Austria has a total of 36 holidays in 2021. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year's Day
Friday, January 1, 2021 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Epiphany
Wednesday, January 6, 2021 Epiphany is a Christian holiday celebrated globally on January 6 each year. It commemorates two events recorded in the Bible: the three wise men’s visit to baby Jesus; and Jesus’ baptism.
Saint Joseph's Day
Friday, March 19, 2021 Saint Joseph's Day is a state holiday in Austria
March Equinox
Saturday, March 20, 2021 March Equinox in Austria (Vienna)
Palm Sunday
Sunday, March 28, 2021 Palm Sunday is a Christian feast that commemorates Jesus Christ’s entry into Jerusalem. It is also the start of Holy Week.
Daylight Saving Time starts
Sunday, March 28, 2021 Daylight Saving Time starts in Austria
Good Friday
Friday, April 2, 2021 Good Friday is a global Christian observance two days before Easter Sunday.
Easter Sunday
Sunday, April 4, 2021 Easter Sunday commemorates Jesus Christ’s resurrection, according to Christian belief.
Easter Monday
Monday, April 5, 2021 Easter Monday is the day after Easter Sunday.
Labor Day / May Day
Saturday, May 1, 2021 Labor Day, or May Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Saint Florian's Day
Tuesday, May 4, 2021 Saint Florian's Day is a state holiday in Austria
Ascension Day
Thursday, May 13, 2021 Ascension Day is the 40th day of Easter. It is a religious holiday that commemorates the ascension of Jesus Christ into heaven.
Whit Sunday
Sunday, May 23, 2021 Many Christians all over the world annually observe Pentecost, also known as Whitsunday or Whit Sunday.
Whit Monday
Monday, May 24, 2021 Whit Monday, or Pentecost Monday, is a Christian holiday that falls on the day after Pentecost, which is also known as Whit Sunday or Whitsunday.
Corpus Christi
Thursday, June 3, 2021 Corpus Christi is a Christian feast in honor of the Holy Eucharist.
June Solstice
Monday, June 21, 2021 June Solstice in Austria (Vienna)
Assumption of Mary
Sunday, August 15, 2021 The Christian feast of the Assumption of Mary is on or around Aug 15 in most countries. A few celebrate Assumption Day at other times of the year.
Yom Kippur
Thursday, September 16, 2021 Yom Kippur (Day of Atonement) is an important Jewish holiday that centers on the themes of atonement and repentance.
September Equinox
Wednesday, September 22, 2021 September Equinox in Austria (Vienna)
Saint Rupert's Day
Friday, September 24, 2021 Saint Rupert's Day is a state holiday in Austria
European Heritage Days
Sunday, September 26, 2021 European Heritage Days is a observance in Austria
Plebiscite Day
Sunday, October 10, 2021 Plebiscite Day is a state holiday in Austria
National Day
Tuesday, October 26, 2021 National Day on October 26 is a public holiday in Austria.
Reformation Day
Sunday, October 31, 2021 Reformation Day is a observance in Austria
Daylight Saving Time ends
Sunday, October 31, 2021 Daylight Saving Time ends in Austria
All Saints' Day
Monday, November 1, 2021 Many churches honor all their saints on All Saints' Day, also known as All Hallows' Day.
All Souls' Day
Tuesday, November 2, 2021 All Souls’ Day falls on November 2 each year. It is a day of alms giving and prayers for the dead.
Saint Martin's Day
Thursday, November 11, 2021 Saint Martin's Day is a state holiday in Austria
Saint Leopold's Day
Monday, November 15, 2021 Saint Leopold's Day is a state holiday in Austria
First Advent Sunday
Sunday, November 28, 2021 The first Sunday of Advent marks the beginning of the Christian year.
Immaculate Conception
Wednesday, December 8, 2021 The Feast of the Immaculate Conception is a Christian observance on December 8 each year.
December Solstice
Tuesday, December 21, 2021 December Solstice in Austria (Vienna)
Christmas Eve
Friday, December 24, 2021 Christmas Eve is the day before Christmas Day and falls on December 24 in the Gregorian calendar.
Christmas Day
Saturday, December 25, 2021 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
St. Stephen's Day
Sunday, December 26, 2021 St. Stephen's Day is a national holiday in Austria
New Year's Eve
Friday, December 31, 2021 New Year’s Eve is the last day of the year, December 31, in the Gregorian calendar.