Republic of Korea has a total of 28 holidays in 2019. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downaloadble as a csv or json file. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Weekday Date
New Year's Day
New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Tuesday January 1
Seollal Holiday
Wednesday February 6
Seollal
Chinese New Year is the first day of the Chinese calendar, which is a lunisolar calendar mainly used for traditional celebrations.
Tuesday February 5
Valentine's Day
Valentine’s Day is a special time to celebrate love, romance and friendship.
Thursday February 14
Independence Movement Day
Friday March 1
March Equinox
Wednesday March 20
Arbor Day
Friday April 5
Labor Day
May Day, or Labor Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Wednesday May 1
Children's Day
Sunday May 5
Children's Day observed
Monday May 6
Parents' Day
Wednesday May 8
Buddha's Birthday
Sunday May 12
Teacher's Day
Wednesday May 15
Memorial Day
Thursday June 6
June Solstice
Friday June 21
Constitution Day
Wednesday July 17
Liberation Day
Thursday August 15
Chuseok Holiday
Saturday September 14
Chuseok
Friday September 13
September Equinox
Monday September 23
Armed Forces Day
Tuesday October 1
National Foundation Day
Thursday October 3
Hangeul Proclamation Day
Wednesday October 9
Halloween
Thursday October 31
December Solstice
Sunday December 22
Christmas Eve
Christmas Eve is the day before Christmas Day and falls on December 24 in the Gregorian calendar.
Tuesday December 24
Christmas Day
Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
Wednesday December 25
New Year's Eve
New Year’s Eve is the last day of the year, December 31, in the Gregorian calendar.
Tuesday December 31