China has a total of 38 holidays in 2023. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year's Day
Sunday, January 1, 2023 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
New Year's Holiday
Monday, January 2, 2023 New Year's Holiday is a national holiday in China
Spring Festival Eve
Saturday, January 21, 2023 Spring Festival Eve is a national holiday in China
Lunar New Year
Sunday, January 22, 2023 Lunar New Year, also known as the Spring Festival, is one of the largest celebratory events in China.
Spring Festival Golden Week holiday
Monday, January 23, 2023 Spring Festival Golden Week holiday is a national holiday in China
Special Working Day
Saturday, January 28, 2023 Special Working Day is a working day on weekend in China
Lantern Festival
Sunday, February 5, 2023 Lantern Festival is a observance in China
Zhonghe Festival
Tuesday, February 21, 2023 Zhonghe Festival is a observance in China
International Women's Day
Wednesday, March 8, 2023 International Women's Day is a half day holiday in China
Arbor Day
Sunday, March 12, 2023 Arbor Day is a observance in China
March Equinox
Monday, March 20, 2023 March Equinox in China (Beijing)
Qing Ming Jie
Wednesday, April 5, 2023 Qing Ming Jie is a national holiday in China
Special Working Day
Sunday, April 23, 2023 Special Working Day is a working day on weekend in China
Labour Day Holiday
Saturday, April 29, 2023 Labour Day Holiday is a national holiday in China
Labour Day
Monday, May 1, 2023 Labor Day, International Workers' Day, and May Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Labour Day Holiday
Tuesday, May 2, 2023 Labour Day Holiday is a national holiday in China
Youth Day
Thursday, May 4, 2023 Youth Day is a half day holiday in China
Special Working Day
Saturday, May 6, 2023 Special Working Day is a working day on weekend in China
Children's Day
Thursday, June 1, 2023 Children's Day is a observance in China
June Solstice
Wednesday, June 21, 2023 June Solstice in China (Beijing)
Dragon Boat Festival
Thursday, June 22, 2023 The Dragon Boat Festival is also known as the Duanwu Festival in China. It is celebrated on the fifth day of the fifth month on the Chinese lunisolar calendar.
Dragon Boat Festival holiday
Friday, June 23, 2023 Dragon Boat Festival holiday is a national holiday in China
Special Working Day
Sunday, June 25, 2023 Special Working Day is a working day on weekend in China
CPC Founding Day
Saturday, July 1, 2023 CPC Founding Day is a observance in China
Maritime Day
Tuesday, July 11, 2023 Maritime Day is a observance in China
Army Day
Tuesday, August 1, 2023 Army Day is a observance in China
Chinese Valentine's Day
Tuesday, August 22, 2023 Chinese Valentine's Day is a observance in China
Spirit Festival
Wednesday, August 30, 2023 Spirit Festival is a observance in China
Teachers' Day
Sunday, September 10, 2023 Teachers' Day is a observance in China
September Equinox
Saturday, September 23, 2023 September Equinox in China (Beijing)
Mid-Autumn Festival
Friday, September 29, 2023 Mid-Autumn Festival is a national holiday in China
National Day
Sunday, October 1, 2023 National Day is a national holiday in China
National Day Golden Week holiday
Monday, October 2, 2023 National Day Golden Week holiday is a national holiday in China
Special Working Day
Saturday, October 7, 2023 Special Working Day is a working day on weekend in China
Double Ninth Festival
Monday, October 23, 2023 Double Ninth Festival is a observance in China
Journalists' Day
Wednesday, November 8, 2023 Journalists' Day is a observance in China
December Solstice
Friday, December 22, 2023 December Solstice in China (Beijing)
Christmas Day
Monday, December 25, 2023 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.