Romania has a total of 35 holidays in 2022. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year's Day
Saturday, January 1, 2022 New Year’s Day (Anul Nou) and the following day, on January 1 and 2 respectively, are annual holidays in Romania.
Day after New Year's Day
Sunday, January 2, 2022 Both New Year’s Day (Anul Nou) and the following day, on January 1 and 2 respectively, are annual holidays in Romania.
Unification Day
Monday, January 24, 2022 Unification Day celebrates the political union between Wallachia and Moldavia, which is deemed as the foundation of modern Romania.
Constantin Brancusi Day
Saturday, February 19, 2022 Constantin Brancusi Day is a observance in Romania
Dragobete
Thursday, February 24, 2022 Dragobete is a folk holiday in Romania with ancient origins that centers on love and the return of spring.
Mărțișor
Tuesday, March 1, 2022 Mărțișor in Romania celebrates the start of spring. The name stems from the word March, which is “martie” in Romanian.
International Women's Day
Tuesday, March 8, 2022 Many people in Romania celebrate Women’s Day on March 8.
March Equinox
Sunday, March 20, 2022 March Equinox in Romania (Bucharest)
Orthodox Good Friday
Friday, April 22, 2022 Millions of Orthodox Christians around the world annually observe Good Friday to commemorate the events leading up to Jesus Christ's crucifixion.
Orthodox Easter Day
Sunday, April 24, 2022 Easter (Paștele) is both a religious and a national holiday in Romania. The Easter date is based on the Orthodox Christian Church’s calendar.
Orthodox Easter Monday
Monday, April 25, 2022 The Day after Easter (Paștele) is both a religious and a national holiday in Romania. The Easter date is based on the Orthodox Christian Church’s calendar.
Labor Day / May Day
Sunday, May 1, 2022 Labor Day (Ziua muncii) is a national public holiday in Romania on May 1 each year.
Mother's Day
Sunday, May 1, 2022 Many Romanians celebrate Mother’s Day (Ziua Mamei) on the first Sunday of May.
Father's Day
Sunday, May 8, 2022 Many Romanians celebrate Father’s Day (Ziua Tatălui) on the second Sunday of May.
Monarchy Day
Tuesday, May 10, 2022 Monarchy Day is a observance in Romania
National Independence Day
Tuesday, May 10, 2022 National Independence Day is a observance in Romania
Children's Day
Wednesday, June 1, 2022 Children’s Day (Ziua Copilului) is annually celebrated on June 1 in Romania.
Orthodox Ascension Day
Thursday, June 2, 2022 Ascension Day (Înălțarea) is an annual observance in Romania to commemorate the Christian belief of Jesus Christ’s ascension into heaven.
Orthodox Pentecost
Sunday, June 12, 2022 Many Christians in Romania celebrate the Pentecost (Rusalii or Rusaliile) public holiday, also known as Whitsunday or Whit Sunday.
Orthodox Pentecost Monday
Monday, June 13, 2022 Many Christians celebrate the Whit Monday (Rusalii or Rusaliile) public holiday in Romania.
June Solstice
Tuesday, June 21, 2022 June Solstice in Romania (Bucharest)
Flag Day
Sunday, June 26, 2022 Romania’s Flag Day (Ziua Tricolorului) is an annual observance on June 26.
National Anthem Day
Friday, July 29, 2022 Romania’s Anthem Day (Ziua Imnului Național) is an annual observance on July 29.
St Mary's Day
Monday, August 15, 2022 The feast day of the Assumption of Mary is a national holiday in Romania on August 15 every year.
September Equinox
Friday, September 23, 2022 September Equinox in Romania (Bucharest)
Halloween
Monday, October 31, 2022 Some places in Romania, including in parts of Transylvania, have special Halloween events inspired by the Dracula theme on October 31.
St Andrew's Day
Wednesday, November 30, 2022 St Andrew’s Day (Ziua Sfântului Andrei) is a national holiday in Romania on November 30 every year.
National Day
Thursday, December 1, 2022 National Day in Romania, also called Unification Day, is an annual public holiday to remember when the country’s provinces became united on December 1, 1918.
Public Sector Holiday
Friday, December 2, 2022 Public Sector Holiday is a public holiday in Romania
Constitution Day
Thursday, December 8, 2022 Romania’s Constitution Day is observed on December 8 every year.
December Solstice
Wednesday, December 21, 2022 December Solstice in Romania (Bucharest)
Christmas Eve
Saturday, December 24, 2022 Christmas Eve, or the day before Christmas Day, falls on December 24 every year in Romania.
Christmas Day
Sunday, December 25, 2022 Christmas Day is a Christian holiday to celebrate Jesus Christ’s birth in Romania and falls on December 25 every year.
Second day of Christmas
Monday, December 26, 2022 The second day of Christmas falls on December 26 and is part of a two-day Christian holiday in Romania to celebrate Jesus Christ’s birth.
New Year's Eve
Saturday, December 31, 2022 Many Romanians celebrate New Year’s Eve (Revelion) on December 31, the last day of the year in the Gregorian calendar.