South Africa has a total of 41 holidays in 2019. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downaloadble as a csv or json file. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date
New Year's Day
New Year’s Day is celebrated with a blend of both diversity and tradition in countries such as South Africa on January 1 each year.
Tuesday, January 1, 2019
Maha Shivaratri
Monday, March 4, 2019
March Equinox
Wednesday, March 20, 2019
Holi
Holi is a spring festival of colors celebrated by Hindus, Sikhs and others. It celebrates the triumph of good over evil and the upcoming season of spring. The festival can last up to sixteen days.
Thursday, March 21, 2019
Human Rights Day
Thursday, March 21, 2019
Isra and Mi'raj
Isra and Mi'raj (Isra Me'raj, Israa and Mi'raaj, Laylat Al-Isra wa Al-Miraj, Lailat al Miraj, Night Journey and Ascension to Heaven) marks the night that the Prophet Mohammad traveled from Mecca to Jerusalem, ascended to heaven and returned.
Wednesday, April 3, 2019
Good Friday
Good Friday is a global Christian observance two days before Easter Sunday.
Friday, April 19, 2019
Holy Saturday
Holy Saturday is the day before Easter Sunday.
Saturday, April 20, 2019
Easter Sunday
Easter Sunday commemorates Jesus Christ’s resurrection, according to Christian belief.
Sunday, April 21, 2019
Family Day
Monday, April 22, 2019
Freedom Day
Saturday, April 27, 2019
Workers' Day
May Day, or Labor Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Wednesday, May 1, 2019
Election Day
Wednesday, May 8, 2019
Mother's Day
Mother’s Day celebrates the achievements and efforts of mothers and mother figures.
Sunday, May 12, 2019
Ascension Day
Ascension Day is the 40th day of Easter. It is a religious holiday that commemorates the ascension of Jesus Christ into heaven.
Thursday, May 30, 2019
Laylatul Qadr (Night of Power)
Laylat al-Qadr commmemorates the time when Mohammad received the first verses of the Koran (Qu'ran).
Friday, May 31, 2019
Eid ul Fitr
Eid-al-Fitr is a holiday to mark the end of the Islamic month of Ramadan, during which Muslims fast during the hours of daylight.
Wednesday, June 5, 2019
Pentecost
Many Christians all over the world annually observe Pentecost, also known as Whitsunday or Whit Sunday.
Sunday, June 9, 2019
Father's Day
Father’s Day celebrates fatherhood and male parenting on different dates worldwide.
Sunday, June 16, 2019
Youth Day
Sunday, June 16, 2019
Youth Day observed
Monday, June 17, 2019
June Solstice
Friday, June 21, 2019
Nelson Mandela Day
Thursday, July 18, 2019
National Women's Day
Friday, August 9, 2019
Eid ul Adha
Eid al-Adha (Id ul-Adha) is an Islamic festival falling on the 10th day of the month of Dhul Hijja (Thou al-Hijja) to commemorate the willingness of Ibrahim (Abraham) to sacrifice his son.
Monday, August 12, 2019
Raksha Bandhan
Thursday, August 15, 2019
Janmashtami
Friday, August 23, 2019
Muharram/Islamic New Year
Muharram is the first month of the Islamic calendar and a time of remembrance or mourning.
Sunday, September 1, 2019
Ganesh Chaturthi
Monday, September 2, 2019
September Equinox
Monday, September 23, 2019
Heritage Day
Tuesday, September 24, 2019
Navaratri
Sunday, September 29, 2019
Dussehra
Monday, October 7, 2019
All Saints' Day
Many churches honor all their saints on All Saints' Day, also known as All Hallows' Day.
Friday, November 1, 2019
Milad un Nabi (Mawlid)
Mawlid, or Milad, marks the birth of the Islamic prophet Muhammed, or Mohamed, in the year 570 of the Gregorian calendar.
Sunday, November 10, 2019
Day of Reconciliation
Monday, December 16, 2019
December Solstice
Sunday, December 22, 2019
Christmas Eve
Christmas Eve is the day before Christmas Day and falls on December 24 in the Gregorian calendar.
Tuesday, December 24, 2019
Christmas Day
Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
Wednesday, December 25, 2019
Day of Goodwill
Thursday, December 26, 2019
New Year's Eve
New Year’s Eve is the last day of the year, December 31, in the Gregorian calendar.
Tuesday, December 31, 2019