Republic of Korea has a total of 33 holidays in 2018. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downaloadble as a csv or json file. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Weekday Date Type
New Year's Day
New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Monday January 1 National holiday
2018 Winter Olympics start
Friday February 9 Observance
Valentine's Day
Wednesday February 14 Observance
Seollal Holiday
Saturday February 17 National holiday
Seollal
Chinese New Year is the first day of the Chinese calendar, which is a lunisolar calendar mainly used for traditional celebrations.
Friday February 16 National holiday
2018 Winter Olympics end
Sunday February 25 Observance
Independence Movement Day
Thursday March 1 National holiday
2018 Winter Paralympics start
Friday March 9 Observance
2018 Winter Paralympics end
Sunday March 18 Observance
March Equinox
Tuesday March 20 Season
Arbor Day
Thursday April 5 Observance
Labor Day
May Day, or Labor Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Tuesday May 1 Common local holiday
Children's Day
Saturday May 5 National holiday
Children's Day observed
Monday May 7 National holiday
Parents' Day
Tuesday May 8 Observance
Teacher's Day
Tuesday May 15 Observance
Buddha's Birthday
Tuesday May 22 National holiday
Memorial Day
Wednesday June 6 National holiday
Local Election Day
Wednesday June 13 National holiday
June Solstice
Thursday June 21 Season
Constitution Day
Tuesday July 17 Observance
Liberation Day
Wednesday August 15 National holiday
September Equinox
Sunday September 23 Season
Chuseok Holiday
Wednesday September 26 National holiday
Chuseok
Monday September 24 National holiday
Armed Forces Day
Monday October 1 Observance
National Foundation Day
Wednesday October 3 National holiday
Hangeul Proclamation Day
Tuesday October 9 National holiday
Halloween
Wednesday October 31 Observance
December Solstice
Friday December 21 Season
Christmas Eve
Christmas Eve is the day before Christmas Day and falls on December 24 in the Gregorian calendar.
Monday December 24 Observance
Christmas Day
Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
Tuesday December 25 National holiday
New Year's Eve
New Year’s Eve is the last day of the year, December 31, in the Gregorian calendar.
Monday December 31 Observance