Slovenia has a total of 23 holidays in 2018. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downaloadble as a csv or json file. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Weekday Date Type
New Year's Day
New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Monday January 1 National holiday
New Year holiday
Tuesday January 2 National holiday
Prešeren Day
Thursday February 8 National holiday
March Equinox
Tuesday March 20 Season
Easter Day
Easter Sunday commemorates Jesus Christ’s resurrection, according to Christian belief.
Sunday April 1 National holiday
Easter Monday
Easter Monday is the day after Easter Sunday.
Monday April 2 National holiday
Day of Uprising Against Occupation
Friday April 27 National holiday
Labor Day / May Day
May Day, or Labor Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Tuesday May 1 National holiday
Labour Day holiday
Wednesday May 2 National holiday
Whit Sunday
Many Christians all over the world annually observe Pentecost, also known as Whitsunday or Whit Sunday.
Sunday May 20 National holiday
June Solstice
Thursday June 21 Season
Statehood Day
Monday June 25 National holiday
Assumption of Mary
The feast day of the Assumption of Mary, also known as Assumption Day, is the principal feast day of the Virgin Mother Mary, according to Christian tradition. It is celebrated annually on or around August 15 although some countries celebrate the day at other times of the year.
Wednesday August 15 National holiday
Slovenians in Prekmurje Incorporated into the Mother Nation Day
Friday August 17 Observance
Restoration of Primorska to the Motherland Day
Saturday September 15 Observance
September Equinox
Sunday September 23 Season
Sovereignty Day
Thursday October 25 Observance
Reformation Day
Wednesday October 31 National holiday
Remembrance Day
Many churches honor all their saints on All Saints' Day, also known as All Hallows' Day.
Thursday November 1 National holiday
Rudolf Maister Day
Friday November 23 Observance
December Solstice
Friday December 21 Season
Christmas Day
Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
Tuesday December 25 National holiday
Independence and Unity Day
Wednesday December 26 National holiday