Vanuatu has a total of 18 holidays in 2019. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year's Day
Tuesday, January 1, 2019 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Father Lini Day
Thursday, February 21, 2019 Father Lini Day is a public holiday in Vanuatu
Custom Chief's Day
Tuesday, March 5, 2019 Custom Chief's Day is a public holiday in Vanuatu
March Equinox
Wednesday, March 20, 2019 March Equinox in Vanuatu (Port Vila)
Good Friday
Friday, April 19, 2019 Good Friday is a global Christian observance two days before Easter Sunday.
Easter Monday
Monday, April 22, 2019 Easter Monday is the day after Easter Sunday.
Labor Day / May Day
Wednesday, May 1, 2019 May Day, or Labor Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Ascension Day
Thursday, May 30, 2019 Ascension Day is the 40th day of Easter. It is a religious holiday that commemorates the ascension of Jesus Christ into heaven.
June Solstice
Friday, June 21, 2019 June Solstice in Vanuatu (Port Vila)
Children's Day
Wednesday, July 24, 2019 Children's Day is a public holiday in Vanuatu
Independence Day
Tuesday, July 30, 2019 Independence Day is a public holiday in Vanuatu
Assumption of Mary
Thursday, August 15, 2019 The Christian feast of the Assumption of Mary is on or around Aug 15 in most countries. A few celebrate Assumption Day at other times of the year.
September Equinox
Monday, September 23, 2019 September Equinox in Vanuatu (Port Vila)
Constitution Day
Saturday, October 5, 2019 Constitution Day is a public holiday in Vanuatu
Unity Day
Friday, November 29, 2019 Unity Day is a public holiday in Vanuatu
December Solstice
Sunday, December 22, 2019 December Solstice in Vanuatu (Port Vila)
Christmas Day
Wednesday, December 25, 2019 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
Family Day
Thursday, December 26, 2019 Family Day is a public holiday in Vanuatu