Portugal has a total of 41 holidays in 2020. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year's Day
Wednesday, January 1, 2020 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Valentine's Day
Friday, February 14, 2020 Valentine’s Day is a special time to celebrate love, romance and friendship.
Carnival / Shrove Tuesday
Tuesday, February 25, 2020 Shrove Tuesday is a religious holiday that is on the day before Ash Wednesday. It is also known as the Tuesday of Carnival, which is a festive occasion among many cultures.
St. Joseph's Day
Thursday, March 19, 2020 St. Joseph's Day is a municipal holiday in Portugal
Father's Day
Thursday, March 19, 2020 Father’s Day celebrates fatherhood and male parenting on different dates worldwide.
March Equinox
Friday, March 20, 2020 March Equinox in Portugal (Lisbon)
Daylight Saving Time starts
Sunday, March 29, 2020 Daylight Saving Time starts in Portugal
Good Friday
Friday, April 10, 2020 Good Friday is a global Christian observance two days before Easter Sunday.
Easter Sunday
Sunday, April 12, 2020 Easter Sunday commemorates Jesus Christ’s resurrection, according to Christian belief.
Liberty Day
Saturday, April 25, 2020 Liberty Day is a national holiday in Portugal
Our Lady of Mércoles
Tuesday, April 28, 2020 Our Lady of Mércoles is a municipal holiday in Portugal
Labor Day / May Day
Friday, May 1, 2020 May Day, or Labor Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Mother's Day
Sunday, May 3, 2020 Mother’s Day celebrates the achievements and efforts of mothers and mother figures.
St. Joana's Day
Tuesday, May 12, 2020 St. Joana's Day is a municipal holiday in Portugal
Ascension Day
Thursday, May 21, 2020 Ascension Day is a municipal holiday in Portugal
Leiria Day
Friday, May 22, 2020 Leiria Day is a municipal holiday in Portugal
Portalegre Day
Saturday, May 23, 2020 Portalegre Day is a municipal holiday in Portugal
Portugal Day
Wednesday, June 10, 2020 Portugal Day is a national holiday in Portugal
Corpus Christi
Thursday, June 11, 2020 Corpus Christi is a Christian feast in honor of the Holy Eucharist.
St. Anthony's Day
Saturday, June 13, 2020 St. Anthony's Day is a municipal holiday in Portugal
June Solstice
Saturday, June 20, 2020 June Solstice in Portugal (Lisbon)
St. John's Day
Wednesday, June 24, 2020 St. John's Day is a municipal holiday in Portugal
St. Peter's Day
Monday, June 29, 2020 St. Peter's Day is a municipal holiday in Portugal
St. Elizabeth's Day
Saturday, July 4, 2020 St. Elizabeth's Day is a municipal holiday in Portugal
Assumption of Mary
Saturday, August 15, 2020 The Christian feast of the Assumption of Mary is on or around Aug 15 in most countries. A few celebrate Assumption Day at other times of the year.
Our Lady of Sorrows
Thursday, August 20, 2020 Our Lady of Sorrows is a municipal holiday in Portugal
Our Lady of Graces
Saturday, August 22, 2020 Our Lady of Graces is a municipal holiday in Portugal
Faro Day
Monday, September 7, 2020 Faro Day is a municipal holiday in Portugal
Birth of Bocage
Tuesday, September 15, 2020 Birth of Bocage is a municipal holiday in Portugal
St. Matthew's Day
Monday, September 21, 2020 St. Matthew's Day is a municipal holiday in Portugal
September Equinox
Tuesday, September 22, 2020 September Equinox in Portugal (Lisbon)
Republic Implantation
Monday, October 5, 2020 Republic Implantation is a national holiday in Portugal
Daylight Saving Time ends
Sunday, October 25, 2020 Daylight Saving Time ends in Portugal
All Saints' Day
Sunday, November 1, 2020 Many churches honor all their saints on All Saints' Day, also known as All Hallows' Day.
Foral of Sancho I
Friday, November 27, 2020 Foral of Sancho I is a municipal holiday in Portugal
Restoration of Independence
Tuesday, December 1, 2020 Restoration of Independence is a national holiday in Portugal
Feast of the Immaculate Conception
Tuesday, December 8, 2020 The Feast of the Immaculate Conception is a Christian observance on December 8 each year.
December Solstice
Monday, December 21, 2020 December Solstice in Portugal (Lisbon)
Christmas Eve
Thursday, December 24, 2020 Christmas Eve is the day before Christmas Day and falls on December 24 in the Gregorian calendar.
Christmas Day
Friday, December 25, 2020 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
New Year's Eve
Thursday, December 31, 2020 New Year’s Eve is the last day of the year, December 31, in the Gregorian calendar.