Iraq has a total of 28 holidays in 2023. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year's Day
Sunday, January 1, 2023 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Army Day
Friday, January 6, 2023 Army Day is a national holiday in Iraq
Rebellion Anniversary
Sunday, March 5, 2023 Rebellion Anniversary is a regional holiday in Iraq
National Day of Tolerance and Coexistence
Monday, March 6, 2023 National Day of Tolerance and Coexistence is a national holiday in Iraq
Anniversary of Signing of the March 11, 1970 Agreement
Saturday, March 11, 2023 Anniversary of Signing of the March 11, 1970 Agreement is a regional holiday in Iraq
Birth Anniversary of the Immortal Barzani
Tuesday, March 14, 2023 Birth Anniversary of the Immortal Barzani is a regional holiday in Iraq
March Equinox
Monday, March 20, 2023 March Equinox in Iraq (Baghdad)
Nowruz
Tuesday, March 21, 2023 Nowruz is a national holiday in Iraq
Nowruz Holiday
Wednesday, March 22, 2023 Nowruz Holiday is a regional holiday in Iraq
Yazidi New Year
Wednesday, April 5, 2023 Yazidi New Year is a regional holiday in Iraq
Baghdad Liberation Day
Sunday, April 9, 2023 Baghdad Liberation Day is a regional holiday in Iraq
Fall of the Defunct Dictatorial Regime and the Liberation of Iraq Day
Sunday, April 9, 2023 Fall of the Defunct Dictatorial Regime and the Liberation of Iraq Day is a regional holiday in Iraq
Eid al-Fitr
Friday, April 21, 2023 Eid al-Fitr is a holiday to mark the end of the Islamic month of Ramadan, during which Muslims fast during the hours of daylight.
Eid al-Fitr holiday
Saturday, April 22, 2023 Eid al-Fitr holiday is a national holiday in Iraq
Labor Day
Monday, May 1, 2023 Labor Day, International Workers' Day, and May Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
June Solstice
Wednesday, June 21, 2023 June Solstice in Iraq (Baghdad)
Eid al-Adha
Wednesday, June 28, 2023 Eid al-Adha (Id ul-Adha) is an Islamic festival falling on the 10th day of the month of Dhul Hijja (Thou al-Hijja) to commemorate the willingness of Ibrahim (Abraham) to sacrifice his son.
Eid al-Adha holiday
Thursday, June 29, 2023 Eid al-Adha holiday is a national holiday in Iraq
Republic Day
Friday, July 14, 2023 Republic Day is a national holiday in Iraq
Islamic New Year
Tuesday, July 18, 2023 Muharram is the first month of the Islamic calendar and a time of remembrance or mourning.
Ashura
Thursday, July 27, 2023 Ashura is a national holiday in Iraq
September Equinox
Saturday, September 23, 2023 September Equinox in Iraq (Baghdad)
The Prophet's Birthday
Wednesday, September 27, 2023 Mawlid, or Milad, marks the birth of the Islamic prophet Muhammed, or Mohamed, in the year 570 of the Gregorian calendar.
Iraqi Independence Day
Tuesday, October 3, 2023 Iraqi Independence Day is a national holiday in Iraq
Anniversary of Victory over ISIS
Sunday, December 10, 2023 Anniversary of Victory over ISIS is a national holiday in Iraq
December Solstice
Friday, December 22, 2023 December Solstice in Iraq (Baghdad)
Christmas Day
Monday, December 25, 2023 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
New Year's Eve
Sunday, December 31, 2023 New Year’s Eve is the last day of the year, December 31, in the Gregorian calendar.