Austria has a total of 36 holidays in 2022. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year's Day
Saturday, January 1, 2022 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Epiphany
Thursday, January 6, 2022 Epiphany is a Christian holiday celebrated globally on January 6 each year. It commemorates two events recorded in the Bible: the three wise men’s visit to baby Jesus; and Jesus’ baptism.
Saint Joseph's Day
Saturday, March 19, 2022 Saint Joseph's Day is a state holiday in Austria
March Equinox
Sunday, March 20, 2022 March Equinox in Austria (Vienna)
Daylight Saving Time starts
Sunday, March 27, 2022 Daylight Saving Time starts in Austria
Palm Sunday
Sunday, April 10, 2022 Palm Sunday is a Christian feast that commemorates Jesus Christ’s entry into Jerusalem. It is also the start of Holy Week.
Good Friday
Friday, April 15, 2022 Good Friday is a global Christian observance two days before Easter Sunday.
Easter Sunday
Sunday, April 17, 2022 Easter Sunday commemorates Jesus Christ’s resurrection, according to Christian belief.
Easter Monday
Monday, April 18, 2022 Easter Monday is the day after Easter Sunday.
Labor Day / May Day
Sunday, May 1, 2022 Labor Day, or May Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Saint Florian's Day
Wednesday, May 4, 2022 Saint Florian's Day is a state holiday in Austria
Ascension Day
Thursday, May 26, 2022 Ascension Day is the 40th day of Easter. It is a religious holiday that commemorates the ascension of Jesus Christ into heaven.
Whit Sunday
Sunday, June 5, 2022 Many Christians all over the world annually observe Pentecost, also known as Whitsunday or Whit Sunday.
Whit Monday
Monday, June 6, 2022 Whit Monday, or Pentecost Monday, is a Christian holiday that falls on the day after Pentecost, which is also known as Whit Sunday or Whitsunday.
Corpus Christi
Thursday, June 16, 2022 Corpus Christi is a Christian feast in honor of the Holy Eucharist.
June Solstice
Tuesday, June 21, 2022 June Solstice in Austria (Vienna)
Assumption of Mary
Monday, August 15, 2022 The Christian feast of the Assumption of Mary is on or around Aug 15 in most countries. A few celebrate Assumption Day at other times of the year.
September Equinox
Friday, September 23, 2022 September Equinox in Austria (Vienna)
Saint Rupert's Day
Saturday, September 24, 2022 Saint Rupert's Day is a state holiday in Austria
European Heritage Days
Sunday, September 25, 2022 European Heritage Days is a observance in Austria
Yom Kippur
Wednesday, October 5, 2022 Yom Kippur (Day of Atonement) is an important Jewish holiday that centers on the themes of atonement and repentance.
Plebiscite Day
Monday, October 10, 2022 Plebiscite Day is a state holiday in Austria
National Day
Wednesday, October 26, 2022 National Day on October 26 is a public holiday in Austria.
Daylight Saving Time ends
Sunday, October 30, 2022 Daylight Saving Time ends in Austria
Reformation Day
Monday, October 31, 2022 Reformation Day is a observance in Austria
All Saints' Day
Tuesday, November 1, 2022 Many churches honor all their saints on All Saints' Day, also known as All Hallows' Day.
All Souls' Day
Wednesday, November 2, 2022 All Souls’ Day falls on November 2 each year. It is a day of alms giving and prayers for the dead.
Saint Martin's Day
Friday, November 11, 2022 Saint Martin's Day is a state holiday in Austria
Saint Leopold's Day
Tuesday, November 15, 2022 Saint Leopold's Day is a state holiday in Austria
First Advent Sunday
Sunday, November 27, 2022 The first Sunday of Advent marks the beginning of the Christian year.
Immaculate Conception
Thursday, December 8, 2022 The Feast of the Immaculate Conception is a Christian observance on December 8 each year.
December Solstice
Wednesday, December 21, 2022 December Solstice in Austria (Vienna)
Christmas Eve
Saturday, December 24, 2022 Christmas Eve is the day before Christmas Day and falls on December 24 in the Gregorian calendar.
Christmas Day
Sunday, December 25, 2022 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
St. Stephen's Day
Monday, December 26, 2022 St. Stephen's Day is a national holiday in Austria
New Year's Eve
Saturday, December 31, 2022 New Year’s Eve is the last day of the year, December 31, in the Gregorian calendar.