Maldives has a total of 21 holidays in 2023. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year's Day
Sunday, January 1, 2023 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Public Holiday
Monday, February 6, 2023 Public Holiday is a public holiday in Maldives
March Equinox
Monday, March 20, 2023 March Equinox in Maldives (Male)
Ramadan Start
Thursday, March 23, 2023 Ramadan is a period of prayer, reflection and fasting for many Muslims worldwide. It is the ninth month in the Islamic calendar.
Eid-ul-Fithr
Friday, April 21, 2023 Eid al-Fitr is a holiday to mark the end of the Islamic month of Ramadan, during which Muslims fast during the hours of daylight.
Eid-ul-Fithr Holiday
Saturday, April 22, 2023 Eid-ul-Fithr Holiday is a public holiday in Maldives
Labor Day / May Day
Monday, May 1, 2023 Labor Day, International Workers' Day, and May Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
June Solstice
Wednesday, June 21, 2023 June Solstice in Maldives (Male)
Hajj Day
Tuesday, June 27, 2023 Hajj Day is a public holiday in Maldives
Eid-ul Al'haa
Wednesday, June 28, 2023 Eid al-Adha (Id ul-Adha) is an Islamic festival falling on the 10th day of the month of Dhul Hijja (Thou al-Hijja) to commemorate the willingness of Ibrahim (Abraham) to sacrifice his son.
Eid-ul Al'haa Holiday
Thursday, June 29, 2023 Eid-ul Al'haa Holiday is a bank and government holiday in Maldives
Muharram/Islamic New Year
Wednesday, July 19, 2023 Muharram is the first month of the Islamic calendar and a time of remembrance or mourning.
Independence Day
Wednesday, July 26, 2023 Independence Day is a public holiday in Maldives
Independence Day Holiday
Thursday, July 27, 2023 Independence Day Holiday is a public holiday in Maldives
National Day
Saturday, September 16, 2023 National Day is a public holiday in Maldives
September Equinox
Saturday, September 23, 2023 September Equinox in Maldives (Male)
Milad un Nabi (Mawlid)
Wednesday, September 27, 2023 Mawlid, or Milad, marks the birth of the Islamic prophet Muhammed, or Mohamed, in the year 570 of the Gregorian calendar.
The Day Maldives Embraced Islam
Monday, October 16, 2023 The Day Maldives Embraced Islam is a public holiday in Maldives
Victory Day
Friday, November 3, 2023 Victory Day is a public holiday in Maldives
Republic Day
Saturday, November 11, 2023 Republic Day is a public holiday in Maldives
December Solstice
Friday, December 22, 2023 December Solstice in Maldives (Male)
API icon

Start using our Holiday API

Use our Holiday data in your applications programmatically. No credit card is required to start.

Worldwide 2023 Holidays By Months
January 2023
February 2023
March 2023
April 2023
May 2023
June 2023
July 2023
August 2023
September 2023
October 2023
November 2023
December 2023