Ethiopia has a total of 17 holidays in 2023. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
Ethiopian Christmas Day
Saturday, January 7, 2023 Many Orthodox churches annually celebrate Christmas Day on or around January 7. This event commemorates the story of Jesus Christ’s birth, according to the Christian Bible.
Epiphany / Timkat
Thursday, January 19, 2023 Epiphany / Timkat is a public holiday in Ethiopia
Adwa Victory Day
Thursday, March 2, 2023 Adwa Victory Day is a public holiday in Ethiopia
March Equinox
Monday, March 20, 2023 March Equinox in Ethiopia (Addis Ababa)
Ethiopian Good Friday
Friday, April 14, 2023 Millions of Orthodox Christians around the world annually observe Good Friday to commemorate the events leading up to Jesus Christ's crucifixion.
Fasika
Sunday, April 16, 2023 Millions of Orthodox Christians around the world often celebrate Easter Sunday at a different time to the date set by many western churches.
Eid ul Fitr
Saturday, April 22, 2023 Eid al-Fitr is a holiday to mark the end of the Islamic month of Ramadan, during which Muslims fast during the hours of daylight.
International Labor Day
Monday, May 1, 2023 Labor Day, International Workers' Day, and May Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Patriots' Day
Friday, May 5, 2023 Patriots' Day is a public holiday in Ethiopia
Derg Downfall Day
Sunday, May 28, 2023 Derg Downfall Day is a public holiday in Ethiopia
June Solstice
Wednesday, June 21, 2023 June Solstice in Ethiopia (Addis Ababa)
Eid al-Adha
Thursday, June 29, 2023 Eid al-Adha (Id ul-Adha) is an Islamic festival falling on the 10th day of the month of Dhul Hijja (Thou al-Hijja) to commemorate the willingness of Ibrahim (Abraham) to sacrifice his son.
Ethiopian New Year
Tuesday, September 12, 2023 Ethiopian New Year is a public holiday in Ethiopia
September Equinox
Saturday, September 23, 2023 September Equinox in Ethiopia (Addis Ababa)
The Prophet's Birthday
Wednesday, September 27, 2023 Mawlid, or Milad, marks the birth of the Islamic prophet Muhammed, or Mohamed, in the year 570 of the Gregorian calendar.
Meskel
Thursday, September 28, 2023 Meskel is a public holiday in Ethiopia
December Solstice
Friday, December 22, 2023 December Solstice in Ethiopia (Addis Ababa)