Portugal has a total of 42 holidays in 2021. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year's Day
Friday, January 1, 2021 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Valentine's Day
Sunday, February 14, 2021 Valentine’s Day is a special time to celebrate love, romance and friendship.
Carnival / Shrove Tuesday
Tuesday, February 16, 2021 Shrove Tuesday is a religious holiday that is on the day before Ash Wednesday. It is also known as the Tuesday of Carnival, which is a festive occasion among many cultures.
St. Joseph's Day
Friday, March 19, 2021 St. Joseph's Day is a municipal holiday in Portugal
Father's Day
Friday, March 19, 2021 Father’s Day celebrates fatherhood and male parenting on different dates worldwide.
March Equinox
Saturday, March 20, 2021 March Equinox in Portugal (Lisbon)
Daylight Saving Time starts
Sunday, March 28, 2021 Daylight Saving Time starts in Portugal
Good Friday
Friday, April 2, 2021 Good Friday is a global Christian observance two days before Easter Sunday.
Easter Sunday
Sunday, April 4, 2021 Easter Sunday commemorates Jesus Christ’s resurrection, according to Christian belief.
Our Lady of Mércoles
Tuesday, April 20, 2021 Our Lady of Mércoles is a municipal holiday in Portugal
Liberty Day
Sunday, April 25, 2021 Liberty Day is a national holiday in Portugal
Labor Day / May Day
Saturday, May 1, 2021 Labor Day, or May Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Mother's Day
Sunday, May 2, 2021 Mother’s Day celebrates the achievements and efforts of mothers and mother figures.
St. Joana's Day
Wednesday, May 12, 2021 St. Joana's Day is a municipal holiday in Portugal
Ascension Day
Thursday, May 13, 2021 Ascension Day is a municipal holiday in Portugal
Leiria Day
Saturday, May 22, 2021 Leiria Day is a municipal holiday in Portugal
Portalegre Day
Sunday, May 23, 2021 Portalegre Day is a municipal holiday in Portugal
Azores Day
Monday, May 24, 2021 Azores Day is a regional holiday in Portugal
Corpus Christi
Thursday, June 3, 2021 Corpus Christi is a Christian feast in honor of the Holy Eucharist.
Portugal Day
Thursday, June 10, 2021 Portugal Day is a national holiday in Portugal
St. Anthony's Day
Sunday, June 13, 2021 St. Anthony's Day is a municipal holiday in Portugal
June Solstice
Monday, June 21, 2021 June Solstice in Portugal (Lisbon)
St. John's Day
Thursday, June 24, 2021 St. John's Day is a municipal holiday in Portugal
St. Peter's Day
Tuesday, June 29, 2021 St. Peter's Day is a municipal holiday in Portugal
St. Elizabeth's Day
Sunday, July 4, 2021 St. Elizabeth's Day is a municipal holiday in Portugal
Assumption of Mary
Sunday, August 15, 2021 The Christian feast of the Assumption of Mary is on or around Aug 15 in most countries. A few celebrate Assumption Day at other times of the year.
Our Lady of Sorrows
Friday, August 20, 2021 Our Lady of Sorrows is a municipal holiday in Portugal
Our Lady of Graces
Sunday, August 22, 2021 Our Lady of Graces is a municipal holiday in Portugal
Faro Day
Tuesday, September 7, 2021 Faro Day is a municipal holiday in Portugal
Birth of Bocage
Wednesday, September 15, 2021 Birth of Bocage is a municipal holiday in Portugal
St. Matthew's Day
Tuesday, September 21, 2021 St. Matthew's Day is a municipal holiday in Portugal
September Equinox
Wednesday, September 22, 2021 September Equinox in Portugal (Lisbon)
Republic Implantation
Tuesday, October 5, 2021 Republic Implantation is a national holiday in Portugal
Daylight Saving Time ends
Sunday, October 31, 2021 Daylight Saving Time ends in Portugal
All Saints' Day
Monday, November 1, 2021 Many churches honor all their saints on All Saints' Day, also known as All Hallows' Day.
Foral of Sancho I
Saturday, November 27, 2021 Foral of Sancho I is a municipal holiday in Portugal
Restoration of Independence
Wednesday, December 1, 2021 Restoration of Independence is a national holiday in Portugal
Feast of the Immaculate Conception
Wednesday, December 8, 2021 The Feast of the Immaculate Conception is a Christian observance on December 8 each year.
December Solstice
Tuesday, December 21, 2021 December Solstice in Portugal (Lisbon)
Christmas Eve
Friday, December 24, 2021 Christmas Eve is the day before Christmas Day and falls on December 24 in the Gregorian calendar.
Christmas Day
Saturday, December 25, 2021 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
New Year's Eve
Friday, December 31, 2021 New Year’s Eve is the last day of the year, December 31, in the Gregorian calendar.