Austria has a total of 21 holidays in 2019. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downaloadble as a csv or json file. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Weekday Date Type
New Year's Day
New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Tuesday January 1 National holiday
Epiphany
Epiphany is a Christian holiday celebrated globally on January 6 each year. It commemorates two events recorded in the Bible: the three wise men’s visit to baby Jesus; and Jesus’ baptism.
Sunday January 6 National holiday
Palm Sunday
Palm Sunday is a Christian feast that commemorates Jesus Christ’s entry into Jerusalem. It is also the start of Holy Week.
Sunday April 14 Observance
Good Friday
Good Friday is a global Christian observance two days before Easter Sunday.
Friday April 19 Observance
Easter Day
Easter Sunday commemorates Jesus Christ’s resurrection, according to Christian belief.
Sunday April 21 Observance
Easter Monday
Easter Monday is the day after Easter Sunday.
Monday April 22 National holiday
Labor Day / May Day
May Day, or Labor Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Wednesday May 1 National holiday
Ascension Day
Ascension Day is the 40th day of Easter. It is a religious holiday that commemorates the ascension of Jesus Christ into heaven.
Thursday May 30 National holiday
Whit Sunday
Many Christians all over the world annually observe Pentecost, also known as Whitsunday or Whit Sunday.
Sunday June 9 Observance
Whit Monday
Whit Monday, or Pentecost Monday, is a Christian holiday that falls on the day after Pentecost, which is also known as Whit Sunday or Whitsunday.
Monday June 10 National holiday
Corpus Christi
Corpus Christi is a Christian feast in honor of the Holy Eucharist.
Thursday June 20 National holiday
Assumption of Mary
The feast day of the Assumption of Mary, also known as Assumption Day, is the principal feast day of the Virgin Mother Mary, according to Christian tradition. It is celebrated annually on or around August 15 although some countries celebrate the day at other times of the year.
Thursday August 15 National holiday
National Day
National Day on October 26 is a public holiday in Austria.
Saturday October 26 National holiday
All Saints' Day
Many churches honor all their saints on All Saints' Day, also known as All Hallows' Day.
Friday November 1 National holiday
All Souls' Day
All Souls’ Day falls on November 2 each year. It is a day of alms giving and prayers for the dead.
Saturday November 2 Observance
First Advent Sunday
The first Sunday of Advent marks the beginning of the Christian year.
Sunday December 1 Observance
Immaculate Conception
The Feast of the Immaculate Conception is a Christian observance on December 8 each year.
Sunday December 8 National holiday
Christmas Eve
Christmas Eve is the day before Christmas Day and falls on December 24 in the Gregorian calendar.
Tuesday December 24 Observance
Christmas Day
Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
Wednesday December 25 National holiday
St. Stephen's Day
Thursday December 26 National holiday
New Year's Eve
New Year’s Eve is the last day of the year, December 31, in the Gregorian calendar.
Tuesday December 31 Observance