Israel has a total of 52 holidays in 2019. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downaloadble as a csv or json file. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Weekday Date
Tu Bishvat
Tu B'Shevat is the 15th day of the Jewish month of Shevat and is the birthday for trees that bear fruit or nuts.
Monday January 21
March Equinox
Wednesday March 20
Ta'anit Esther (Fast of Esther)
Wednesday March 20
Erev Purim
Wednesday March 20
Purim (Tel Aviv)
Purim is a Jewish holiday to celebrate the deliverance of the Jewish people from a plot to kill all of them during the Persian empire, as told in the scroll of Esther.
Thursday March 21
Shushan Purim (Jerusalem)
Friday March 22
Yom HaAliyah
Monday April 15
Erev Pesach
Friday April 19
Pesach I (First day of Passover)
During Passover, the Jewish people remember the liberation of the Israelites from slavery, their exodus from Egypt, and that their first-born children were spared during the 10th plague, as told in the Haggadah.
Saturday April 20
Pesach II (Passover)
Sunday April 21
Pesach III (Passover)
Monday April 22
Pesach IV (Passover)
Tuesday April 23
Pesach V (Passover)
Wednesday April 24
Pesach VI (Passover)
Thursday April 25
Pesach VII (Last day of Passover)
The last day of Passover marks the end of the Passover period, which lasts for seven or eight days.
Friday April 26
Yom HaShoah/Holocaust Memorial Day
Yom HaShoah is a Jewish day of remembrance for the lives and the heroism of the six million Jewish people who died in the Holocaust in the years leading up to and during World War II.
Thursday May 2
Yom HaZikaron (Memorial Day)
Wednesday May 8
Yom HaAtzmaut (Independence Day)
Israel's Independence Day, also known as Yom Ha'atzmaut, marks the anniversary of the Declaration of Independence of Israel.
Thursday May 9
Lag B'Omer
Lag B'Omer (Lag Ba'Omer, Lag La'omer, Lag L'Omer) is the 33rd day of the Counting of the Omer, which is a period of 49 days between the Jewish holidays of Passover and Shavuot.
Thursday May 23
Yom Yerushalayim (Jerusalem Day)
Yom Yerushalayim (Jerusalem Day) is the anniversary of Jerusalem's reunification.
Sunday June 2
Erev Shavuot
Saturday June 8
Shavuot (Pentecost)
Shavuot, sometimes known as the Festival of the Weeks, is a Jewish holiday to mark the end of the Counting of the Omer and the anniversary of the day when Jewish people received the Torah.
Sunday June 9
June Solstice
Friday June 21
Fast of Shiva Asar B'Tammuz
The 17th day of the Jewish month of Tammuz is a day of mourning to mark the anniversary of five calamities that befell the Jewish people. It is known as the Fast of Shiva Asar B'Tammuz.
Sunday July 21
Erev Tisha B'Av
Saturday August 10
Tisha B'Av
Tisha B' Av is a Jewish day of prayer and fasting. It is observed on the ninth day of the month of Av in the Jewish calendar. It commemorate the anniversary of five calamities, including the destruction of the First Temple and the Second Temple.
Sunday August 11
September Equinox
Monday September 23
Erev Rosh Hashana
Sunday September 29
Rosh Hashana (New Year)
Rosh Hashana, commonly known as the Jewish New Year, is the first day of Tishrei, the seventh month in the Hebrew calendar.
Monday September 30
Rosh Hashana II (New Year day 2)
Tuesday October 1
Tzom Gedaliah
Wednesday October 2
Erev Yom Kippur
Tuesday October 8
Yom Kippur
Yom Kippur (Day of Atonement) is an important Jewish holiday that centers on the themes of atonement and repentance.
Wednesday October 9
Erev Sukkot
Sunday October 13
Sukkot I
The first day of Sukkot marks the start of the Sukkot festival, celebrated among Jewish communities worldwide.
Monday October 14
Sukkot II
Tuesday October 15
Sukkot III
Wednesday October 16
Sukkot IV
Thursday October 17
Sukkot V
Friday October 18
Sukkot VI
Saturday October 19
Sukkot VII/Hoshanah Rabah
The last day of Sukkot marks the end of the Sukkot festival, celebrated among Jewish communities worldwide.
Sunday October 20
Shmini Atzeret/Simchat Torah
Monday October 21
Yom HaAliyah School Observance
Tuesday November 5
December Solstice
Sunday December 22
Hanukkah I (Holiday of lights)
Hanukkah, also known as Chanukah or the Festival of Lights, is celebrated for 8 days between the 25th day of the month of Kislev to the second day of Tevet in the Hebrew calendar.
Monday December 23
Hanukkah II
Tuesday December 24
Hanukkah III
Wednesday December 25
Hanukkah IV
Thursday December 26
Hanukkah V
Friday December 27
Hanukkah VI/Rosh Chodesh Tevet
Saturday December 28
Hanukkah VII
Sunday December 29
Hanukkah VIII
Hanukkah, also known as Chanukah or the Festival of Lights, is celebrated for eight days between the 25th day of the month of Kislev to the second day of Tevet in the Hebrew calendar.
Monday December 30