Nepal has a total of 23 holidays in 2022. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
Maghe Sankranti
Saturday, January 15, 2022 Maghe Sankranti is a optional holiday in Nepal
Sonam Losar (Tamang New Year)
Wednesday, February 2, 2022 Sonam Losar (Tamang New Year) is a optional holiday in Nepal
Gyalpo Losar
Thursday, March 3, 2022 Gyalpo Losar is a optional holiday in Nepal
Nari Dibas
Tuesday, March 8, 2022 Nari Dibas is a public holiday in Nepal
March Equinox
Sunday, March 20, 2022 March Equinox in Nepal (Kathmandu)
Majdoor Divas
Sunday, May 1, 2022 Majdoor Divas is a public holiday in Nepal
Ramjan Edul Fikra
Tuesday, May 3, 2022 Ramjan Edul Fikra is a optional holiday in Nepal
Buddha Jayanti
Monday, May 16, 2022 Buddha Jayanti is a public holiday in Nepal
Ubhauli Parva
Monday, May 16, 2022 Ubhauli Parva is a optional holiday in Nepal
Ganatantra Diwas (Republic Day)
Sunday, May 29, 2022 Ganatantra Diwas (Republic Day) is a public holiday in Nepal
June Solstice
Tuesday, June 21, 2022 June Solstice in Nepal (Kathmandu)
Edul Aajaha
Sunday, July 10, 2022 Edul Aajaha is a optional holiday in Nepal
Janai Purnima
Thursday, August 11, 2022 Janai Purnima is a public holiday in Nepal
Gaura Parba
Friday, August 19, 2022 Gaura Parba is a optional holiday in Nepal
Hartalika Teej
Tuesday, August 30, 2022 Hartalika Teej is a optional holiday in Nepal
Jitiya
Sunday, September 18, 2022 Jitiya is a optional holiday in Nepal
Constitution Day
Monday, September 19, 2022 Constitution Day is a public holiday in Nepal
September Equinox
Friday, September 23, 2022 September Equinox in Nepal (Kathmandu)
Chhat Parwa
Sunday, October 30, 2022 Chhat Parwa is a public holiday in Nepal
Udhauli Parva
Wednesday, December 7, 2022 Udhauli Parva is a optional holiday in Nepal
December Solstice
Wednesday, December 21, 2022 December Solstice in Nepal (Kathmandu)
Christmas Day
Sunday, December 25, 2022 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
Tamu Lhosar
Friday, December 30, 2022 Tamu Lhosar is a optional holiday in Nepal