Iraq has a total of 22 holidays in 2019. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year's Day
Tuesday, January 1, 2019 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Army Day
Sunday, January 6, 2019 Army Day is a national holiday in Iraq
Rebellion Anniversary
Tuesday, March 5, 2019 Rebellion Anniversary is a regional holiday in Iraq
March Equinox
Wednesday, March 20, 2019 March Equinox in Iraq (Baghdad)
Nowruz
Thursday, March 21, 2019 Nowruz is a regional holiday in Iraq
Baghdad Liberation Day
Tuesday, April 9, 2019 Baghdad Liberation Day is a regional holiday in Iraq
Labor Day
Wednesday, May 1, 2019 Labor Day, or May Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Eid al-Fitr
Tuesday, June 4, 2019 Eid-al-Fitr is a holiday to mark the end of the Islamic month of Ramadan, during which Muslims fast during the hours of daylight.
Eid al-Fitr holiday
Wednesday, June 5, 2019 Eid al-Fitr holiday is a national holiday in Iraq
June Solstice
Friday, June 21, 2019 June Solstice in Iraq (Baghdad)
Republic Day
Sunday, July 14, 2019 Republic Day is a national holiday in Iraq
Eid al-Adha
Monday, August 12, 2019 Eid al-Adha (Id ul-Adha) is an Islamic festival falling on the 10th day of the month of Dhul Hijja (Thou al-Hijja) to commemorate the willingness of Ibrahim (Abraham) to sacrifice his son.
Eid al-Adha holiday
Tuesday, August 13, 2019 Eid al-Adha holiday is a national holiday in Iraq
Islamic New Year
Saturday, August 31, 2019 Muharram is the first month of the Islamic calendar and a time of remembrance or mourning.
Ashura
Tuesday, September 10, 2019 Ashura is a national holiday in Iraq
September Equinox
Monday, September 23, 2019 September Equinox in Iraq (Baghdad)
Iraqi Independence Day
Thursday, October 3, 2019 Iraqi Independence Day is a national holiday in Iraq
The Prophet's Birthday
Saturday, November 9, 2019 Mawlid, or Milad, marks the birth of the Islamic prophet Muhammed, or Mohamed, in the year 570 of the Gregorian calendar.
Anniversary of Victory over ISIS
Tuesday, December 10, 2019 Anniversary of Victory over ISIS is a national holiday in Iraq
December Solstice
Sunday, December 22, 2019 December Solstice in Iraq (Baghdad)
Christmas Day
Wednesday, December 25, 2019 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
New Year's Eve
Tuesday, December 31, 2019 New Year’s Eve is the last day of the year, December 31, in the Gregorian calendar.