Republic of Korea has a total of 28 holidays in 2017. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downaloadble as a csv or json file. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Weekday Date Type
New Year's Day
New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Sunday January 1 National holiday
Seollal Holiday
Monday January 30 National holiday
Seollal
Chinese New Year is the first day of the Chinese calendar, which is a lunisolar calendar mainly used for traditional celebrations.
Saturday January 28 National holiday
Valentine's Day
Tuesday February 14 Observance
Independence Movement Day
Wednesday March 1 National holiday
March Equinox
Monday March 20 Season
Arbor Day
Wednesday April 5 Observance
Labor Day
May Day, or Labor Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Monday May 1 Common local holiday
Buddha's Birthday
Wednesday May 3 National holiday
Children's Day
Friday May 5 National holiday
Parents' Day
Monday May 8 Observance
Presidential Election
Tuesday May 9 National holiday
Teacher's Day
Monday May 15 Observance
Memorial Day
Tuesday June 6 National holiday
June Solstice
Wednesday June 21 Season
Constitution Day
Monday July 17 Observance
Liberation Day
Tuesday August 15 National holiday
September Equinox
Friday September 22 Season
Armed Forces Day
Sunday October 1 Observance
Chuseok Holiday
Friday October 6 National holiday
National Foundation Day
Tuesday October 3 National holiday
Chuseok
Wednesday October 4 National holiday
Hangeul Proclamation Day
Monday October 9 National holiday
Halloween
Tuesday October 31 Observance
December Solstice
Thursday December 21 Season
Christmas Eve
Christmas Eve is the day before Christmas Day and falls on December 24 in the Gregorian calendar.
Sunday December 24 Observance
Christmas Day
Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
Monday December 25 National holiday
New Year's Eve
New Year’s Eve is the last day of the year, December 31, in the Gregorian calendar.
Sunday December 31 Observance