Portugal has a total of 22 holidays in 2019. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downaloadble as a csv or json file. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Weekday Date
New Year's Day
New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Tuesday January 1
Carnival / Shrove Tuesday
Shrove Tuesday is a religious holiday that is on the day before Ash Wednesday. It is also known as the Tuesday of Carnival, which is a festive occasion among many cultures.
Tuesday March 5
March Equinox
Wednesday March 20
Daylight Saving Time starts
Sunday March 31
Good Friday
Good Friday is a global Christian observance two days before Easter Sunday.
Friday April 19
Easter Sunday
Easter Sunday commemorates Jesus Christ’s resurrection, according to Christian belief.
Sunday April 21
Liberty Day
Thursday April 25
Labor Day / May Day
May Day, or Labor Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Wednesday May 1
Portugal Day
Monday June 10
Corpus Christi
Corpus Christi is a Christian feast in honor of the Holy Eucharist.
Thursday June 20
June Solstice
Friday June 21
Assumption of Mary
The Christian feast of the Assumption of Mary is on or around Aug 15 in most countries. A few celebrate Assumption Day at other times of the year.
Thursday August 15
September Equinox
Monday September 23
Republic Implantation
Saturday October 5
Daylight Saving Time ends
Sunday October 27
All Saints' Day
Many churches honor all their saints on All Saints' Day, also known as All Hallows' Day.
Friday November 1
Restoration of Independence
Sunday December 1
Feast of the Immaculate Conception
The Feast of the Immaculate Conception is a Christian observance on December 8 each year.
Sunday December 8
December Solstice
Sunday December 22
Christmas Eve
Christmas Eve is the day before Christmas Day and falls on December 24 in the Gregorian calendar.
Tuesday December 24
Christmas Day
Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
Wednesday December 25
New Year's Eve
New Year’s Eve is the last day of the year, December 31, in the Gregorian calendar.
Tuesday December 31