Iraq has a total of 29 holidays in 2020. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year's Day
Wednesday, January 1, 2020 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Army Day
Monday, January 6, 2020 Army Day is a national holiday in Iraq
Rebellion Anniversary
Thursday, March 5, 2020 Rebellion Anniversary is a regional holiday in Iraq
Public Holiday for COVID-19 (Kurdistan only)
Thursday, March 12, 2020 Public Holiday for COVID-19 (Kurdistan only) is a regional holiday in Iraq
March Equinox
Friday, March 20, 2020 March Equinox in Iraq (Baghdad)
Public Holiday for COVID-19 (Kurdistan only)
Friday, March 20, 2020 Public Holiday for COVID-19 (Kurdistan only) is a regional holiday in Iraq
Nowruz
Saturday, March 21, 2020 Nowruz is a regional holiday in Iraq
Public Holiday for COVID-19 (Kurdistan only)
Sunday, March 22, 2020 Public Holiday for COVID-19 (Kurdistan only) is a regional holiday in Iraq
Baghdad Liberation Day
Thursday, April 9, 2020 Baghdad Liberation Day is a regional holiday in Iraq
Public Holiday for COVID-19 (Kurdistan only)
Friday, April 10, 2020 Public Holiday for COVID-19 (Kurdistan only) is a regional holiday in Iraq
Labor Day
Friday, May 1, 2020 Labor Day, or May Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Public Holiday for COVID-19 (Kurdistan only)
Saturday, May 2, 2020 Public Holiday for COVID-19 (Kurdistan only) is a regional holiday in Iraq
Eid al-Fitr holiday
Thursday, May 21, 2020 Eid al-Fitr holiday is a national holiday in Iraq
Eid al-Fitr
Sunday, May 24, 2020 Eid-al-Fitr is a holiday to mark the end of the Islamic month of Ramadan, during which Muslims fast during the hours of daylight.
Eid al-Fitr holiday
Monday, May 25, 2020 Eid al-Fitr holiday is a national holiday in Iraq
June Solstice
Saturday, June 20, 2020 June Solstice in Iraq (Baghdad)
Republic Day
Tuesday, July 14, 2020 Republic Day is a national holiday in Iraq
Eid al-Adha
Friday, July 31, 2020 Eid al-Adha (Id ul-Adha) is an Islamic festival falling on the 10th day of the month of Dhul Hijja (Thou al-Hijja) to commemorate the willingness of Ibrahim (Abraham) to sacrifice his son.
Eid al-Adha holiday
Saturday, August 1, 2020 Eid al-Adha holiday is a national holiday in Iraq
Islamic New Year Holiday
Thursday, August 20, 2020 Islamic New Year Holiday is a national holiday in Iraq
Islamic New Year
Friday, August 21, 2020 Muharram is the first month of the Islamic calendar and a time of remembrance or mourning.
Ashura
Sunday, August 30, 2020 Ashura is a national holiday in Iraq
September Equinox
Tuesday, September 22, 2020 September Equinox in Iraq (Baghdad)
Iraqi Independence Day
Saturday, October 3, 2020 Iraqi Independence Day is a national holiday in Iraq
The Prophet's Birthday
Thursday, October 29, 2020 Mawlid, or Milad, marks the birth of the Islamic prophet Muhammed, or Mohamed, in the year 570 of the Gregorian calendar.
Anniversary of Victory over ISIS
Thursday, December 10, 2020 Anniversary of Victory over ISIS is a national holiday in Iraq
December Solstice
Monday, December 21, 2020 December Solstice in Iraq (Baghdad)
Christmas Day
Friday, December 25, 2020 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
New Year's Eve
Thursday, December 31, 2020 New Year’s Eve is the last day of the year, December 31, in the Gregorian calendar.