Nigeria has a total of 37 holidays in 2019. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year's Day
Tuesday, January 1, 2019 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
President Buhari's Re-Election Campaign Holiday
Monday, January 21, 2019 President Buhari's Re-Election Campaign Holiday is a local holiday in Nigeria
Valentine's Day
Thursday, February 14, 2019 Valentine’s Day is a special time to celebrate love, romance and friendship.
Election Day
Friday, February 22, 2019 Election Day is a public holiday in Nigeria
Women's Day
Friday, March 8, 2019 Women's Day is a observance in Nigeria
March Equinox
Wednesday, March 20, 2019 March Equinox in Nigeria (Abuja)
Mothering Sunday
Sunday, March 31, 2019 Mothering Sunday is a observance in Nigeria
Good Friday
Friday, April 19, 2019 Good Friday is a global Christian observance two days before Easter Sunday.
Holy Saturday
Saturday, April 20, 2019 Holy Saturday is the day before Easter Sunday.
Easter Sunday
Sunday, April 21, 2019 Easter Sunday commemorates Jesus Christ’s resurrection, according to Christian belief.
Easter Monday
Monday, April 22, 2019 Easter Monday is the day after Easter Sunday.
Presidential Visit
Thursday, April 25, 2019 Presidential Visit is a local holiday in Nigeria
Workers' Day
Wednesday, May 1, 2019 May Day, or Labor Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Children's Day
Monday, May 27, 2019 Children's Day is a observance in Nigeria
Presidential Inauguration Holiday
Wednesday, May 29, 2019 Presidential Inauguration Holiday is a public holiday in Nigeria
Id el Fitr
Tuesday, June 4, 2019 Eid-al-Fitr is a holiday to mark the end of the Islamic month of Ramadan, during which Muslims fast during the hours of daylight.
Id el Fitr holiday
Wednesday, June 5, 2019 Id el Fitr holiday is a public holiday in Nigeria
Democracy Day
Wednesday, June 12, 2019 Democracy Day is a public holiday in Nigeria
Father's Day
Sunday, June 16, 2019 Father's Day is a observance in Nigeria
June Solstice
Friday, June 21, 2019 June Solstice in Nigeria (Abuja)
Id el Kabir
Monday, August 12, 2019 Eid al-Adha (Id ul-Adha) is an Islamic festival falling on the 10th day of the month of Dhul Hijja (Thou al-Hijja) to commemorate the willingness of Ibrahim (Abraham) to sacrifice his son.
Id el Kabir additional holiday
Tuesday, August 13, 2019 Id el Kabir additional holiday is a public holiday in Nigeria
Isese Day
Tuesday, August 20, 2019 Isese Day is a local holiday in Nigeria
Al-Hijra observed
Friday, August 30, 2019 Muharram is the first month of the Islamic calendar and a time of remembrance or mourning.
Al-Hijra
Saturday, August 31, 2019 Muharram is the first month of the Islamic calendar and a time of remembrance or mourning.
Al-Hijra observed
Monday, September 2, 2019 Muharram is the first month of the Islamic calendar and a time of remembrance or mourning.
September Equinox
Monday, September 23, 2019 September Equinox in Nigeria (Abuja)
National Day
Tuesday, October 1, 2019 National Day is a public holiday in Nigeria
Id el Maulud
Saturday, November 9, 2019 Mawlid, or Milad, marks the birth of the Islamic prophet Muhammed, or Mohamed, in the year 570 of the Gregorian calendar.
Id el Maulud Holiday
Monday, November 11, 2019 Id el Maulud Holiday is a public holiday in Nigeria
Nnamdi Azikiwe Day
Monday, November 18, 2019 Nnamdi Azikiwe Day is a local holiday in Nigeria
December Solstice
Sunday, December 22, 2019 December Solstice in Nigeria (Abuja)
Sambisa Memorial Day
Sunday, December 22, 2019 Sambisa Memorial Day is a local holiday in Nigeria
Christmas Eve
Tuesday, December 24, 2019 Christmas Eve is the day before Christmas Day and falls on December 24 in the Gregorian calendar.
Christmas Day
Wednesday, December 25, 2019 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
Boxing Day
Thursday, December 26, 2019 Boxing Day is a public holiday in Nigeria
New Year's Eve
Tuesday, December 31, 2019 New Year’s Eve is the last day of the year, December 31, in the Gregorian calendar.