Sri Lanka has a total of 42 holidays in 2019. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
Tamil Thai Pongal Day
Tuesday, January 15, 2019 Tamil Thai Pongal Day is a public holiday in Sri Lanka
Duruthu Full Moon Poya Day
Sunday, January 20, 2019 Duruthu Full Moon Poya Day is a public holiday in Sri Lanka
National Day
Monday, February 4, 2019 National Day is a public holiday in Sri Lanka
Valentine's Day
Thursday, February 14, 2019 Valentine’s Day is a special time to celebrate love, romance and friendship.
Navam Full Moon Poya Day
Tuesday, February 19, 2019 Navam Full Moon Poya Day is a public holiday in Sri Lanka
Mahasivarathri Day
Monday, March 4, 2019 Mahasivarathri Day is a public holiday in Sri Lanka
March Equinox
Wednesday, March 20, 2019 March Equinox in Sri Lanka (Colombo)
Madin Full Moon Poya Day
Wednesday, March 20, 2019 Madin Full Moon Poya Day is a public holiday in Sri Lanka
Holi
Thursday, March 21, 2019 Holi is a spring festival of colors celebrated by Hindus, Sikhs and others. It celebrates the triumph of good over evil and the upcoming season of spring. The festival can last up to sixteen days.
Sinhala and Tamil New Year's Eve
Saturday, April 13, 2019 Sinhala and Tamil New Year's Eve is a public holiday in Sri Lanka
Sinhala and Tamil New Year's Day
Sunday, April 14, 2019 Sinhala and Tamil New Year's Day is a public holiday in Sri Lanka
Public Holiday
Monday, April 15, 2019 Public Holiday is a public holiday in Sri Lanka
Bak Full Moon Poya Day
Friday, April 19, 2019 Bak Full Moon Poya Day is a public holiday in Sri Lanka
Good Friday
Friday, April 19, 2019 Good Friday is a global Christian observance two days before Easter Sunday.
Easter Sunday
Sunday, April 21, 2019 Easter Sunday commemorates Jesus Christ’s resurrection, according to Christian belief.
May Day
Wednesday, May 1, 2019 May Day, or Labor Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Mother's Day
Sunday, May 12, 2019 Mother’s Day celebrates the achievements and efforts of mothers and mother figures.
Vesak Full Moon Poya Day
Saturday, May 18, 2019 Vesak Full Moon Poya Day is a public holiday in Sri Lanka
Day after Vesak Full Moon Poya Day
Sunday, May 19, 2019 Day after Vesak Full Moon Poya Day is a public holiday in Sri Lanka
Day after Vesak Holiday
Monday, May 20, 2019 Day after Vesak Holiday is a public holiday in Sri Lanka
Eid al-Fitr
Wednesday, June 5, 2019 Eid-al-Fitr is a holiday to mark the end of the Islamic month of Ramadan, during which Muslims fast during the hours of daylight.
Poson Full Moon Poya Day
Sunday, June 16, 2019 Poson Full Moon Poya Day is a public holiday in Sri Lanka
Father's Day
Sunday, June 16, 2019 Father’s Day celebrates fatherhood and male parenting on different dates worldwide.
June Solstice
Friday, June 21, 2019 June Solstice in Sri Lanka (Colombo)
Esala Full Moon Poya Day
Tuesday, July 16, 2019 Esala Full Moon Poya Day is a public holiday in Sri Lanka
Eid al-Adha
Monday, August 12, 2019 Eid al-Adha (Id ul-Adha) is an Islamic festival falling on the 10th day of the month of Dhul Hijja (Thou al-Hijja) to commemorate the willingness of Ibrahim (Abraham) to sacrifice his son.
Nikini Full Moon Poya Day
Wednesday, August 14, 2019 Nikini Full Moon Poya Day is a public holiday in Sri Lanka
Raksha Bandhan
Thursday, August 15, 2019 Raksha Bandhan is a Hindu holiday in Sri Lanka
Janmashtami
Saturday, August 24, 2019 Krishna Janmashtami is a Hindu festival that celebrates the birth of Krishna, the eighth incarnation of the god Vishnu. It is celebrated on the eighth day of the Hindu month of Bhadrava (Bhadrapada), which is usually in August or September.
Ganesh Chaturthi
Monday, September 2, 2019 Ganesh Chaturthi is a Hindu holiday in Sri Lanka
Binara Full Moon Poya Day
Friday, September 13, 2019 Binara Full Moon Poya Day is a public holiday in Sri Lanka
September Equinox
Monday, September 23, 2019 September Equinox in Sri Lanka (Colombo)
First Day of Navaratri
Sunday, September 29, 2019 First Day of Navaratri is a Hindu holiday in Sri Lanka
Dussehra
Tuesday, October 8, 2019 Dussehra is a Hindu holiday in Sri Lanka
Vap Full Moon Poya Day
Sunday, October 13, 2019 Vap Full Moon Poya Day is a public holiday in Sri Lanka
Deepavali
Sunday, October 27, 2019 Diwali, also known as the Festival of Lights, is one of the most popular Hindu festivals.
Milad-Un-Nabi (Holy Prophet's Birthday)
Sunday, November 10, 2019 Mawlid, or Milad, marks the birth of the Islamic prophet Muhammed, or Mohamed, in the year 570 of the Gregorian calendar.
Il Full Moon Poya Day
Tuesday, November 12, 2019 Il Full Moon Poya Day is a public holiday in Sri Lanka
Unduvap Full Moon Poya Day
Wednesday, December 11, 2019 Unduvap Full Moon Poya Day is a public holiday in Sri Lanka
December Solstice
Sunday, December 22, 2019 December Solstice in Sri Lanka (Colombo)
Christmas Eve
Tuesday, December 24, 2019 Christmas Eve is the day before Christmas Day and falls on December 24 in the Gregorian calendar.
Christmas Day
Wednesday, December 25, 2019 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.