Nigeria has a total of 31 holidays in 2023. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year's Day
Sunday, January 1, 2023 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Day off for New Year's Day
Monday, January 2, 2023 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Valentine's Day
Tuesday, February 14, 2023 February 14 is Valentine's Day or Saint Valentine's Feast. The day of love owes its origins to ancient Roman and European Christian traditions.
Ash Wednesday
Wednesday, February 22, 2023 Ash Wednesday marks the first day of Lent in western Christian churches.
Women's Day
Wednesday, March 8, 2023 Women's Day is a observance in Nigeria
Mothering Sunday
Sunday, March 19, 2023 Mothering Sunday is a observance in Nigeria
March Equinox
Monday, March 20, 2023 March Equinox in Nigeria (Abuja)
Good Friday
Friday, April 7, 2023 Good Friday is a global Christian observance two days before Easter Sunday.
Holy Saturday
Saturday, April 8, 2023 Holy Saturday is the day before Easter Sunday.
Easter Sunday
Sunday, April 9, 2023 Easter Sunday commemorates Jesus Christ’s resurrection, according to Christian belief.
Easter Monday
Monday, April 10, 2023 Easter Monday is the day after Easter Sunday.
Id el Fitr
Saturday, April 22, 2023 Eid al-Fitr is a holiday to mark the end of the Islamic month of Ramadan, during which Muslims fast during the hours of daylight.
Id el Fitr holiday
Sunday, April 23, 2023 Id el Fitr holiday is a public holiday in Nigeria
Workers' Day
Monday, May 1, 2023 Labor Day, International Workers' Day, and May Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Children's Day
Saturday, May 27, 2023 Children's Day is a observance in Nigeria
Democracy Day
Monday, June 12, 2023 Democracy Day is a public holiday in Nigeria
Father's Day
Sunday, June 18, 2023 Father's Day is a observance in Nigeria
June Solstice
Wednesday, June 21, 2023 June Solstice in Nigeria (Abuja)
Id el Kabir
Thursday, June 29, 2023 Eid al-Adha (Id ul-Adha) is an Islamic festival falling on the 10th day of the month of Dhul Hijja (Thou al-Hijja) to commemorate the willingness of Ibrahim (Abraham) to sacrifice his son.
Id el Kabir additional holiday
Friday, June 30, 2023 Id el Kabir additional holiday is a public holiday in Nigeria
Al-Hijra
Wednesday, July 19, 2023 Muharram is the first month of the Islamic calendar and a time of remembrance or mourning.
Isese Day
Sunday, August 20, 2023 Isese Day is a local holiday in Nigeria
September Equinox
Saturday, September 23, 2023 September Equinox in Nigeria (Abuja)
Id el Maulud
Wednesday, September 27, 2023 Mawlid, or Milad, marks the birth of the Islamic prophet Muhammed, or Mohamed, in the year 570 of the Gregorian calendar.
National Day
Sunday, October 1, 2023 National Day is a public holiday in Nigeria
Sambisa Memorial Day
Friday, December 22, 2023 Sambisa Memorial Day is a local holiday in Nigeria
December Solstice
Friday, December 22, 2023 December Solstice in Nigeria (Abuja)
Christmas Eve
Sunday, December 24, 2023 Christmas Eve is the day before Christmas Day and falls on December 24 in the Gregorian calendar.
Christmas Day
Monday, December 25, 2023 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
Boxing Day
Tuesday, December 26, 2023 Boxing Day is a public holiday in Nigeria
New Year's Eve
Sunday, December 31, 2023 New Year’s Eve is the last day of the year, December 31, in the Gregorian calendar.