Spain has a total of 74 holidays in 2023. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year's Day
Sunday, January 1, 2023 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
New Year's Day Holiday
Monday, January 2, 2023 New Year's Day Holiday is a autonomous community holiday in Spain
Reconquest Day
Monday, January 2, 2023 Reconquest Day is a provincial holiday in Spain
Epiphany
Friday, January 6, 2023 Epiphany is a public holiday and the day most Christmas presentes are exchanged in Spain.
Day of Saint Ildefonso
Monday, January 23, 2023 Day of Saint Ildefonso is a observance in Spain
St. Valero's Feast
Sunday, January 29, 2023 St. Valero's Feast is a provincial holiday in Spain
Valentine's Day
Tuesday, February 14, 2023 February 14 is Valentine's Day or Saint Valentine's Feast. The day of love owes its origins to ancient Roman and European Christian traditions.
Carnival Tuesday
Tuesday, February 21, 2023 Shrove Tuesday is a religious holiday before the fasting period of Lent. It is celebrated by eating pancakes and holding Carnival parades.
Ash Wednesday
Wednesday, February 22, 2023 Ash Wednesday marks the first day of Lent in western Christian churches.
Day of Andalucía
Tuesday, February 28, 2023 The Day of Andalucía, also known as Andalucía Day, is an annual public holiday in the Andalucía autonomous community in Spain on February 28.
Day of the Balearic Islands
Wednesday, March 1, 2023 The Day of the Balearic Islands is held on March 1 to remember the date when the Balearic Islands' Statute of Autonomy came into effect. It is a local public holiday in this area in Spain.
Fifth of March
Monday, March 6, 2023 Fifth of March is a provincial holiday in Spain
Father's Day
Sunday, March 19, 2023 Father’s Day celebrates fatherhood and male parenting on different dates worldwide.
San Jose
Sunday, March 19, 2023 Saint Joseph's Day honors St Joseph, the Virgin Mary's spouse. It is a public holiday in some parts of Spain on March 19 each year.
Day off for San Jose
Monday, March 20, 2023 Saint Joseph's Day honors St Joseph, the Virgin Mary's spouse. It is a public holiday in some parts of Spain on March 19 each year.
March Equinox
Monday, March 20, 2023 March Equinox in Spain (Madrid)
Daylight Saving Time starts
Sunday, March 26, 2023 Daylight Saving Time starts in Spain
Palm Sunday
Sunday, April 2, 2023 Palm Sunday is a Christian feast that commemorates Jesus Christ’s entry into Jerusalem. It is also the start of Holy Week.
Maundy Thursday
Thursday, April 6, 2023 Maundy Thursday is a Christian observance on the Thursday during Holy Week. It is the day before Good Friday.
Good Friday
Friday, April 7, 2023 Good Friday is a global Christian observance two days before Easter Sunday.
Easter Sunday
Sunday, April 9, 2023 Easter Sunday commemorates Jesus Christ’s resurrection, according to Christian belief.
Easter Monday
Monday, April 10, 2023 Easter Monday is the day after Easter Sunday.
Sermon of the Tortillas
Friday, April 14, 2023 Sermon of the Tortillas is a observance in Spain
Eid al-Fitr
Saturday, April 22, 2023 Eid al-Fitr is a holiday to mark the end of the Islamic month of Ramadan, during which Muslims fast during the hours of daylight.
Santa Faz
Sunday, April 23, 2023 Santa Faz is a observance in Spain
Day of Aragón
Sunday, April 23, 2023 The Day of Aragon celebrates the Spanish region of Aragon's culture and history. It is an annual local public holiday on April 23.
St George's Day
Sunday, April 23, 2023 St George's Day is an occasion for people in Catalonia to give loved ones a rose and a book.
Day off for Day of Aragón
Monday, April 24, 2023 The Day of Aragon celebrates the Spanish region of Aragon's culture and history. It is an annual local public holiday on April 23.
San Prudencio
Friday, April 28, 2023 San Prudencio is a observance in Spain
Labor Day / May Day
Monday, May 1, 2023 Labor Day, International Workers' Day, and May Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Day of Madrid
Tuesday, May 2, 2023 The Day of the Autonomous Community of Madrid, Spain, marks the anniversary of an uprising against French troops in Madrid. It is an annual local public holiday on May 2.
Mothers' Day
Sunday, May 7, 2023 One of Spain’s most popular and festive family occasions is Mothers’ Day on the first Sunday in May.
Feast Day of St Isidore
Monday, May 15, 2023 Feast Day of St Isidore is a municipal holiday in Spain
Galicia Literature Day
Wednesday, May 17, 2023 Galicia Literature Day is a autonomous community holiday in Spain
Whit Sunday/Pentecost
Sunday, May 28, 2023 Many Christians all over the world annually observe Pentecost, also known as Whitsunday or Whit Sunday.
Day of the Canary Islands
Tuesday, May 30, 2023 The Day of the Canary Islands marks the anniversary of the autonomous Canary Islands Parliament's first session. It is a local public holiday on the Canary Islands on May 30 each year.
Day of Castile-La Mancha
Wednesday, May 31, 2023 The Day of the Region of Castilla-La Mancha marks the anniversary of when Castilla-La Mancha's first regional courts were opened. It is an annual public holiday in this Spanish region on May 31.
Corpus Christi
Thursday, June 8, 2023 Corpus Christi is a Christian feast in honor of the Holy Eucharist.
Day of Murcia
Friday, June 9, 2023 The Day of the Region of Murcia marks the anniversary of when the autonomy of Murcia's statutes was approved. It is an annual public holiday in Murcia, Spain, on June 9.
Day of La Rioja
Friday, June 9, 2023 The Day of La Rioja is an annual public holiday in the Spanish autonomous community of La Rioja on June 9.
June Solstice
Wednesday, June 21, 2023 June Solstice in Spain (Madrid)
Saint John the Baptist Day
Saturday, June 24, 2023 Saint John the Baptist Day is annually held on June 24 to honor the life of St John, an early Christian saint. It is a public holiday in Catalonia, Spain.
Eid al-Adha
Thursday, June 29, 2023 Eid al-Adha (Id ul-Adha) is an Islamic festival falling on the 10th day of the month of Dhul Hijja (Thou al-Hijja) to commemorate the willingness of Ibrahim (Abraham) to sacrifice his son.
Festival of the Vaquillas
Thursday, July 13, 2023 Festival of the Vaquillas is a observance in Spain
Feast of Saint James the Apostle
Tuesday, July 25, 2023 Saint James' Day is an occasion to honor the life and deeds of one of Jesus' disciples. It is a public holiday in the autonomous communities of the Basque Country and Galicia in Spain on July 25.
Day of the Institutions
Friday, July 28, 2023 The Day of the Institutions of Cantabria marks the anniversary of the creation of the Cantabria province.
Feast of the White Virgin
Saturday, August 5, 2023 Feast of the White Virgin is a provincial holiday in Spain
The Day of Our Lady of Africa
Saturday, August 5, 2023 The Day of Our Lady of Africa honors the patron saint of the city of Ceuta. It is a public holiday in this Spanish city on August 5.
The Day of Cantabria
Sunday, August 13, 2023 The Day of Cantabria celebrates the history, culture and language of the Cantabrian region of Spain. It is annually held on the second Sunday of August.
Assumption of Mary
Tuesday, August 15, 2023 The Christian feast of the Assumption of Mary is on or around Aug 15 in most countries. A few celebrate Assumption Day at other times of the year.
Feast of Saint Maginus
Saturday, August 19, 2023 Feast of Saint Maginus is a observance in Spain
Day of the Independent City of Ceuta
Saturday, September 2, 2023 The Day of Ceuta is celebrated as a local public holiday in the city of Ceuta in Spain on September 2 each year. This date commemorates when Pedro de Menezes (Meneses) took control of Ceuta.
Virgin of the Plains
Friday, September 8, 2023 Virgin of the Plains is a provincial holiday in Spain
Day of Asturias
Friday, September 8, 2023 The Day of Asturias commemorates the Virgin of Covadonga and the Battle of Covadonga. It is an annual local public holiday in the autonomous community of Asturias in Spain on September 8.
Day of Extremadura
Friday, September 8, 2023 The Day of Extremadura marks the anniversary of the Virgin Mary's birth. It is a local public holiday in Extremadura, Spain, on September 8.
National Day of Catalonia
Monday, September 11, 2023 The Day of Catalonia commemorates the end of the siege of Barcelona in 1714. It is a local public holiday in Barcelona, Spain, on September 11.
Nuestra Señora de la Bien Aparecida
Friday, September 15, 2023 Nuestra Señora de la Bien Aparecida is a autonomous community holiday in Spain
Day of Saint Tecla
Saturday, September 23, 2023 Day of Saint Tecla is a observance in Spain
September Equinox
Saturday, September 23, 2023 September Equinox in Spain (Madrid)
Virgin of Mercy
Sunday, September 24, 2023 Virgin of Mercy is a provincial holiday in Spain
Day of the Valencian Community
Monday, October 9, 2023 The Day of the Valencian Community is a local public holiday in Valencia, Spain, on October 9 each year. It celebrates Valencian culture and history.
Hispanic Day
Thursday, October 12, 2023 Hispanic Day marks the anniversary of the date that Christopher Columbus first set foot in the Americas. It is a public holiday in Spain on October 12.
Daylight Saving Time ends
Sunday, October 29, 2023 Daylight Saving Time ends in Spain
All Saints' Day
Wednesday, November 1, 2023 Many churches honor all their saints on All Saints' Day, also known as All Hallows' Day.
La Almudena
Thursday, November 9, 2023 La Almudena is a municipal holiday in Spain
Constitution Day
Wednesday, December 6, 2023 Constitution Day marks the anniversary of the referendum to approve the Spanish Constitution and is a public holiday in Spain.
Immaculate Conception
Friday, December 8, 2023 The Feast of the Immaculate Conception is a Christian observance on December 8 each year.
Day of Saint Leocadia
Saturday, December 9, 2023 Day of Saint Leocadia is a observance in Spain
December Solstice
Friday, December 22, 2023 December Solstice in Spain (Madrid)
Christmas Eve
Sunday, December 24, 2023 Christmas Eve is the day before Christmas Day and falls on December 24 in the Gregorian calendar.
Christmas Day
Monday, December 25, 2023 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
St Stephen's Day
Tuesday, December 26, 2023 The Feast of St Stephen is a holiday to commemorate the life and death of an early Christian saint.
Feast of the Holy Family
Sunday, December 31, 2023 Feast of the Holy Family is a observance in Spain
New Year's Eve
Sunday, December 31, 2023 New Year’s Eve is the last day of the year, December 31, in the Gregorian calendar.