Iraq has a total of 15 holidays in 2019. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downaloadble as a csv or json file. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Weekday Date Type
New Year's Day
New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Tuesday January 1 National holiday
Army Day
Sunday January 6 National holiday
Labor Day
May Day, or Labor Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Wednesday May 1 National holiday
Eid al-Fitr
Eid-al-Fitr is a holiday to mark the end of the Islamic month of Ramadan, during which Muslims fast during the hours of daylight.
Wednesday June 5 National holiday
Eid al-Fitr holiday
Friday June 7 National holiday
Republic Day
Sunday July 14 National holiday
Eid al-Adha
Eid al-Adha (Id ul-Adha) is an Islamic festival falling on the 10th day of the month of Dhul Hijja (Thou al-Hijja) to commemorate the willingness of Ibrahim (Abraham) to sacrifice his son.
Monday August 12 National holiday
Eid al-Adha holiday
Thursday August 15 National holiday
Islamic New Year
Muharram is the first month of the Islamic calendar and a time of remembrance or mourning.
Sunday September 1 National holiday
Ashura
Tuesday September 10 National holiday
Iraqi Independence Day
Thursday October 3 National holiday
The Prophet's Birthday
Mawlid, or Milad, marks the birth of the Islamic prophet Muhammed, or Mohamed, in the year 570 of the Gregorian calendar.
Sunday November 10 National holiday
Anniversary of Victory over ISIS
Tuesday December 10 National holiday
Christmas Day
Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
Wednesday December 25 National holiday
New Year's Eve
New Year’s Eve is the last day of the year, December 31, in the Gregorian calendar.
Tuesday December 31 Observance