Sri Lanka has a total of 40 holidays in 2019. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downaloadble as a csv or json file. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Weekday Date Type
Tamil Thai Pongal Day
Tuesday January 15 National holiday
Duruthu Full Moon Poya Day
Sunday January 20 National holiday
National Day
Monday February 4 National holiday
Valentine's Day
Valentine’s Day is a special time to celebrate love, romance and friendship.
Thursday February 14 Observance
Navam Full Moon Poya Day
Tuesday February 19 National holiday
Mahasivarathri Day
Monday March 4 National holiday
March Equinox
Wednesday March 20 Season
Madin Full Moon Poya Day
Wednesday March 20 National holiday
Holi
Thursday March 21 Hinduism
Sinhala and Tamil New Year's Eve
Saturday April 13 National holiday
Sinhala and Tamil New Year's Day
Sunday April 14 National holiday
Bak Full Moon Poya Day
Friday April 19 National holiday
Good Friday
Good Friday is a global Christian observance two days before Easter Sunday.
Friday April 19 National holiday
Easter Sunday
Easter Sunday commemorates Jesus Christ’s resurrection, according to Christian belief.
Sunday April 21 Observance
May Day
May Day, or Labor Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Wednesday May 1 National holiday
Mother's Day
Mother’s Day celebrates the achievements and efforts of mothers and mother figures.
Sunday May 12 Observance
Vesak Full Moon Poya Day
Saturday May 18 National holiday
Day after Vesak Full Moon Poya Day
Monday May 20 National holiday
Eid al-Fitr
Eid-al-Fitr is a holiday to mark the end of the Islamic month of Ramadan, during which Muslims fast during the hours of daylight.
Wednesday June 5 National holiday
Poson Full Moon Poya Day
Sunday June 16 National holiday
Father's Day
Father’s Day celebrates fatherhood and male parenting on different dates worldwide.
Sunday June 16 Observance
June Solstice
Friday June 21 Season
Esala Full Moon Poya Day
Tuesday July 16 National holiday
Eid al-Adha
Eid al-Adha (Id ul-Adha) is an Islamic festival falling on the 10th day of the month of Dhul Hijja (Thou al-Hijja) to commemorate the willingness of Ibrahim (Abraham) to sacrifice his son.
Monday August 12 National holiday
Nikini Full Moon Poya Day
Wednesday August 14 National holiday
Raksha Bandhan
Thursday August 15 Hinduism
Janmashtami
Saturday August 24 Hinduism
Ganesh Chaturthi
Monday September 2 Hinduism
Binara Full Moon Poya Day
Friday September 13 National holiday
September Equinox
Monday September 23 Season
Navaratri
Sunday September 29 Hinduism
Dussehra
Tuesday October 8 Hinduism
Vap Full Moon Poya Day
Sunday October 13 National holiday
Deepavali
Sunday October 27 National holiday
Milad-Un-Nabi (Holy Prophet's Birthday)
Mawlid, or Milad, marks the birth of the Islamic prophet Muhammed, or Mohamed, in the year 570 of the Gregorian calendar.
Sunday November 10 National holiday
Il Full Moon Poya Day
Tuesday November 12 National holiday
Unduvap Full Moon Poya Day
Wednesday December 11 National holiday
December Solstice
Sunday December 22 Season
Christmas Eve
Christmas Eve is the day before Christmas Day and falls on December 24 in the Gregorian calendar.
Tuesday December 24 Observance
Christmas Day
Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
Wednesday December 25 National holiday