Canada has a total of 103 holidays in 2019. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downaloadble as a csv or json file. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Weekday Date
New Year's Day
New Year's Day is the first day of a new year according to the Gregorian calendar used in Canada and many other countries.
Tuesday January 1
Day After New Year’s Day
The day after New Year’s Day is an annual holiday for many citizens in Quebec, Canada, on January 2.
Wednesday January 2
Epiphany
Many people in Canada annually observe Epiphany, or Three Kings’ Day, on January 6. It is a Christian observance.
Sunday January 6
Orthodox Christmas Day
Many Orthodox Christian churches in countries such as Canada observe Christmas Day on or near January 7 in the Gregorian calendar.
Monday January 7
Orthodox New Year
Many Orthodox Christian churches in countries such as Canada celebrate New Year’s Day on January 14 in the Gregorian calendar.
Monday January 14
Tu B'Shevat (Arbor Day)
Tu B’Shevat is known as the “New Year for Trees”, is a Jewish festival that marks the start of a new cycle for the tithe on fruit trees.
Monday January 21
Groundhog Day
Groundhog Day is celebrated in Canada on February 2 each year.
Saturday February 2
Chinese New Year
Chinese New Year marks the first day of the New Year in the Chinese calendar.
Tuesday February 5
Valentine's Day
On Valentine's Day, people pronounce or re-affirm their feelings of romantic love for someone, often by sending cards or giving gifts.
Thursday February 14
National Flag of Canada Day
Flag Day in Canada commemorates the inauguration of the Canadian national flag, which features a red maple leaf on a red and white background.
Friday February 15
Islander Day
Islander Day is a day off for many people in the province of Prince Edward Island in Canada.
Monday February 18
Family Day
Family Day is a public holiday in the Canadian provinces of Alberta, Ontario, Saskatchewan, British Columbia, and New Brunswick.
Monday February 18
Nova Scotia Heritage Day
Nova Scotia Heritage Day is a day off for Canadians in Nova Scotia. It aims to recognize cultural or historical contributions to the province.
Monday February 18
Louis Riel Day
Louis Riel Day celebrates the achievements and life of Louis Riel, a Canadian politician who was a leader of the Métis people.
Monday February 18
Yukon Heritage Day
National Heritage Day, also known as Heritage Day, is usually celebrated in the Yukon in Canada on the last Friday of February.
Friday February 22
St David's Day
Many Welsh communities in Canada annually celebrate the life St David, who is Wales’ patron saint, on St David’s Day on March 1.
Friday March 1
Carnival / Shrove Tuesday
Shrove Tuesday is the day before Ash Wednesday. It may coincide with the winter carnival season in Canada.
Tuesday March 5
Ash Wednesday
Ash Wednesday marks the first day of Lent in for many Christians in Canada.
Wednesday March 6
Daylight Saving Time starts
Sunday March 10
Commonwealth Day
The Commonwealth of Nations, which includes Canada, is commemorated on Commonwealth Day.
Monday March 11
St. Patrick's Day
St Patrick's Day commemorates the life and work of St Patrick, a Christian missionary who lived in the fourth and fifth centuries.
Monday March 18
March Equinox
Wednesday March 20
Purim
Purim commemorates a time when Jewish people were saved from death around the fourth century BCE, according to the Book of Esther.
Thursday March 21
Isra and Mi'raj
Isra and Mi'raj (Isra Me'raj, Israa and Mi'raaj, Laylat Al-Isra wa Al-Miraj, Lailat al Miraj, Night Journey and Ascension to Heaven) marks the night when the Prophet Mohammad traveled from Mecca to Jerusalem, ascended to heaven and returned.
Wednesday April 3
National Tartan Day
Tartan Day is a special day for Canadians to celebrate their national, provincial, territorial or personal tartans.
Saturday April 6
Vimy Ridge Day
Vimy Ridge Day commemorates the Canadian soldier’s battle and victory at Vimy Ridge in France during the First World War.
Tuesday April 9
Palm Sunday
Palm Sunday in Canada celebrates Jesus Christ’s entry into Jerusalem. It is also the Sunday before Easter Sunday.
Sunday April 14
Maundy Thursday
Many Christians in the Canada celebrate Maundy Thursday on the Thursday before Good Friday.
Thursday April 18
Good Friday
On Good Friday, Christians commemorate the crucifixion of Jesus Christ and it is a statutory holiday in many parts of Canada.
Friday April 19
Holy Saturday
Holy Saturday is the day before Easter Sunday in Canada.
Saturday April 20
First day of Passover
Passover marks the Israelites' liberation from slavery and their exodus from Egypt around 3000 years ago.
Saturday April 20
Easter Sunday
Easter Sunday is the most important day in the Christian church calendar in Canada. It celebrates the resurrection of Jesus Christ after his crucifixion, according to Christian belief.
Sunday April 21
Easter Monday
Easter Monday is the day after Easter Sunday and a holiday for many Canadians.
Monday April 22
St. George's Day
St George’s Day is a holiday in the Canadian province of Newfoundland and Labrador.
Monday April 22
Orthodox Good Friday
Many Orthodox Christians in Canada remember the events leading up to Jesus Christ's crucifixion on Great Friday.
Friday April 26
Last day of Passover
The last day of Passover marks the end of the Passover period, which lasts for seven or eight days.
Saturday April 27
Orthodox Holy Saturday
Many Orthodox Christians in Canada remember Jesus Christ’s burial and his descent into Hades on Holy Saturday.
Saturday April 27
Orthodox Easter
Orthodox Christians in Canada celebrate Jesus Christ’s resurrection on Easter Sunday, also known as Pascha.
Sunday April 28
Orthodox Easter Monday
Many Orthodox churches in Canada observe Easter Monday on the day after the Orthodox Easter Sunday date.
Monday April 29
Yom HaShoah
Yom Hashoah commemorates the lives of about six million Jewish people who died during World War II. This observance is annually held on the 27th day of the month of Nisan.
Thursday May 2
Ramadan Start
Many Muslims in Canada welcome Ramadan as period of fasting, self-evaluation and spiritual growth. Ramadan is the ninth month in the Islamic calendar.
Monday May 6
Yom HaAtzmaut
Many Jewish communities in Canada celebrate Yom Ha’Atzmaut, which is Israel’s Independence Day, on the fifth day of the month of Iyar in the Jewish calendar.
Thursday May 9
Mother's Day
Mother’s Day is celebrated in Canada on the second Sunday of May each year.
Sunday May 12
Victoria Day
Victoria Day is celebrated in honor of the birthdays of both Queen Victoria and the current monarch of Canada.
Monday May 20
National Patriots' Day
National Patriots’ Day is an annual holiday in Québec, Canada, on the Monday before May 25.
Monday May 20
Lag B'Omer
Many Jewish people in Canada observe Lag B’Omer on the 18th day of the month of Iyar in the Jewish calendar.
Thursday May 23
Ascension Day
Ascension Day is the 40th day of Easter and commemorates Jesus Christ’s ascension into heaven, according to Christian belief.
Thursday May 30
Laylatul Qadr (Night of Power)
Laylat al-Qadr is most likely to be held on one of the last 10 days of month of Ramadan in the Islamic calendar.
Friday May 31
Eid ul Fitr
Eid al-Fitr, which is on the first day of the Islamic month of Shawwal, marks the end of the month-long fast of Ramadan.
Tuesday June 4
Pentecost
Many Christians in Canada observe Pentecost, also known as Whitsunday or Whit Sunday.
Sunday June 9
Shavuot
Shavuot, also known as the Festival of Weeks, is one of three major Jewish festivals celebrated among many Jewish Canadians.
Sunday June 9
Whit Monday
Whit Monday is a Christian observance also known as Pentecost Monday. It is the day after Pentecost, or Whitsunday.
Monday June 10
Trinity Sunday
Trinity Sunday is the first Sunday after Pentecost and is celebrated by many Christians in Canada.
Sunday June 16
Father's Day
Father’s Day celebrates the contribution that fathers and father figures make to their children’s lives.
Sunday June 16
Corpus Christi
Corpus Christi is a Christian observance that honors the Holy Eucharist.
Thursday June 20
June Solstice
Friday June 21
National Indigenous Peoples Day
National Indigenous Peoples Day celebrates Canada’s Indigenous culture and the achievements made by the country’s indigenous peoples.
Friday June 21
St. Jean Baptiste Day
Saint Jean Baptiste Day (Fête nationale du Québec, Quebec National Holiday, la Saint-Jean, St. John the Baptist Day) is the national holiday of the Canadian province of Quebec.
Monday June 24
Discovery Day
Discovery Day is a public holiday in the Canadian territory of Yukon on the third Monday of August. It commemorates the anniversary of the discovery of gold in Bonanza Creek in the 19th century.
Monday August 19
Canada Day
Canada Day is a federal holiday on July 1 to mark the anniversary of the date that Canada became a self-governing country.
Monday July 1
Memorial Day
Memorial Day is observed in Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada, on July 1 each year.
Monday July 1
Nunavut Day
Nunavut Day is an annual holiday in Canada's Nunavut Territory.
Tuesday July 9
Orangemen's Day
Orangemen's Day is a provincial holiday in Newfoundland and Labrador in Canada. It commemorates the Battle of the Boyne, which took place in 1690 outside Drogheda, now in the Republic of Ireland.
Monday July 15
Heritage Day
Heritage Day is celebrated in Alberta on the first Monday of August. Although it is not a statutory holiday, it may used as an optional holiday to celebrate Canadian heritage in the province.
Monday August 5
Civic/Provincial Day
Many Canadian provinces and territories have a civic holiday to celebrate some aspect of their culture or history on the first Monday of August.
Monday August 5
Saskatchewan Day
Monday August 5
Terry Fox Day
Monday August 5
New Brunswick Day
New Brunswick Day is an opportunity for Canadians from the province of New Brunswick to celebrate their history and culture. It is celebrated on the first Monday of August.
Monday August 5
British Columbia Day
British Columbia Day is a statutory holiday in the Canadian province of British Columbia.
Monday August 5
Natal Day
Natal Day is a civic holiday to celebrate the “birthday” of the Nova Scotia province. It is held on the first Monday of August.
Monday August 5
The Royal St John's Regatta (Regatta Day)
Regatta Day is on the first Wednesday of August and it is a local holiday in the Canadian province Newfoundland and Labrador.
Wednesday August 7
Tisha B'Av
Tisha B’Av is on the ninth day of the month of Av in the Jewish calendar.
Sunday August 11
Eid ul Adha
Many Muslims in Canada celebrate Eid al-Adha around the 10th to the 13th days of the Islamic month of Dhu al-Hijjah.
Monday August 12
Assumption of Mary
The Feast of the Assumption of Mary in Canada is observed as a Holy Day of Obligation - a day when some Christian denominations are obliged to attend mass, on August 15 each year.
Thursday August 15
Gold Cup Parade
The Gold Cup Parade is Atlantic Canada’s largest parade and the largest parade east of Montreal. It is held annually in Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada on the third Friday of August.
Friday August 16
Muharram/Islamic New Year
The first day of Muharram, which is the first month in the Islamic calendar, marks the start of the Islamic New Year.
Sunday September 1
Labour Day
Labour Day in Canada is a holiday to campaign for workers' rights. It celebrates the achievements of these rights.
Monday September 2
September Equinox
Monday September 23
Rosh Hashana
Rosh Hashana, also spelled Rosh Hashanah, is commonly known as the Jewish New Year. The event begins on the first day of Tishrei (or Tishri), which is the seventh month in the Jewish calendar.
Monday September 30
Feast of St Francis of Assisi
Many churches in Canada celebrate the Feast of St Francis of Assisi to honor St Francis, the patron saint of animals and the environment, on October 4 each year.
Friday October 4
Yom Kippur
Yom Kippur is an important Jewish holiday that falls on the 10th day of the month of Tishrei in the Jewish calendar.
Wednesday October 9
First day of Sukkot
The first day of Sukkot marks the start of the Sukkot festival for Jewish communities in many countries, including Canada.
Monday October 14
Thanksgiving Day
Thanksgiving Day is a holiday to give thanks for the blessings in one's life, particularly the harvest. It is a day off work for many Canadians.
Monday October 14
Healthcare Aide Day
Friday October 18
Hoshana Rabbah
Many Jewish communities in countries such as Canada observe the last day of Sukkot, which marks the end of the Sukkot festival.
Sunday October 20
Shemini Atzeret
Shemini Atzeret (or Shmini Atzeret) is a Jewish holiday dedicated to the love of God, while Simchat Torah (Simchas Torah or Simhat Torah) marks the end of Sukkot and celebrates the completion of the annual reading of the Torah.
Monday October 21
Simchat Torah
Simchat Torah (Simchas Torah or Simhat Torah) is a Jewish holiday that marks the end of Sukkot and celebrates the completion of the annual reading of the Torah.
Tuesday October 22
Halloween
Halloween in Canada stems from Celtic origins and marks a time when people believed spirits and the dead crossed over into the world of the living for one night.
Thursday October 31
All Saints' Day
Many churches honor all their saints on All Saints' Day, also known as All Hallows' Day.
Friday November 1
All Souls' Day
All Souls’ Day falls on November 2 each year. It is a day of alms giving and prayers for the dead.
Saturday November 2
Daylight Saving Time ends
Sunday November 3
Milad un Nabi (Mawlid)
Eid Milad ul-Nabi marks the anniversary of the Prophet Muhammad's birth and death.
Sunday November 10
Remembrance Day
Remembrance Day commemorates civilians and military personnel who lost their lives in armed conflicts.
Monday November 11
First Sunday of Advent
Many Christians in Canada celebrate the first Sunday of Advent in the lead up to Christmas.
Sunday December 1
Feast of the Immaculate Conception
The Feast of the Immaculate Conception is a Christian observance on December 8 each year.
Sunday December 8
Anniversary of the Statute of Westminster
The Anniversary of the Statute of Westminster is annually held in Canada on December 11.
Wednesday December 11
December Solstice
Sunday December 22
First Day of Hanukkah
The first day of Hanukkah is the start of the Hanukkah period, which lasts for 8 days, from the 25th day of the month of Kislev to the second day of Tevet in the Hebrew calendar.
Monday December 23
Christmas Eve
Christmas Eve in Canada is the day before Christmas Day and always falls on December 24 according to the Gregorian calendar.
Tuesday December 24
Christmas
Christians celebrate the birth of Jesus Christ on Christmas Day in Canada.
Wednesday December 25
Boxing Day
The day after Christmas Day is known as Boxing Day and is a holiday in many parts of Canada.
Thursday December 26
Last day of Hanukkah
The last day of Hanukkah marks the end of the festive Jewish occasion known as Hanukkah, or Chanukah.
Monday December 30
New Year's Eve
New Year's Eve is the last day of the year and the day before New Year's Day. New Year's Eve in Canada always falls on December 31 according to the Gregorian calendar.
Tuesday December 31