Republic of Korea has a total of 30 holidays in 2020. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year's Day
Wednesday, January 1, 2020 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Seollal Holiday
Friday, January 24, 2020 Seollal Holiday is a public holiday in South Korea
Seollal
Saturday, January 25, 2020 Chinese New Year is the first day of the Chinese calendar, which is a lunisolar calendar mainly used for traditional celebrations.
Seollal Holiday
Monday, January 27, 2020 Seollal Holiday is a public holiday in South Korea
Valentine's Day
Friday, February 14, 2020 Valentine’s Day is a special time to celebrate love, romance and friendship.
Independence Movement Day
Sunday, March 1, 2020 Independence Movement Day is a national holiday in South Korea
March Equinox
Friday, March 20, 2020 March Equinox in South Korea (Seoul)
Arbor Day
Sunday, April 5, 2020 Arbor Day is a observance in South Korea
National Assembly Election Day
Wednesday, April 15, 2020 National Assembly Election Day is a public holiday in South Korea
Buddha's Birthday
Thursday, April 30, 2020 Buddha's Birthday is a public holiday in South Korea
Labor Day
Friday, May 1, 2020 May Day, or Labor Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Children's Day
Tuesday, May 5, 2020 Children's Day is a public holiday in South Korea
Parents' Day
Friday, May 8, 2020 Parents' Day is a observance in South Korea
Teacher's Day
Friday, May 15, 2020 Teacher's Day is a observance in South Korea
Memorial Day
Saturday, June 6, 2020 Memorial Day is a public holiday in South Korea
June Solstice
Saturday, June 20, 2020 June Solstice in South Korea (Seoul)
Constitution Day
Friday, July 17, 2020 Constitution Day is a observance in South Korea
Liberation Day
Saturday, August 15, 2020 Liberation Day is a national holiday in South Korea
September Equinox
Tuesday, September 22, 2020 September Equinox in South Korea (Seoul)
Chuseok Holiday
Wednesday, September 30, 2020 Chuseok Holiday is a public holiday in South Korea
Chuseok
Thursday, October 1, 2020 Chuseok is a public holiday in South Korea
Armed Forces Day
Thursday, October 1, 2020 Armed Forces Day is a observance in South Korea
Chuseok Holiday
Friday, October 2, 2020 Chuseok Holiday is a public holiday in South Korea
National Foundation Day
Saturday, October 3, 2020 National Foundation Day is a national holiday in South Korea
Hangeul Proclamation Day
Friday, October 9, 2020 Hangeul Proclamation Day is a national holiday in South Korea
Halloween
Saturday, October 31, 2020 Halloween is a festive occasion that is celebrated in many countries on October 31 each year.
December Solstice
Monday, December 21, 2020 December Solstice in South Korea (Seoul)
Christmas Eve
Thursday, December 24, 2020 Christmas Eve is the day before Christmas Day and falls on December 24 in the Gregorian calendar.
Christmas Day
Friday, December 25, 2020 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
New Year's Eve
Thursday, December 31, 2020 New Year’s Eve is the last day of the year, December 31, in the Gregorian calendar.