Mauritius has a total of 26 holidays in 2019. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year
Tuesday, January 1, 2019 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
New Year (Day 2)
Wednesday, January 2, 2019 New Year (Day 2) is a public holiday in Mauritius
Thaipoosam Cavadee
Monday, January 21, 2019 Thaipoosam Cavadee is a public holiday in Mauritius
Abolition of Slavery
Friday, February 1, 2019 Abolition of Slavery is a public holiday in Mauritius
Chinese Spring Festival
Tuesday, February 5, 2019 Chinese Spring Festival is a public holiday in Mauritius
Maha Shivaratree
Monday, March 4, 2019 Maha Shivaratree is a public holiday in Mauritius
National Day
Tuesday, March 12, 2019 National Day is a public holiday in Mauritius
March Equinox
Wednesday, March 20, 2019 March Equinox in Mauritius (Port Louis)
Holi
Thursday, March 21, 2019 Holi is a spring festival of colors celebrated by Hindus, Sikhs and others. It celebrates the triumph of good over evil and the upcoming season of spring. The festival can last up to sixteen days.
Ougadi
Saturday, April 6, 2019 Ougadi is a public holiday in Mauritius
Labour Day
Wednesday, May 1, 2019 May Day, or Labor Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Mother's Day
Sunday, May 12, 2019 Mother’s Day celebrates the achievements and efforts of mothers and mother figures.
Eid al-Fitr
Wednesday, June 5, 2019 Eid-al-Fitr is a holiday to mark the end of the Islamic month of Ramadan, during which Muslims fast during the hours of daylight.
Father's Day
Sunday, June 16, 2019 Father’s Day celebrates fatherhood and male parenting on different dates worldwide.
June Solstice
Friday, June 21, 2019 June Solstice in Mauritius (Port Louis)
Indian Ocean Island Games Celebration Holiday
Monday, July 29, 2019 Indian Ocean Island Games Celebration Holiday is a public holiday in Mauritius
Raksha Bandhan
Thursday, August 15, 2019 Raksha Bandhan is a Hindu holiday in Mauritius
Janmashtami
Friday, August 23, 2019 Janmashtami is a Hindu holiday in Mauritius
Ganesh Chaturthi
Tuesday, September 3, 2019 Ganesh Chaturthi is a public holiday in Mauritius
September Equinox
Monday, September 23, 2019 September Equinox in Mauritius (Port Louis)
Dussehra
Tuesday, October 8, 2019 Dussehra is a Hindu holiday in Mauritius
Divali
Sunday, October 27, 2019 Diwali, also known as the Festival of Lights, is one of the most popular Hindu festivals.
All Saints Day
Friday, November 1, 2019 All Saints Day is a public holiday in Mauritius
Arrival of Indentured Labourers
Saturday, November 2, 2019 Arrival of Indentured Labourers is a public holiday in Mauritius
December Solstice
Sunday, December 22, 2019 December Solstice in Mauritius (Port Louis)
Christmas Day
Wednesday, December 25, 2019 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.