi
Thursday March 21 Hinduism
Purim
Purim commemorates a time when Jewish people were saved from death around the fourth century BCE, according to the Book of Esther.
Thursday March 21 Hebrew
Daylight Saving Time starts
Sunday March 31 Clock change/Daylight Saving Time
Mothering Sunday
Mothering Sunday, or Mother's Day, is traditionally a day to visit your mother church. It is now an occasion to bring gifts to your own mother.
Sunday March 31 Observance
Isra and Mi'raj
Isra and Mi'raj marks the night when the Prophet Mohammad traveled from Mecca to Jerusalem, ascended to heaven, and returned.
Wednesday April 3 Muslim
Palm Sunday
Palm Sunday in the United Kingdom celebrates Jesus Christ’s entry into Jerusalem. It is also the Sunday before Easter Sunday.
Sunday April 14 Christian
Maundy Thursday
Many Christians in the United Kingdom celebrate Maundy Thursday on the Thursday before Good Friday.
Thursday April 18 Christian
Good Friday
Good Friday is just before Easter Sunday and is a public holiday in the United Kingdom.
Friday April 19 National holiday
Holy Saturday
Holy Saturday is the day before Easter Sunday in the United Kingdom.
Saturday April 20 Christian
First day of Passover
Passover marks the Israelites' liberation from slavery and their exodus from Egypt around 3000 years ago.
Saturday April 20 Hebrew
Easter Sunday
Easter Sunday commemorates Jesus Christ's resurrection. The Easter egg hunt is one of the most popular Easter traditions
Sunday April 21 Observance,Christian
Easter Monday
Easter Monday is the day after Easter Sunday. It is a bank holiday in England, Wales and Northern Ireland but not in Scotland.
Monday April 22 Observance
Stephen Lawrence Day
Stephen Lawrence Day is an annual observance in the UK commemorating the racially motivated murder of Stephen Lawrence.
Monday April 22 Observance
St. George's Day
St George's Day in England is a celebration of Saint George, a Christian martyr and soldier in the Roman army.
Tuesday April 23 Observance
Shakespeare Day
National Shakespeare Day, also known as Shakespeare Day, is annually held on April 23.
Tuesday April 23 Observance
Orthodox Good Friday
Many Orthodox Christians in the United Kingdom remember the events leading up to Jesus Christ's crucifixion on Great Friday, also known as Holy Friday.
Friday April 26 Orthodox
Last day of Passover
On the 8th and last day of Passover, Jews in the UK commemorate the Parting of the Red Sea and the Israelites' escape from Egypt.
Saturday April 27 Hebrew
Orthodox Holy Saturday
Many Orthodox Christians in the United Kingdom remember Jesus Christ’s burial and his descent into Hades on Holy Saturday.
Saturday April 27 Orthodox
Orthodox Easter
Many Orthodox Christians in the United Kingdom commemorate Jesus Christ’s resurrection on Easter Day, also known as Pascha.
Sunday April 28 Orthodox
Orthodox Easter Monday
Many Orthodox churches in the United Kingdom observe Easter Monday on the day after the Orthodox Easter Sunday date.
Monday April 29 Orthodox
Yom HaShoah
Yom Hashoah, held on the 27th day of the month of Nisan, remembers the Holocaust victims who died during World War II.
Thursday May 2 Hebrew
Ramadan Start
Muslims in the United Kingdom welcome Ramadan as a period of fasting, self-evaluation, and spiritual growth.
Monday May 6 Muslim
Early May Bank Holiday
May Day, or the Early May Bank holiday, is on the first Monday of May each year.
Monday May 6 National holiday
Yom HaAtzmaut
Celebrated on the fifth day of the Jewish month of Iyar, Yom Ha’Atzmaut is Israel’s Independence Day.
Thursday May 9 Hebrew
Lag B'Omer
Jewish people observe Lag BaOmer on the 18th day of the month of Iyar in the Jewish calendar.
Thursday May 23 Hebrew
Spring Bank Holiday
The spring bank holiday in the United Kingdom is on the last Monday of May each year.
Monday May 27 National holiday
Ascension Day
Ascension Day is the 40th day of Easter and commemorates Jesus Christ’s ascension into heaven, according to Christian belief.
Thursday May 30 Christian
Laylatul Qadr (Night of Power)
Laylatul Qadr, the Night of Power, is the holiest day of the Islamic calendar year.
Friday May 31 Muslim
Eid ul Fitr
Eid ul-Fitr is a Muslim celebration that marks the end of the month-long fast of Ramadan.
Tuesday June 4 Muslim
Queen's Birthday
The Queen's birthday, also known as the Queen's Official Birthday, is celebrated in many Commonwealth countries around the world. It is a public holiday in countries such as Australia, New Zealand, and Gibraltar, although on different dates.
Saturday June 8 Observance
Pentecost
Many Christians in the United Kingdom observe Pentecost, also known as Whitsunday or Whit Sunday.
Sunday June 9 Christian
Shavuot
Shavuot, also known as the Festival of Weeks, is one of three major Jewish festivals celebrated among Jewish people in the UK.
Sunday June 9 Hebrew
Whit Monday
Whit Monday is a Christian observance also known as Pentecost Monday. It is the day after Pentecost, or Whitsunday.
Monday June 10 Christian
Trinity Sunday
Trinity Sunday, which is the first Sunday after Pentecost, is a Christian feast that is observed in many churches in the United Kingdom.
Sunday June 16 Christian
Father's Day
Father's Day in the United Kingdom honors fathers and celebrates fatherhood.
Sunday June 16 Observance
Corpus Christi
Corpus Christi is a Christian observance that honors the Holy Eucharist.
Thursday June 20 Christian
June Solstice
Friday June 21 Season
Windrush Day
Windrush Day is an annual observance in the UK honoring the British Caribbean community.
Saturday June 22 Observance
Battle of the Boyne
Orangemen's Day is a bank holiday in Northern Ireland to commemorate the Battle of the Boyne.
Friday July 12 Local holiday
Summer Bank Holiday
The summer bank holiday is on the first Monday of August in Scotland and the last Monday of August in England, Wales and Northern Ireland.
Monday August 26 Common local holiday
Tisha B'Av
Tisha B’Av is a Jewish day of mourning, which falls on the ninth day of the month of Av in the Jewish calendar.
Sunday August 11 Hebrew
Eid ul Adha
Eid ul-Adha is an Islamic festival to remember Ibrahim's willingness to sacrifice his son to God.
Monday August 12 Muslim
Assumption of Mary
The feast of the Dormition or Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary is celebrated by some Christian denominations in the United Kingdom on August 15.
Thursday August 15 Christian
Raksha Bandhan
Thursday August 15 Hinduism
Janmashtami
Friday August 23 Hinduism
Muharram/Islamic New Year
The first day of Muharram, which is the first month in the Islamic calendar, marks the Islamic New Year.
Sunday September 1 Muslim
Ganesh Chaturthi
Monday September 2 Hinduism
Ashura
Ashura is a Muslim holiday that is notorious for a painful ritual—a tradition that only a minority of UK Muslims observes.
Tuesday September 10 Muslim
September Equinox
Monday September 23 Season
Navaratri
Sunday September 29 Hinduism
Rosh Hashana
Rosh Hashanah, also spelled Rosh Hashana, is commonly known as the Jewish New Year.
Monday September 30 Hebrew
Feast of St Francis of Assisi
Many churches in the United Kingdom celebrate the Feast of St Francis of Assisi to honor St Francis, the patron saint of animals and the environment, on October 4 each year.
Friday October 4 Christian
Dussehra
Monday October 7 Hinduism
Yom Kippur
Yom Kippur is arguably the holiest of the Jewish holidays. It is celebrated in October or November.
Wednesday October 9 Hebrew
First day of Sukkot
Sukkot is a Jewish holiday lasting 7 days. It begins on the 15th of Tishrei, which falls into September or October.
Monday October 14 Hebrew
Hoshana Rabbah
Jewish people in the UK celebrate Hoshana Rabbah, also spelled Hoshana Raba, on the last day of the Sukkot festival.
Sunday October 20 Hebrew
Shemini Atzeret
Shemini Atzeret, also spelled Shmini Atzeret, is a joyous Jewish holiday that immediately follows the Sukkot festival.
Monday October 21 Hebrew
Simchat Torah
Simchat Torah (Simchas Torah or Simhat Torah) is a Jewish holiday that celebrates the completion of the annual reading of the Torah.
Tuesday October 22 Hebrew
Daylight Saving Time ends
Sunday October 27 Clock change/Daylight Saving Time
Diwali/Deepavali
Diwali, also known as the Festival of Lights, marks the beginning of the Hindu New Year.
Sunday October 27 Observance
Halloween
Halloween is an observance celebrated at the end of October by holding parties, dressing up and going 'trick-or-treating'.
Thursday October 31 Observance
All Saints' Day
Many Christians in the United Kingdom observe All Saints' Day, also known as All Hallows' Day, each year.
Friday November 1 Christian
All Souls' Day
All Souls’ Day is observed among some Christian communities in the United Kingdom on November 2 each year.
Saturday November 2 Christian
Guy Fawkes Day
Guy Fawkes' Night, or Bonfire Night, commemorates the prevention of a plot to blow up the Houses of Parliament in London in 1605.
Tuesday November 5 Observance
Milad un Nabi (Mawlid)
Milad un Nabi, also called Mawlid, marks the birthday of prophet Muhammad.
Sunday November 10 Muslim
Remembrance Sunday
The United Kingdom observes Remembrance Day to remember those who sacrificed their lives during wars and conflicts, including World War I.
Sunday November 10 Observance
St Andrew's Day
St Andrew is the patron saint of Scotland and St Andrew's Day is a bank holiday in Scotland.
Saturday November 30 Local holiday
First Sunday of Advent
The first Sunday in Advent is the start of the liturgical or church year for many Christians as well as the Christmas season for people in the United Kingdom (UK).
Sunday December 1 Observance
St Andrew's Day observed
St Andrew is the patron saint of Scotland and St Andrew's Day is a bank holiday in Scotland.
Monday December 2 Local holiday
Feast of the Immaculate Conception
The Feast of the Immaculate Conception celebrates the conception of Mary, mother of Jesus Christ, on December 8 each year.
Sunday December 8 Christian
December Solstice
Sunday December 22 Season
First Day of Hanukkah
Jewish people around the world celebrate Hanukkah to commemorate an event traditionally termed the miracle of the cruse of oil.
Monday December 23 Hebrew
Christmas Eve
Christmas Eve is the day before Christmas Day. It is not a public holiday in England, Scotland, Wales or Northern Ireland.
Tuesday December 24 Observance
Christmas Day
Christmas Day is a holiday that traditionally celebrates Jesus Christ's birth. It is on December 25 in the United Kingdom.
Wednesday December 25 National holiday
Boxing Day
Boxing Day is a holiday in the United Kingdom that falls on December 26 each year.
Thursday December 26 National holiday
Last day of Hanukkah
The eighth and last day of Hanukkah marks the end of a period in which Jews commemorate the miracle of the cruse of oil.
Monday December 30 Hebrew
New Year's Eve
New Year's Eve, or Hogmanay in Scotland, is the last day of the year in the Gregorian calendar.
Tuesday December 31 Observance