Papua New Guinea has a total of 16 holidays in 2022. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year's Day
Saturday, January 1, 2022 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
March Equinox
Sunday, March 20, 2022 March Equinox in Papua New Guinea (Port Moresby)
Good Friday
Friday, April 15, 2022 Good Friday is a global Christian observance two days before Easter Sunday.
Holy Saturday
Saturday, April 16, 2022 Holy Saturday is the day before Easter Sunday.
Easter Sunday
Sunday, April 17, 2022 Easter Sunday commemorates Jesus Christ’s resurrection, according to Christian belief.
Easter Monday
Monday, April 18, 2022 Easter Monday is the day after Easter Sunday.
Queen's Birthday
Monday, June 13, 2022 The Queen's birthday, also known as the Queen's Official Birthday, is celebrated in many Commonwealth countries around the world. It is a public holiday in countries such as Australia, New Zealand, and Gibraltar, although on different dates.
June Solstice
Tuesday, June 21, 2022 June Solstice in Papua New Guinea (Port Moresby)
National Remembrance Day
Saturday, July 23, 2022 National Remembrance Day is a public holiday in Papua New Guinea
National Day of Repentance
Friday, August 26, 2022 National Day of Repentance is a public holiday in Papua New Guinea
Independence Day
Friday, September 16, 2022 Independence Day is a public holiday in Papua New Guinea
September Equinox
Friday, September 23, 2022 September Equinox in Papua New Guinea (Port Moresby)
December Solstice
Wednesday, December 21, 2022 December Solstice in Papua New Guinea (Port Moresby)
Christmas Day
Sunday, December 25, 2022 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
Boxing Day
Monday, December 26, 2022 Boxing Day is a public holiday in Papua New Guinea
Day off for Christmas Day
Tuesday, December 27, 2022 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.