Nigeria has a total of 29 holidays in 2022. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year's Day
Saturday, January 1, 2022 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Valentine's Day
Monday, February 14, 2022 Valentine’s Day is a special time to celebrate love, romance and friendship.
Ash Wednesday
Wednesday, March 2, 2022 Ash Wednesday marks the first day of Lent in western Christian churches.
Women's Day
Tuesday, March 8, 2022 Women's Day is a observance in Nigeria
March Equinox
Sunday, March 20, 2022 March Equinox in Nigeria (Abuja)
Mothering Sunday
Sunday, March 27, 2022 Mothering Sunday is a observance in Nigeria
Good Friday
Friday, April 15, 2022 Good Friday is a global Christian observance two days before Easter Sunday.
Holy Saturday
Saturday, April 16, 2022 Holy Saturday is the day before Easter Sunday.
Easter Sunday
Sunday, April 17, 2022 Easter Sunday commemorates Jesus Christ’s resurrection, according to Christian belief.
Easter Monday
Monday, April 18, 2022 Easter Monday is the day after Easter Sunday.
Workers' Day
Sunday, May 1, 2022 Labor Day, or May Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Id el Fitr
Tuesday, May 3, 2022 Eid-al-Fitr is a holiday to mark the end of the Islamic month of Ramadan, during which Muslims fast during the hours of daylight.
Id el Fitr holiday
Wednesday, May 4, 2022 Id el Fitr holiday is a public holiday in Nigeria
Children's Day
Friday, May 27, 2022 Children's Day is a observance in Nigeria
Democracy Day
Sunday, June 12, 2022 Democracy Day is a public holiday in Nigeria
Father's Day
Sunday, June 19, 2022 Father's Day is a observance in Nigeria
June Solstice
Tuesday, June 21, 2022 June Solstice in Nigeria (Abuja)
Id el Kabir
Sunday, July 10, 2022 Eid al-Adha (Id ul-Adha) is an Islamic festival falling on the 10th day of the month of Dhul Hijja (Thou al-Hijja) to commemorate the willingness of Ibrahim (Abraham) to sacrifice his son.
Id el Kabir additional holiday
Monday, July 11, 2022 Id el Kabir additional holiday is a public holiday in Nigeria
Al-Hijra
Saturday, July 30, 2022 Muharram is the first month of the Islamic calendar and a time of remembrance or mourning.
September Equinox
Friday, September 23, 2022 September Equinox in Nigeria (Abuja)
National Day
Saturday, October 1, 2022 National Day is a public holiday in Nigeria
Id el Maulud
Saturday, October 8, 2022 Mawlid, or Milad, marks the birth of the Islamic prophet Muhammed, or Mohamed, in the year 570 of the Gregorian calendar.
December Solstice
Wednesday, December 21, 2022 December Solstice in Nigeria (Abuja)
Sambisa Memorial Day
Thursday, December 22, 2022 Sambisa Memorial Day is a local holiday in Nigeria
Christmas Eve
Saturday, December 24, 2022 Christmas Eve is the day before Christmas Day and falls on December 24 in the Gregorian calendar.
Christmas Day
Sunday, December 25, 2022 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
Boxing Day
Monday, December 26, 2022 Boxing Day is a public holiday in Nigeria
New Year's Eve
Saturday, December 31, 2022 New Year’s Eve is the last day of the year, December 31, in the Gregorian calendar.