Indonesia has a total of 37 holidays in 2023. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year's Day
Sunday, January 1, 2023 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Lunar New Year's Day
Sunday, January 22, 2023 Lunar New Year is the first day of the Chinese calendar, which is a lunisolar calendar mainly used for traditional celebrations.
Lunar New Year Joint Holiday
Monday, January 23, 2023 Lunar New Year Joint Holiday is a joint holiday in Indonesia
Maha Shivaratri
Saturday, February 18, 2023 Maha Shivaratri is a Hindu holiday in Indonesia
Ascension of the Prophet Muhammad
Saturday, February 18, 2023 Isra and Mi'raj (Isra Me'raj, Israa and Mi'raaj, Laylat Al-Isra wa Al-Miraj, Lailat al Miraj, Night Journey and Ascension to Heaven) marks the night that the Prophet Mohammad traveled from Mecca to Jerusalem, ascended to heaven and returned.
Holi
Wednesday, March 8, 2023 Holi is a spring festival of colors celebrated by Hindus, Sikhs and others. It celebrates the triumph of good over evil and the upcoming season of spring. The festival can last up to sixteen days.
March Equinox
Monday, March 20, 2023 March Equinox in Indonesia (Jakarta)
Bali's Day of Silence and Hindu New Year (Nyepi)
Wednesday, March 22, 2023 Bali's Day of Silence and Hindu New Year (Nyepi) is a public holiday in Indonesia
Joint Holiday for Bali's Day of Silence and Hindu New Year (Nyepi)
Thursday, March 23, 2023 Joint Holiday for Bali's Day of Silence and Hindu New Year (Nyepi) is a joint holiday in Indonesia
Good Friday
Friday, April 7, 2023 Good Friday is a global Christian observance two days before Easter Sunday.
Easter Sunday
Sunday, April 9, 2023 Easter Sunday commemorates Jesus Christ’s resurrection, according to Christian belief.
Idul Fitri Joint Holiday
Friday, April 21, 2023 Idul Fitri Joint Holiday is a joint holiday in Indonesia
Idul Fitri
Saturday, April 22, 2023 Eid al-Fitr is a holiday to mark the end of the Islamic month of Ramadan, during which Muslims fast during the hours of daylight.
Idul Fitri Holiday
Sunday, April 23, 2023 Idul Fitri Holiday is a public holiday in Indonesia
Idul Fitri Joint Holiday
Monday, April 24, 2023 Idul Fitri Joint Holiday is a joint holiday in Indonesia
International Labor Day
Monday, May 1, 2023 Labor Day, International Workers' Day, and May Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Ascension Day of Jesus Christ
Thursday, May 18, 2023 Ascension Day is the 40th day of Easter. It is a religious holiday that commemorates the ascension of Jesus Christ into heaven.
Pancasila Day
Thursday, June 1, 2023 Pancasila Day is a national holiday in Indonesia
Joint Holiday before Waisak Day
Friday, June 2, 2023 Joint Holiday before Waisak Day is a joint holiday in Indonesia
Waisak Day (Buddha's Anniversary)
Sunday, June 4, 2023 Waisak Day (Buddha's Anniversary) is a public holiday in Indonesia
June Solstice
Wednesday, June 21, 2023 June Solstice in Indonesia (Jakarta)
Idul Adha
Thursday, June 29, 2023 Eid al-Adha (Id ul-Adha) is an Islamic festival falling on the 10th day of the month of Dhul Hijja (Thou al-Hijja) to commemorate the willingness of Ibrahim (Abraham) to sacrifice his son.
Muharram / Islamic New Year
Wednesday, July 19, 2023 Muharram is the first month of the Islamic calendar and a time of remembrance or mourning.
Indonesian Independence Day
Thursday, August 17, 2023 Indonesian Independence Day is a public holiday in Indonesia
Raksha Bandhan
Thursday, August 31, 2023 Raksha Bandhan is a Hindu holiday in Indonesia
Janmashtami
Wednesday, September 6, 2023 Krishna Janmashtami is a Hindu festival that celebrates the birth of Krishna, the eighth incarnation of the god Vishnu. It is celebrated on the eighth day of the Hindu month of Bhadrava (Bhadrapada), which is usually in August or September.
Ganesh Chaturthi
Tuesday, September 19, 2023 Ganesh Chaturthi is a Hindu holiday in Indonesia
September Equinox
Saturday, September 23, 2023 September Equinox in Indonesia (Jakarta)
Maulid Nabi Muhammad (The Prophet Muhammad's Birthday)
Thursday, September 28, 2023 Mawlid, or Milad, marks the birth of the Islamic prophet Muhammed, or Mohamed, in the year 570 of the Gregorian calendar.
Navaratri
Sunday, October 15, 2023 Navaratri is a Hindu holiday in Indonesia
Dussehra
Tuesday, October 24, 2023 Dussehra is a Hindu holiday in Indonesia
Diwali / Deepavali
Sunday, November 12, 2023 Diwali, also known as the Festival of Lights, is one of the most popular Hindu festivals.
December Solstice
Friday, December 22, 2023 December Solstice in Indonesia (Jakarta)
Christmas Eve
Sunday, December 24, 2023 Christmas Eve is the day before Christmas Day and falls on December 24 in the Gregorian calendar.
Christmas Day
Monday, December 25, 2023 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
Boxing Day
Tuesday, December 26, 2023 Boxing Day is a joint holiday in Indonesia
New Year's Eve
Sunday, December 31, 2023 New Year’s Eve is the last day of the year, December 31, in the Gregorian calendar.