Bulgaria has a total of 29 holidays in 2023. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year's Day
Sunday, January 1, 2023 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Day off for New Year's Day
Monday, January 2, 2023 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Day of Remembrance and Respect to Victims of the Communist Regime
Wednesday, February 1, 2023 Day of Remembrance and Respect to Victims of the Communist Regime is a observance in Bulgaria
Baba Marta
Wednesday, March 1, 2023 Baba Marta is a observance in Bulgaria
Liberation Day
Friday, March 3, 2023 Liberation Day is a national holiday in Bulgaria
Mother's Day
Wednesday, March 8, 2023 Mother’s Day celebrates the achievements and efforts of mothers and mother figures.
March Equinox
Monday, March 20, 2023 March Equinox in Bulgaria (Sofia)
Daylight Saving Time starts
Sunday, March 26, 2023 Daylight Saving Time starts in Bulgaria
Good Friday
Friday, April 14, 2023 Millions of Orthodox Christians around the world annually observe Good Friday to commemorate the events leading up to Jesus Christ's crucifixion.
Holy Saturday
Saturday, April 15, 2023 The Saturday before Easter Sunday is also known as Holy Saturday for many Orthodox churches worldwide.
Easter Sunday
Sunday, April 16, 2023 Millions of Orthodox Christians around the world often celebrate Easter Sunday at a different time to the date set by many western churches.
Easter Monday
Monday, April 17, 2023 Orthodox Easter Monday is the day after the Orthodox Easter Sunday.
Labor Day
Monday, May 1, 2023 Labor Day, International Workers' Day, and May Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
St. George's Day
Saturday, May 6, 2023 St. George's Day is a national holiday in Bulgaria
Day off for St. George's Day
Monday, May 8, 2023 St. George's Day is a national holiday in Bulgaria
Culture and Literacy Day
Wednesday, May 24, 2023 Culture and Literacy Day is a national holiday in Bulgaria
June Solstice
Wednesday, June 21, 2023 June Solstice in Bulgaria (Sofia)
July Morning
Saturday, July 1, 2023 July Morning is a observance in Bulgaria
Unification Day
Wednesday, September 6, 2023 Unification Day is a national holiday in Bulgaria
Independence Day
Friday, September 22, 2023 Independence Day is a national holiday in Bulgaria
September Equinox
Saturday, September 23, 2023 September Equinox in Bulgaria (Sofia)
Daylight Saving Time ends
Sunday, October 29, 2023 Daylight Saving Time ends in Bulgaria
Revival Day
Wednesday, November 1, 2023
December Solstice
Friday, December 22, 2023 December Solstice in Bulgaria (Sofia)
Christmas Eve
Sunday, December 24, 2023 Christmas Eve is the day before Christmas Day and falls on December 24 in the Gregorian calendar.
Christmas Day
Monday, December 25, 2023 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
Father's Day
Tuesday, December 26, 2023 Father’s Day celebrates fatherhood and male parenting on different dates worldwide.
Second day of Christmas
Tuesday, December 26, 2023 Second day of Christmas is a national holiday in Bulgaria
Christmas holiday
Wednesday, December 27, 2023 Christmas holiday is a national holiday in Bulgaria