Burundi has a total of 20 holidays in 2023. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year
Sunday, January 1, 2023 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Day off for New Year
Monday, January 2, 2023 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Unity Day
Sunday, February 5, 2023 Unity Day is a public holiday in Burundi
Day off for Unity Day
Monday, February 6, 2023 Unity Day is a public holiday in Burundi
March Equinox
Monday, March 20, 2023 March Equinox in Burundi (Bujumbura)
President Ntaryamira Day
Thursday, April 6, 2023 President Ntaryamira Day is a public holiday in Burundi
Eid ul Fitr
Saturday, April 22, 2023 Eid al-Fitr is a holiday to mark the end of the Islamic month of Ramadan, during which Muslims fast during the hours of daylight.
Labour Day
Monday, May 1, 2023 Labor Day, International Workers' Day, and May Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Ascension Day
Thursday, May 18, 2023 Ascension Day is the 40th day of Easter. It is a religious holiday that commemorates the ascension of Jesus Christ into heaven.
President Pierre Nkurunziza Day
Thursday, June 8, 2023 President Pierre Nkurunziza Day is a public holiday in Burundi
June Solstice
Wednesday, June 21, 2023 June Solstice in Burundi (Bujumbura)
Eid al-Adha
Thursday, June 29, 2023 Eid al-Adha (Id ul-Adha) is an Islamic festival falling on the 10th day of the month of Dhul Hijja (Thou al-Hijja) to commemorate the willingness of Ibrahim (Abraham) to sacrifice his son.
Independence Day
Saturday, July 1, 2023 Independence Day is a public holiday in Burundi
Assumption of Mary
Tuesday, August 15, 2023 The Christian feast of the Assumption of Mary is on or around Aug 15 in most countries. A few celebrate Assumption Day at other times of the year.
September Equinox
Saturday, September 23, 2023 September Equinox in Burundi (Bujumbura)
Prince Louis Rwagasore Day
Friday, October 13, 2023 Prince Louis Rwagasore Day is a public holiday in Burundi
President Ndadaye's Day
Saturday, October 21, 2023 President Ndadaye's Day is a public holiday in Burundi
All Saints' Day
Wednesday, November 1, 2023 Many churches honor all their saints on All Saints' Day, also known as All Hallows' Day.
December Solstice
Friday, December 22, 2023 December Solstice in Burundi (Bujumbura)
Christmas Day
Monday, December 25, 2023 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.