Republic of Korea has a total of 29 holidays in 2021. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year's Day
Friday, January 1, 2021 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Seollal Holiday
Thursday, February 11, 2021 Seollal Holiday is a public holiday in South Korea
Seollal
Friday, February 12, 2021 Chinese New Year is the first day of the Chinese calendar, which is a lunisolar calendar mainly used for traditional celebrations.
Seollal Holiday
Saturday, February 13, 2021 Seollal Holiday is a public holiday in South Korea
Valentine's Day
Sunday, February 14, 2021 Valentine’s Day is a special time to celebrate love, romance and friendship.
Independence Movement Day
Monday, March 1, 2021 Independence Movement Day is a national holiday in South Korea
March Equinox
Saturday, March 20, 2021 March Equinox in South Korea (Seoul)
Arbor Day
Monday, April 5, 2021 Arbor Day is a observance in South Korea
Labor Day
Saturday, May 1, 2021 Labor Day, or May Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Children's Day
Wednesday, May 5, 2021 Children's Day is a public holiday in South Korea
Parents' Day
Saturday, May 8, 2021 Parents' Day is a observance in South Korea
Teacher's Day
Saturday, May 15, 2021 Teacher's Day is a observance in South Korea
Buddha's Birthday
Wednesday, May 19, 2021 Buddha's Birthday is a public holiday in South Korea
Memorial Day
Sunday, June 6, 2021 Memorial Day is a public holiday in South Korea
June Solstice
Monday, June 21, 2021 June Solstice in South Korea (Seoul)
Constitution Day
Saturday, July 17, 2021 Constitution Day is a observance in South Korea
Liberation Day
Sunday, August 15, 2021 Liberation Day is a national holiday in South Korea
Chuseok Holiday
Monday, September 20, 2021 Chuseok Holiday is a public holiday in South Korea
Chuseok
Tuesday, September 21, 2021 Chuseok is a public holiday in South Korea
September Equinox
Wednesday, September 22, 2021 September Equinox in South Korea (Seoul)
Chuseok Holiday
Wednesday, September 22, 2021 Chuseok Holiday is a public holiday in South Korea
Armed Forces Day
Friday, October 1, 2021 Armed Forces Day is a observance in South Korea
National Foundation Day
Sunday, October 3, 2021 National Foundation Day is a national holiday in South Korea
Hangeul Proclamation Day
Saturday, October 9, 2021 Hangeul Proclamation Day is a national holiday in South Korea
Halloween
Sunday, October 31, 2021 Halloween is a festive occasion that is celebrated in many countries on October 31 each year.
December Solstice
Tuesday, December 21, 2021 December Solstice in South Korea (Seoul)
Christmas Eve
Friday, December 24, 2021 Christmas Eve is the day before Christmas Day and falls on December 24 in the Gregorian calendar.
Christmas Day
Saturday, December 25, 2021 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
New Year's Eve
Friday, December 31, 2021 New Year’s Eve is the last day of the year, December 31, in the Gregorian calendar.