India has a total of 67 holidays in 2020. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downaloadble as a csv or json file. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date
New Year's Day
New Year’s Day is celebrated many countries such as in India on the January 1 in the Gregorian calendar.
Wednesday, January 1, 2020
Guru Govind Singh Jayanti
Guru Gobind Singh Jayanti is the Sikh annual celebration that occurs in countries such as India around December or January in the Gregorian calendar.
Thursday, January 2, 2020
Lohri
Tuesday, January 14, 2020
Pongal
Many southern states in India, particularly Tamil Nadu, celebrate Pongal as a thanksgiving for the good harvest season in mid-January every year.
Wednesday, January 15, 2020
Makar Sankranti
Wednesday, January 15, 2020
Chinese New Year
Chinese New year is an annual global celebration in many countries including India.
Saturday, January 25, 2020
Republic Day
India's Republic Day marks the anniversary of the adoption of the Indian constitution. It is an annual gazetted holiday in India on January 26.
Sunday, January 26, 2020
Vasant Panchami
Vasant Panchami, or India’s spring festival, is a Hindu event that includes special rituals and highlights the start of spring.
Wednesday, January 29, 2020
Guru Ravidas Jayanti
Sunday, February 9, 2020
Valentine's Day
Valentine’s Day is celebrated in many places worldwide, including in India, on February 14 each year.
Friday, February 14, 2020
Maharishi Dayanand Saraswati Jayanti
Tuesday, February 18, 2020
Shivaji Jayanti
Wednesday, February 19, 2020
Maha Shivaratri/Shivaratri
Maha Shivaratri is an annual Hindu festival that is dedicated to Lord Shiva on the 13th or 14th day of the Hindu month of Maagha or Phalguna.
Friday, February 21, 2020
Holika Dahana
Monday, March 9, 2020
Hazarat Ali's Birthday
Monday, March 9, 2020
Holi
Holi is a spring festival of colors celebrated by Hindus, Sikhs and others. It celebrates the triumph of good over evil and the upcoming season of spring. The festival can last up to sixteen days.
Tuesday, March 10, 2020
March Equinox
Friday, March 20, 2020
Chaitra Sukhladi
Wednesday, March 25, 2020
Rama Navami
Rama Navami is a Hindu festival that celebrates the birth of Rama, the first son of King Dasaratha of Ayodhya.
Thursday, April 2, 2020
Mahavir Jayanti
Monday, April 6, 2020
First day of Passover
During Passover, the Jewish people remember the liberation of the Israelites from slavery, their exodus from Egypt, and that their first-born children were spared during the 10th plague, as told in the Haggadah.
Thursday, April 9, 2020
Maundy Thursday
Maundy Thursday is a Christian observance on the Thursday during Holy Week. It is the day before Good Friday.
Thursday, April 9, 2020
Good Friday
Many Christians commemorate Jesus Christ’s crucifixion and death on Good Friday. It is a gazetted holiday in India.
Friday, April 10, 2020
Easter Day
Easter Sunday commemorates Jesus Christ’s resurrection, according to Christian belief.
Sunday, April 12, 2020
Vaisakhi
Vaisakhi, also known as Baisakhi, is a harvest celebration on either April 13 or April 14 in the Gregorian calendar. It is one of India’s most notable celebrations.
Monday, April 13, 2020
Mesadi/Vaisakhadi
Tuesday, April 14, 2020
Ambedkar Jayanti
Tuesday, April 14, 2020
May Day
May Day, or Labor Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Friday, May 1, 2020
Buddha Purnima/Vesak
Vesak, also known as Buddha Purnima, celebrates of Gautama Buddha's birth, enlightenment and death.
Thursday, May 7, 2020
Birthday of Ravindranath
Thursday, May 7, 2020
Mother's Day
Mother’s Day celebrates the achievements and efforts of mothers and mother figures.
Sunday, May 10, 2020
Jamat Ul-Vida
Friday, May 22, 2020
Ramzan Id/Eid-ul-Fitar
One day of Eid-ul-Fitar, which marks the end of Ramadan, is a gazetted holiday in India.
Monday, May 25, 2020
June Solstice
Saturday, June 20, 2020
Father's Day
Father’s Day celebrates fatherhood and male parenting on different dates worldwide.
Sunday, June 21, 2020
Rath Yatra
Tuesday, June 23, 2020
Bakr Id/Eid ul-Adha
Many Muslims in India celebrate Eid al-Adha (Id-ul-Zuha or Bakr-Id), which is on the 10th to 13th days of the Islamic month of Dhul Hijja.
Friday, July 31, 2020
Friendship Day
Sunday, August 2, 2020
Raksha Bandhan (Rakhi)
Raksha Bandhan is a Hindu festival that is celebrated on the full moon of the Hindu month of Shravana (Shravan Poornima). The day is also sometimes referred to as Brother and Sister Day because it honors the relationship between brother and sister.
Monday, August 3, 2020
Janmashtami
Krishna Janmashtami is a Hindu festival that celebrates the birth of Krishna, the eighth incarnation of the god Vishnu. It is celebrated on the eighth day of the Hindu month of Bhadrava (Bhadrapada), which is usually in August or September.
Wednesday, August 12, 2020
Independence Day
India's Independence Day is an annual gazetted holiday on August 15 to commemorate the day India became an independent nation.
Saturday, August 15, 2020
Parsi New Year
Saturday, August 15, 2020
Ganesh Chaturthi/Vinayaka Chaturthi
Ganesh Chaturthi is the great Ganesha festival that celebrates the birthday of Lord Ganesha during the Hindu Month of Bhadra, which usually falls between mid-August and mid-September. It is also known as Vinayaka Chaturthi and can last up to 10 days.
Saturday, August 22, 2020
Muharram/Ashura
Muharram, or the Islamic New Year, is a public holiday in India.
Saturday, August 29, 2020
September Equinox
Tuesday, September 22, 2020
Mahatma Gandhi Jayanti
Mahatma Gandhi's birthday is an annual gazetted holiday in India on October 2.
Friday, October 2, 2020
Maha Saptami
Thursday, October 22, 2020
Maha Ashtami
Friday, October 23, 2020
Maha Navami
Saturday, October 24, 2020
Dussehra
Dussehra, also known as Vijaya Dashami, is an Indian festival that celebrates good forces over evil forces. It spans for 10 days and is celebrated in varied traditions across India.
Sunday, October 25, 2020
Milad un-Nabi/Id-e-Milad
Milad un-Nabi is a gazetted holiday in India and marks the Prophet Muhammad's birthday.
Thursday, October 29, 2020
Halloween
Halloween is a festive occasion that is celebrated in many countries on October 31 each year.
Saturday, October 31, 2020
Maharishi Valmiki Jayanti
Saturday, October 31, 2020
Karaka Chaturthi (Karva Chauth)
Karwa Chauth is an annual one-day festival that honors the Hindu god Shiva and goddess Parvati. It is celebrated by all married Hindu women on the fourth day after the full moon in the Hindu month of Kartik, which is usually in October.
Wednesday, November 4, 2020
Naraka Chaturdasi
Saturday, November 14, 2020
Diwali/Deepavali
Diwali is a festival of physical and spiritual light celebrated in October or November each year.
Saturday, November 14, 2020
Govardhan Puja
Sunday, November 15, 2020
Bhai Duj
Bhai Duj is a Hindu festival that celebrates the relationship between a brother and a sister on the second day after the new moon in the Hindu month of Kartika.
Monday, November 16, 2020
Chhat Puja (Pratihar Sashthi/Surya Sashthi)
Friday, November 20, 2020
Guru Tegh Bahadur's Martyrdom Day
Tuesday, November 24, 2020
Guru Nanak Jayanti
Monday, November 30, 2020
First Day of Hanukkah
Hanukkah, also known as Chanukah or the Festival of Lights, is celebrated for 8 days between the 25th day of the month of Kislev to the second day of Tevet in the Hebrew calendar.
Friday, December 11, 2020
Last day of Hanukkah
Hanukkah, also known as Chanukah or the Festival of Lights, is celebrated for eight days between the 25th day of the month of Kislev to the second day of Tevet in the Hebrew calendar.
Friday, December 18, 2020
December Solstice
Monday, December 21, 2020
Christmas Eve
Christmas Eve is the day before Christmas Day and falls on December 24 in the Gregorian calendar.
Thursday, December 24, 2020
Christmas
Many Christians celebrate Christmas Day, which is a gazetted holiday in India, on December 25 each year.
Friday, December 25, 2020
New Year's Eve
New Year’s Eve is the last day of the year, December 31, in the Gregorian calendar.
Thursday, December 31, 2020