Nigeria has a total of 29 holidays in 2021. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year's Day
Friday, January 1, 2021 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Valentine's Day
Sunday, February 14, 2021 Valentine’s Day is a special time to celebrate love, romance and friendship.
Ash Wednesday
Wednesday, February 17, 2021 Ash Wednesday marks the first day of Lent in western Christian churches.
Women's Day
Monday, March 8, 2021 Women's Day is a observance in Nigeria
Mothering Sunday
Sunday, March 14, 2021 Mothering Sunday is a observance in Nigeria
March Equinox
Saturday, March 20, 2021 March Equinox in Nigeria (Abuja)
Good Friday
Friday, April 2, 2021 Good Friday is a global Christian observance two days before Easter Sunday.
Holy Saturday
Saturday, April 3, 2021 Holy Saturday is the day before Easter Sunday.
Easter Sunday
Sunday, April 4, 2021 Easter Sunday commemorates Jesus Christ’s resurrection, according to Christian belief.
Easter Monday
Monday, April 5, 2021 Easter Monday is the day after Easter Sunday.
Workers' Day
Saturday, May 1, 2021 Labor Day, or May Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Id el Fitr
Thursday, May 13, 2021 Eid-al-Fitr is a holiday to mark the end of the Islamic month of Ramadan, during which Muslims fast during the hours of daylight.
Id el Fitr holiday
Friday, May 14, 2021 Id el Fitr holiday is a public holiday in Nigeria
Children's Day
Thursday, May 27, 2021 Children's Day is a observance in Nigeria
Democracy Day
Saturday, June 12, 2021 Democracy Day is a public holiday in Nigeria
Father's Day
Sunday, June 20, 2021 Father's Day is a observance in Nigeria
June Solstice
Monday, June 21, 2021 June Solstice in Nigeria (Abuja)
Id el Kabir
Tuesday, July 20, 2021 Eid al-Adha (Id ul-Adha) is an Islamic festival falling on the 10th day of the month of Dhul Hijja (Thou al-Hijja) to commemorate the willingness of Ibrahim (Abraham) to sacrifice his son.
Id el Kabir additional holiday
Wednesday, July 21, 2021 Id el Kabir additional holiday is a public holiday in Nigeria
Al-Hijra
Tuesday, August 10, 2021 Muharram is the first month of the Islamic calendar and a time of remembrance or mourning.
September Equinox
Wednesday, September 22, 2021 September Equinox in Nigeria (Abuja)
National Day
Friday, October 1, 2021 National Day is a public holiday in Nigeria
Id el Maulud
Tuesday, October 19, 2021 Mawlid, or Milad, marks the birth of the Islamic prophet Muhammed, or Mohamed, in the year 570 of the Gregorian calendar.
December Solstice
Tuesday, December 21, 2021 December Solstice in Nigeria (Abuja)
Sambisa Memorial Day
Wednesday, December 22, 2021 Sambisa Memorial Day is a local holiday in Nigeria
Christmas Eve
Friday, December 24, 2021 Christmas Eve is the day before Christmas Day and falls on December 24 in the Gregorian calendar.
Christmas Day
Saturday, December 25, 2021 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
Boxing Day
Sunday, December 26, 2021 Boxing Day is a public holiday in Nigeria
New Year's Eve
Friday, December 31, 2021 New Year’s Eve is the last day of the year, December 31, in the Gregorian calendar.