South Korea has a total of 30 holidays in 2023. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year's Day
Sunday, January 1, 2023 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Seollal Holiday
Saturday, January 21, 2023 Seollal Holiday is a public holiday in South Korea
Seollal
Sunday, January 22, 2023 Lunar New Year is the first day of the Chinese calendar, which is a lunisolar calendar mainly used for traditional celebrations.
Seollal Holiday
Monday, January 23, 2023 Seollal Holiday is a public holiday in South Korea
Valentine's Day
Tuesday, February 14, 2023 February 14 is Valentine's Day or Saint Valentine's Feast. The day of love owes its origins to ancient Roman and European Christian traditions.
Independence Movement Day
Wednesday, March 1, 2023 Independence Movement Day is a national holiday in South Korea
March Equinox
Monday, March 20, 2023 March Equinox in South Korea (Seoul)
Arbor Day
Wednesday, April 5, 2023 Arbor Day is a observance in South Korea
Labor Day
Monday, May 1, 2023 Labor Day, International Workers' Day, and May Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Children's Day
Friday, May 5, 2023 Children's Day is a public holiday in South Korea
Parents' Day
Monday, May 8, 2023 Parents' Day is a observance in South Korea
Teacher's Day
Monday, May 15, 2023 Teacher's Day is a observance in South Korea
Buddha's Birthday
Saturday, May 27, 2023 Buddha's Birthday is a public holiday in South Korea
Memorial Day
Tuesday, June 6, 2023 Memorial Day is a public holiday in South Korea
June Solstice
Wednesday, June 21, 2023 June Solstice in South Korea (Seoul)
Constitution Day
Monday, July 17, 2023 Constitution Day is a observance in South Korea
Liberation Day
Tuesday, August 15, 2023 Liberation Day is a national holiday in South Korea
September Equinox
Saturday, September 23, 2023 September Equinox in South Korea (Seoul)
Chuseok Holiday
Thursday, September 28, 2023 Chuseok Holiday is a public holiday in South Korea
Chuseok
Friday, September 29, 2023 Chuseok is a public holiday in South Korea
Chuseok Holiday
Saturday, September 30, 2023 Chuseok Holiday is a public holiday in South Korea
Armed Forces Day
Sunday, October 1, 2023 Armed Forces Day is a observance in South Korea
Day off for Chuseok Holiday
Monday, October 2, 2023 Chuseok Holiday is a public holiday in South Korea
National Foundation Day
Tuesday, October 3, 2023 National Foundation Day is a national holiday in South Korea
Hangeul Proclamation Day
Monday, October 9, 2023 Hangeul Proclamation Day is a national holiday in South Korea
Halloween
Tuesday, October 31, 2023 Halloween is a festive occasion that is celebrated in many countries on October 31 each year.
December Solstice
Friday, December 22, 2023 December Solstice in South Korea (Seoul)
Christmas Eve
Sunday, December 24, 2023 Christmas Eve is the day before Christmas Day and falls on December 24 in the Gregorian calendar.
Christmas Day
Monday, December 25, 2023 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
New Year's Eve
Sunday, December 31, 2023 New Year’s Eve is the last day of the year, December 31, in the Gregorian calendar.