Sri Lanka has a total of 39 holidays in 2021. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
Tamil Thai Pongal Day
Thursday, January 14, 2021 Tamil Thai Pongal Day is a public holiday in Sri Lanka
Duruthu Full Moon Poya Day
Thursday, January 28, 2021 Duruthu Full Moon Poya Day is a public holiday in Sri Lanka
National Day
Thursday, February 4, 2021 National Day is a public holiday in Sri Lanka
Valentine's Day
Sunday, February 14, 2021 Valentine’s Day is a special time to celebrate love, romance and friendship.
Navam Full Moon Poya Day
Friday, February 26, 2021 Navam Full Moon Poya Day is a public holiday in Sri Lanka
Mahasivarathri Day
Thursday, March 11, 2021 Mahasivarathri Day is a public holiday in Sri Lanka
March Equinox
Saturday, March 20, 2021 March Equinox in Sri Lanka (Colombo)
Madin Full Moon Poya Day
Sunday, March 28, 2021 Madin Full Moon Poya Day is a public holiday in Sri Lanka
Holi
Monday, March 29, 2021 Holi is a spring festival of colors celebrated by Hindus, Sikhs and others. It celebrates the triumph of good over evil and the upcoming season of spring. The festival can last up to sixteen days.
Good Friday
Friday, April 2, 2021 Good Friday is a global Christian observance two days before Easter Sunday.
Easter Sunday
Sunday, April 4, 2021 Easter Sunday commemorates Jesus Christ’s resurrection, according to Christian belief.
Sinhala and Tamil New Year's Eve
Tuesday, April 13, 2021 Sinhala and Tamil New Year's Eve is a public holiday in Sri Lanka
Sinhala and Tamil New Year's Day
Wednesday, April 14, 2021 Sinhala and Tamil New Year's Day is a public holiday in Sri Lanka
Bak Full Moon Poya Day
Monday, April 26, 2021 Bak Full Moon Poya Day is a public holiday in Sri Lanka
May Day
Saturday, May 1, 2021 Labor Day, or May Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Mother's Day
Sunday, May 9, 2021 Mother’s Day celebrates the achievements and efforts of mothers and mother figures.
Eid al-Fitr
Thursday, May 13, 2021 Eid-al-Fitr is a holiday to mark the end of the Islamic month of Ramadan, during which Muslims fast during the hours of daylight.
Vesak Full Moon Poya Day
Wednesday, May 26, 2021 Vesak Full Moon Poya Day is a public holiday in Sri Lanka
Day after Vesak Full Moon Poya Day
Thursday, May 27, 2021 Day after Vesak Full Moon Poya Day is a public holiday in Sri Lanka
Father's Day
Sunday, June 20, 2021 Father’s Day celebrates fatherhood and male parenting on different dates worldwide.
June Solstice
Monday, June 21, 2021 June Solstice in Sri Lanka (Colombo)
Poson Full Moon Poya Day
Thursday, June 24, 2021 Poson Full Moon Poya Day is a public holiday in Sri Lanka
Eid al-Adha
Tuesday, July 20, 2021 Eid al-Adha (Id ul-Adha) is an Islamic festival falling on the 10th day of the month of Dhul Hijja (Thou al-Hijja) to commemorate the willingness of Ibrahim (Abraham) to sacrifice his son.
Esala Full Moon Poya Day
Friday, July 23, 2021 Esala Full Moon Poya Day is a public holiday in Sri Lanka
Raksha Bandhan
Sunday, August 22, 2021 Raksha Bandhan is a Hindu holiday in Sri Lanka
Nikini Full Moon Poya Day
Sunday, August 22, 2021 Nikini Full Moon Poya Day is a public holiday in Sri Lanka
Janmashtami
Monday, August 30, 2021 Krishna Janmashtami is a Hindu festival that celebrates the birth of Krishna, the eighth incarnation of the god Vishnu. It is celebrated on the eighth day of the Hindu month of Bhadrava (Bhadrapada), which is usually in August or September.
Ganesh Chaturthi
Friday, September 10, 2021 Ganesh Chaturthi is a Hindu holiday in Sri Lanka
Binara Full Moon Poya Day
Monday, September 20, 2021 Binara Full Moon Poya Day is a public holiday in Sri Lanka
September Equinox
Wednesday, September 22, 2021 September Equinox in Sri Lanka (Colombo)
Dussehra
Friday, October 15, 2021 Dussehra is a Hindu holiday in Sri Lanka
Milad-Un-Nabi (Holy Prophet's Birthday)
Tuesday, October 19, 2021 Mawlid, or Milad, marks the birth of the Islamic prophet Muhammed, or Mohamed, in the year 570 of the Gregorian calendar.
Vap Full Moon Poya Day
Wednesday, October 20, 2021 Vap Full Moon Poya Day is a public holiday in Sri Lanka
Deepavali
Thursday, November 4, 2021 Diwali, also known as the Festival of Lights, is one of the most popular Hindu festivals.
Il Full Moon Poya Day
Thursday, November 18, 2021 Il Full Moon Poya Day is a public holiday in Sri Lanka
Unduvap Full Moon Poya Day
Saturday, December 18, 2021 Unduvap Full Moon Poya Day is a public holiday in Sri Lanka
December Solstice
Tuesday, December 21, 2021 December Solstice in Sri Lanka (Colombo)
Christmas Eve
Friday, December 24, 2021 Christmas Eve is the day before Christmas Day and falls on December 24 in the Gregorian calendar.
Christmas Day
Saturday, December 25, 2021 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.