Niger has a total of 18 holidays in 2023. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year
Sunday, January 1, 2023 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
March Equinox
Monday, March 20, 2023 March Equinox in Niger (Niamey)
Easter Monday
Monday, April 10, 2023 Easter Monday is the day after Easter Sunday.
Lailat al-Qadr
Tuesday, April 18, 2023 Laylat al-Qadr commmemorates the time when Mohammad received the first verses of the Koran (Qu'ran).
Eid al-Fitr
Saturday, April 22, 2023 Eid al-Fitr is a holiday to mark the end of the Islamic month of Ramadan, during which Muslims fast during the hours of daylight.
Concord Day
Monday, April 24, 2023 Concord Day is a public holiday in Niger
Labour Day
Monday, May 1, 2023 Labor Day, International Workers' Day, and May Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Father's Day
Sunday, June 18, 2023 Father’s Day celebrates fatherhood and male parenting on different dates worldwide.
June Solstice
Wednesday, June 21, 2023 June Solstice in Niger (Niamey)
Eid al-Adha
Thursday, June 29, 2023 Eid al-Adha (Id ul-Adha) is an Islamic festival falling on the 10th day of the month of Dhul Hijja (Thou al-Hijja) to commemorate the willingness of Ibrahim (Abraham) to sacrifice his son.
Eid al-Adha Holiday
Friday, June 30, 2023 Eid al-Adha Holiday is a public holiday in Niger
Muharram
Wednesday, July 19, 2023 Muharram is the first month of the Islamic calendar and a time of remembrance or mourning.
Nigerien Independence Day
Thursday, August 3, 2023 Nigerien Independence Day is a public holiday in Niger
September Equinox
Saturday, September 23, 2023 September Equinox in Niger (Niamey)
The Prophet's Birthday
Wednesday, September 27, 2023 Mawlid, or Milad, marks the birth of the Islamic prophet Muhammed, or Mohamed, in the year 570 of the Gregorian calendar.
Nigerien Republic Day
Monday, December 18, 2023 Nigerien Republic Day is a public holiday in Niger
December Solstice
Friday, December 22, 2023 December Solstice in Niger (Niamey)
Christmas Day
Monday, December 25, 2023 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.