South Africa has a total of 34 holidays in 2022. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year's Day
Saturday, January 1, 2022 New Year’s Day is celebrated with a blend of both diversity and tradition in countries such as South Africa on January 1 each year.
Isra and Mi'raj
Tuesday, March 1, 2022 Isra and Mi'raj (Isra Me'raj, Israa and Mi'raaj, Laylat Al-Isra wa Al-Miraj, Lailat al Miraj, Night Journey and Ascension to Heaven) marks the night that the Prophet Mohammad traveled from Mecca to Jerusalem, ascended to heaven and returned.
March Equinox
Sunday, March 20, 2022 March Equinox in South Africa (Johannesburg)
Human Rights Day
Monday, March 21, 2022 Human Rights Day is a public holiday in South Africa
Good Friday
Friday, April 15, 2022 Good Friday is a global Christian observance two days before Easter Sunday.
Holy Saturday
Saturday, April 16, 2022 Holy Saturday is the day before Easter Sunday.
Easter Sunday
Sunday, April 17, 2022 Easter Sunday commemorates Jesus Christ’s resurrection, according to Christian belief.
Family Day
Monday, April 18, 2022 Family Day is a public holiday in South Africa
Freedom Day
Wednesday, April 27, 2022 Freedom Day is a public holiday in South Africa
Laylatul Qadr (Night of Power)
Thursday, April 28, 2022 Laylat al-Qadr commmemorates the time when Mohammad received the first verses of the Koran (Qu'ran).
Workers' Day
Sunday, May 1, 2022 Labor Day, or May Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Workers' Day observed
Monday, May 2, 2022 Labor Day, or May Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Eid ul Fitr
Tuesday, May 3, 2022 Eid-al-Fitr is a holiday to mark the end of the Islamic month of Ramadan, during which Muslims fast during the hours of daylight.
Mother's Day
Sunday, May 8, 2022 Mother’s Day celebrates the achievements and efforts of mothers and mother figures.
Ascension Day
Thursday, May 26, 2022 Ascension Day is the 40th day of Easter. It is a religious holiday that commemorates the ascension of Jesus Christ into heaven.
Pentecost
Sunday, June 5, 2022 Many Christians all over the world annually observe Pentecost, also known as Whitsunday or Whit Sunday.
Youth Day
Thursday, June 16, 2022 Youth Day is a public holiday in South Africa
Father's Day
Sunday, June 19, 2022 Father’s Day celebrates fatherhood and male parenting on different dates worldwide.
June Solstice
Tuesday, June 21, 2022 June Solstice in South Africa (Johannesburg)
Eid ul Adha
Sunday, July 10, 2022 Eid al-Adha (Id ul-Adha) is an Islamic festival falling on the 10th day of the month of Dhul Hijja (Thou al-Hijja) to commemorate the willingness of Ibrahim (Abraham) to sacrifice his son.
Nelson Mandela Day
Monday, July 18, 2022 Nelson Mandela Day is a observance in South Africa
Muharram/Islamic New Year
Saturday, July 30, 2022 Muharram is the first month of the Islamic calendar and a time of remembrance or mourning.
National Women's Day
Tuesday, August 9, 2022 National Women's Day is a public holiday in South Africa
September Equinox
Friday, September 23, 2022 September Equinox in South Africa (Johannesburg)
Heritage Day
Saturday, September 24, 2022 Heritage Day is a public holiday in South Africa
Milad un Nabi (Mawlid)
Saturday, October 8, 2022 Mawlid, or Milad, marks the birth of the Islamic prophet Muhammed, or Mohamed, in the year 570 of the Gregorian calendar.
All Saints' Day
Tuesday, November 1, 2022 Many churches honor all their saints on All Saints' Day, also known as All Hallows' Day.
Day of Reconciliation
Friday, December 16, 2022 Day of Reconciliation is a public holiday in South Africa
December Solstice
Wednesday, December 21, 2022 December Solstice in South Africa (Johannesburg)
Christmas Eve
Saturday, December 24, 2022 Christmas Eve is the day before Christmas Day and falls on December 24 in the Gregorian calendar.
Christmas Day
Sunday, December 25, 2022 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
Christmas Day observed
Monday, December 26, 2022 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
Day of Goodwill
Monday, December 26, 2022 Day of Goodwill is a public holiday in South Africa
New Year's Eve
Saturday, December 31, 2022 New Year’s Eve is the last day of the year, December 31, in the Gregorian calendar.